Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products
Learning Center

How Battery Testers Work: What Four Instruments Actually Measure

Battery testers are not one instrument. A load tester, an internal resistance meter, and a DC energy monitor all answer different questions. Knowing which question you are asking stops you buying the wrong box.

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

A battery tester works by applying a known load or signal and watching how the battery responds. A load tester such as the TOPDON BT100 draws a heavy current briefly and reads the voltage sag, which reveals cranking health. An internal resistance meter such as the YR1035 passes a small 1 kHz AC signal through the cell and measures the opposition, which tracks aging and connection quality. A DC energy monitor such as the MORNING GROUP 0-300V 100A monitor measures current and voltage continuously and integrates them into power and energy, which shows how a system behaves over hours rather than seconds. None of them tells you the remaining capacity of a battery in amp hours without a controlled discharge, and none replaces a proper capacity test for critical systems.

Why a voltage reading alone tells you almost nothing about a battery

A rested lead-acid battery at about 12.6 V is often described as fully charged, and at about 12.0 V as half charged. That relationship is real, but it only holds after the battery has sat with no load and no charger for several hours. Put a charger on it and the surface charge pushes the reading up. Put a load on it and the reading drops. The open-circuit voltage is a weak indicator of state of charge and a near-useless indicator of state of health.

The reason is that a battery is a chemical reactor with two distinct problems that show up in the same terminal voltage. The first is how much active material is left, which is capacity. The second is how much resistance stands between the terminals and that material, which is internal resistance. A badly aged battery can still read 12.6 V at rest and then collapse to 9 V the moment the starter motor asks for 200 A. Voltage at rest cannot see that coming. You need either a load or a resistance measurement to expose it.

This is why a multimeter on its own is a starting point rather than a diagnosis. The site’s guide to testing a 12 V battery with a multimeter covers what a voltmeter can and cannot show. The short version is that a meter shows you the surface, and a tester has to push on the battery to see underneath.

Load testing: the oldest method, and still the most direct

A load tester connects a heavy resistive load across the battery terminals for a few seconds and watches the voltage fall. The classic carbon pile tester does this with a variable resistor. Modern electronic load testers do it with power semiconductors and a microcontroller that samples the voltage many times per second.

The physics is simple. A healthy battery has low internal resistance, so when you pull a large current the voltage sags only a little. A tired battery has high internal resistance, so the same current produces a much larger sag. The tester reads the sag, compares it against a model of what a battery of that rating should do, and reports a pass or fail, or a state of health figure.

The TOPDON BT100 is an example of this class. Its listing states it works on 12 V lead-acid batteries from 100 to 2000 CCA, covering flooded, AGM flat plate, AGM spiral, EFB and GEL types. It reports state of health, state of charge, voltage, current and rating, and it also runs a cranking test and a charging system test. The cranking test is the interesting one for a homeowner: it measures the voltage during an actual start attempt and tells you whether the electrical system has enough reserve to turn the engine. The charging test checks the alternator, rectifier diodes and regulator.

The listing also states that the unit is powered on only once it is properly attached to the battery, which the manufacturer describes as a passive testing approach. In plain terms, the tester takes its operating power from the battery under test, so it cannot run a test on a disconnected battery. That is a safety feature and a limitation at the same time: you need a battery with some charge left to test it. A completely dead battery will not power the tester, and you will be reaching for a charger before you can get a reading.

What a load test does not do is measure capacity. It gives you a snapshot of how the battery behaves under one heavy pulse. A battery that passes a load test can still have lost half its reserve capacity. If the question is how long a battery will run a trolling motor or a sump pump, a load test is the wrong instrument.

Internal resistance: what the four-wire AC method actually sees

Internal resistance is the sum of the resistance of the grids, the active material, the electrolyte and the contacts between them. As a lead-acid battery ages, the active material sulfates and sheds, the electrolyte stratifies, and the resistance rises. That rise is gradual and roughly monotonic, which makes it a useful health indicator even when voltage looks normal.

Measuring it accurately is harder than it sounds. If you push DC current through the battery and measure the voltage drop, you polarize the cell and the reading drifts. The standard trick is to use a small AC signal instead. A 1 kHz sine wave is the usual choice because it sits above the worst of the polarization effects and below the inductive effects of the wiring. The tester injects a known AC current and measures the AC voltage across the cell, then divides.

