Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products

Best Automotive Battery Testers: 7 Picks for CCA, Cranking and Charging Checks

A battery that starts the car today can still be weeks from failure, and a voltage reading will not tell you which. The instrument that does is a conductance tester, which estimates cold cranking amps from the battery's internal resistance. This page compares seven of them, plus two traditional load testers, on what they actually measure and where each one stops being useful.

  • Independent Research
  • Verified Specifications
  • Honest Recommendations

Measure It
Compare It
Buy Once

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Our Top Picks

This comparison was built from the manufacturer listings supplied for each product. Every specification in the table and the pick sections is taken from those listings; where a listing does not publish a figure, the table says so rather than estimating. Products that did not belong to the automotive battery testing topic were excluded, and only the seven picks above are written about.

Best overall
ANCEL BA101

ANCEL BA101

The straightforward conductance tester most home garages should buy first.

  • 12V, 100 to 2000 CCA load capacity
  • Reads state of health, state of charge, voltage and current
  • Copper crocodile clips and a precision smart chip
  • Powered directly from the vehicle battery, no internal batteries
View on Amazon Read Full Review→
Best for mixed fleets
KINGBOLEN BM550

KINGBOLEN BM550

6V, 12V and 24V in one handset, with internal resistance shown.

  • Tests 6V, 12V and 24V batteries, 100 to 2000 CCA
  • Supports 2Ah to 220Ah, flooded, AGM flat, AGM spiral, GEL and EFB
  • Reads SOH, SOC, internal resistance and voltage
  • In-vehicle or out-of-vehicle testing, 1.8 inch HD screen
View on Amazon Read Full Review→
Best display
KAIWEETS Car Battery Tester

KAIWEETS Car Battery Tester

A 2.68 inch colour screen and a CCA window that starts at 50.

  • 12V and 24V, 50 to 2000 CCA
  • Flooded, EFB, AGM and GEL battery types
  • Reads SOH, SOC, voltage, resistance and CCA
  • 2.68 inch colour display, single-hand operation
View on Amazon Read Full Review→
Best for 24V systems
TOPDON BT200

TOPDON BT200

A 12V and 24V conductance tester with a cranking and charging workflow.

  • 12V and 24V, 100 to 2000 CCA
  • Conductance technology, listing claims 99.9 percent accurate results
  • Cranking test and complete charging system test
  • Copper clamps, rugged housing, memory function for last test
View on Amazon Read Full Review→
Best for fast verdicts
OBDResource BR502

OBDResource BR502

Three-way good, normal or poor verdict in about two seconds.

  • 6V, 12V and 24V, 100 to 2000 CCA
  • Flooded, AGM flat, AGM spiral and gel batteries
  • Reads SOH, SOC, internal resistance and voltage
  • Listing claims 99.6 percent accuracy, 1.8 inch HD screen
View on Amazon Read Full Review→
Best true load tester
Schumacher Electric BT-100

Schumacher Electric BT-100

A real carbon pile load bank, not a conductance estimator.

  • 6V and 12V batteries up to 1000 CA
  • 50 amp 6V load test and 100 amp 12V load test
  • Battery health, charging system and starter motor draw tests
  • Compatible with gas and diesel vehicles
View on Amazon Read Full Review→
Best simple load tester
QWORK 12V 100A Load Tester

QWORK 12V 100A Load Tester

A basic 100 amp load bank with alternator testing.

  • 6V and 12V batteries
  • Maximum CCA rating of 1000
  • 100 amp load test
  • Includes alternator testing
View on Amazon Read Full Review→

Comparison Table

View Full Comparison→
PickVoltageCCA rangeMethodReads SOH/SOCInternal resistanceAccuracy claim
12V100 to 2000 CCAConductanceYesNot statedNot stated in the listing bulletsView
6V, 12V, 24V100 to 2000 CCAConductanceYesYesNot stated in the listing bulletsView
12V, 24V50 to 2000 CCAConductanceYesYesNot stated in the listing bulletsView
12V, 24V100 to 2000 CCAConductanceYesNot stated99.9 percent, manufacturer claimView
6V, 12V, 24V100 to 2000 CCAConductanceYesYes99.6 percent, manufacturer claimView
6V, 12VUp to 1000 CAResistive loadNoNoNot stated in the listing bulletsView
6V, 12VUp to 1000 CCAResistive loadNoNoNot stated in the listing bulletsView

Accuracy claims are reproduced as the manufacturer states them. None of the listings publish a reference method, test conditions or sample size, so the percentages cannot be compared against each other.

How to choose

Work down this list in order. The first two questions decide the category; the rest decide the model.

What voltage is the battery?

A 12V car battery is served by every pick here. A 6V motorcycle or lawn battery needs P3, P5, P11 or P12. A 24V truck or boat system needs P3, P5, P7 or P9.

Conductance or load?

Conductance testers estimate CCA from a small signal and give a state of health percentage. Load testers apply 50 to 100 real amps. Choose conductance for routine checks on installed batteries, load for a direct observation under current.

Will you test while installed?

All the conductance units here run from the battery under test, so they work in the vehicle with no separate power. That is the normal case and the reason this class exists.

Do you want a trend or a verdict?

If you service one battery over years, pick a unit that reports internal resistance, such as P3, P5 or P9, and log the number. If you just want a yes or no, the three-band output on P5 is enough.

Know the rated CCA of your battery

Conductance testers compare the measured result against the rating you enter. The rating is printed on the battery label. Entering the wrong figure produces a wrong verdict, so read the label first.

Remember what a tester is not

A battery tester is a diagnostic meter, not a charger and not a jump starter. It will not recharge a flat battery, and it will not protect you from a battery that is about to fail under load in cold weather.

Frequently Asked Questions

View All FAQs→
What is the difference between conductance testing and load testing?

A conductance tester applies a small alternating signal and measures how the battery plates respond, then calculates an estimated CCA and a state of health percentage. A load tester applies a real resistive load, typically 50 amps on 6V and 100 amps on 12V, and you watch whether the voltage holds. Conductance is faster, safer on sealed batteries and works on a partially charged battery. Load testing shows actual behaviour under current but heats the battery and tester and is slower.

Can I test a battery while it is still installed in the car?

Yes, and that is the normal way these tools are used. Every conductance tester on this page draws its power from the battery under test, so there is nothing to charge first. Connect the clips to the battery terminals with the engine off for the health test, then follow the cranking and charging steps with the engine running if the tester offers them.

What CCA rating should I enter?

The number printed on the battery label. Conductance testers compare the measured result against the rating you enter, so a wrong figure produces a wrong verdict. If the label is unreadable, look up the specification for that battery part number rather than guessing.

Do these testers work on AGM, EFB and GEL batteries?

Most of the conductance units here list support for flooded, AGM flat plate, AGM spiral, GEL and EFB. You select the type in the menu before testing. This matters because the three constructions have different internal behaviour, and a tester set to the wrong chemistry will misjudge state of health. The two load testers, P11 and P12, do not ask for chemistry and should be used sparingly on sealed AGM or GEL batteries.

Reviews

ANCEL BA101

ANCEL BA101 Best overall

The BA101 is a conductance tester. It applies a small alternating signal to the battery and measures how the plates respond, then converts that into an estimate of cold cranking amps. Because the signal is small, the battery does not have to be fully charged or disconnected, and nothing gets hot. That is the whole reason this class of tester displaced the old carbon pile load bank for everyday diagnosis.

The listing is specific about the workflow: you enter the battery type, the rating value such as CCA or Ah, and the temperature, then read state of health and state of charge. Entering the rated CCA matters more than most buyers expect. The tester compares measured conductance against the number you typed