The four-wire method matters here. Two wires carry the test current and two separate wires sense the voltage right at the battery terminals. Because the sense wires carry almost no current, the resistance of the test leads and the contact resistance at the clips do not appear in the measurement. A two-wire meter would include them, and at the milliohm level a dirty clip can be larger than the thing you are trying to measure.

The T-king YR1035 and its Set A variant are examples of this class. The listing states a true four-line 1 kHz AC sinusoidal method with a range from 0.00001 ohm to 200 ohm, a digital LCD with backlight, and a handmade construction. The two sets appear to be the same instrument supplied with different accessories. The listing does not publish separate specifications for Set A and Set D, so if you are choosing between them, treat them as functionally identical and pick on availability. The listing also contains some garbled marketing text and a reference to a high voltage battery internal resistance tester, which does not match a meter with a 200 ohm top range. Read the range and the method, not the label.

Internal resistance meters are not pass or fail devices out of the box. You need a baseline. Measure a new battery of the same model when it is healthy, record the figure, and compare against it later. A rise of 30 to 50 percent over the baseline is a reasonable warning sign for a stationary battery. Without a baseline, a single reading is just a number. The listing does not publish an accuracy specification, so the absolute value should be treated with more caution than the trend.

DC energy monitors: measuring the battery in use, not on the bench

The third family of instrument does not test the battery at all in the bench sense. It sits in the circuit and measures continuously. A shunt, which is a low-value resistor of known resistance, carries the battery current. The monitor measures the tiny voltage across the shunt, applies Ohm’s law, and multiplies by the terminal voltage to get power. Integrate power over time and you have energy in kilowatt hours. Integrate current over time and you have charge in amp hours.

The MORNING GROUP DC 0-300V 100A digital battery monitor is an example. The listing states a built-in shunt, a 0 to 300 V voltage range, a 0 to 100 A current range, power to 90000 W, power consumption to 999 kWh, and current and power consumption directions. It also states that power consumption data is preserved when the device is powered off, which matters because it means the accumulated energy figure survives a system shutdown. The LCD has a 180 degree viewing angle and a green backlight that can be switched off.

The value of this class is that it measures the battery doing its real job. A solar storage bank, a camper van leisure battery, or a telecom backup string behaves differently over a full charge and discharge cycle than it does during a five-second load test. The monitor shows you the actual charge and discharge currents, the actual voltage sag under real loads, and the accumulated energy through the shunt. That is how you find a parasitic drain, size a solar array, or confirm that a charger is actually charging.

The limit is that a shunt monitor measures what flows through the shunt. It does not know the battery’s rated capacity, so it cannot tell you state of health. It also cannot see internal resistance. And because it measures current and voltage at the terminals, it includes the voltage drop in your own wiring. If the monitor reads 12.2 V at the shunt while the battery is at 12.4 V, the difference is your cable loss, which is useful information but not a battery measurement. For a fuller treatment of finding a drain, see how to measure parasitic battery drain.

Choosing the method that answers your question

The table below sets out what each instrument actually measures and what question it can answer. The figures are drawn from the listings above; where a listing is silent, the cell says so.

Instrument What it measures Method Best question it answers What it cannot tell you
TOPDON BT100 load tester Voltage sag under a heavy pulse, plus cranking and charging behaviour Resistive or electronic load, microcontroller sampling Will this battery start the engine, and is the alternator charging? Remaining capacity in amp hours; internal resistance in milliohms
T-king YR1035 internal resistance meter AC impedance at 1 kHz, 0.00001 to 200 ohm Four-wire, 1 kHz AC sine injection Is this cell aging relative to its baseline? State of charge; cranking ability; capacity
T-king YR1035 Set A internal resistance meter Same as the 4 Line YR1035 Battery Internal Resistance; listing does not distinguish the sets Four-wire, 1 kHz AC sine injection Same as the 4 Line YR1035 Battery Internal Resistance Same as the 4 Line YR1035 Battery Internal Resistance
MORNING GROUP DC monitor Voltage 0 to 300 V, current 0 to 100 A, power, accumulated energy Built-in shunt, continuous sampling How much energy is actually flowing, and where is it going? State of health; internal resistance; capacity without a known baseline

The common mistake is buying the cheapest instrument that says battery tester and expecting it to answer all three questions. A load tester is not an internal resistance meter. An internal resistance meter is not a capacity tester. A shunt monitor is not a tester at all, it is a meter that watches. If you want a broader survey of the load-testing class, the site’s automotive battery tester comparison covers that ground.

For a single 12 V car battery, the load tester is the right first purchase because it directly answers the question that strands people. For a bank of stationary or traction cells, the internal resistance meter earns its place because it lets you compare cells against each other and against a baseline. For a system with solar, a charger, and a known daily load, the shunt monitor is the only one of the three that shows you the energy balance over a real cycle.

Where battery testers stop being the right answer

All three instruments share a limitation: they infer the state of the battery from a short observation. None of them performs a controlled discharge. If you need to know that a battery will deliver a specified current for a specified time, the only honest method is a capacity test: charge it fully, discharge it at a known rate into a known load, and time it. That is slow, it consumes energy, and it is the only way to get an amp hour figure you can defend.

There is also a safety boundary. A load tester is not an alarm and does not monitor a battery continuously. An internal resistance meter is a diagnostic tool, not a protection device. A shunt monitor can display a low voltage threshold but the listing does not state that it has a relay output or an audible alarm, so do not treat it as one. If a battery is part of a backup system that must work, the instrument that matters is the one that is permanently installed and records trends, not the one in the toolbox.

Finally, the chemistry matters. The load tester’s algorithms are built around lead-acid behaviour. Lithium iron phosphate batteries have a very flat voltage curve and very low internal resistance, which makes voltage-based state of charge estimates unreliable and makes some lead-acid load testers report misleading results. The TOPDON listing is explicit that it covers flooded, AGM, EFB and GEL, all lead-acid types. It does not claim lithium support. If you are testing lithium, use a tester rated for it, or use a shunt monitor and count coulombs.

For readers working through the broader category, the site’s battery tester buying guide and the automotive-specific roundup put these instruments in context. The point of this page is narrower: whatever you buy, know which of the three measurements it makes, because that determines the question it can answer.

The one sentence to remember

A battery tester works by disturbing the battery and watching the response: a load tester disturbs it with current, an internal resistance meter disturbs it with a small AC signal, and a shunt monitor does not disturb it at all but watches the current and voltage over time. Match the disturbance to the question, and you will not be surprised by a battery that reads fine and then fails.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a battery tester tell me the remaining capacity in amp hours?

Not directly. A load tester measures voltage sag under a pulse and infers health. An internal resistance meter measures impedance and infers aging. Neither performs a controlled discharge, which is the only way to measure capacity in amp hours. A shunt monitor can count charge in and out if you start from a known full state, but it does not know the battery's rated capacity. For a defensible amp hour figure, you need a timed discharge test.

Why do I need a four-wire internal resistance meter rather than a two-wire one?

Because the resistance you are measuring is in the milliohm range, and the resistance of test leads and clip contacts can be larger than that. A four-wire meter uses separate current-carrying and voltage-sensing leads, so the sense circuit draws almost no current and the lead resistance drops out of the measurement. The YR1035 listing states a four-line method for this reason.

Does a load tester work on lithium batteries?

The TOPDON BT100 listing states compatibility with flooded, AGM flat plate, AGM spiral, EFB and GEL lead-acid types, from 100 to 2000 CCA. It does not state lithium support. Lithium iron phosphate has a flat voltage curve and low internal resistance, so lead-acid load algorithms can give misleading results. Use a tester rated for lithium, or a shunt monitor that counts charge.

What does state of health mean on a battery tester?

State of health is a computed figure, not a direct measurement. The tester compares the battery's response under load against a model of a new battery of the same rating and expresses the result as a percentage. It is useful for tracking a battery over time and for flagging a clearly failed unit, but it is not the same as measured capacity. Two testers using different models can give different state of health figures for the same battery.

Can I use a DC energy monitor to test a battery?

A DC energy monitor such as the MORNING GROUP unit measures voltage, current, power and accumulated energy through a built-in shunt. It shows you how the battery behaves in real use, including charge and discharge currents and the energy balance over a cycle. It does not measure internal resistance or state of health, and it cannot tell you capacity unless you establish a full-charge baseline and count coulombs from there.

Why does my tester refuse to power on when connected to a dead battery?

Some testers, including the TOPDON BT100, take their operating power from the battery under test. The listing describes this as a passive testing approach and states the unit powers on only once properly attached. A battery with too little charge to run the tester cannot be tested until it has been charged enough to power the instrument. That is a safety design, not a fault.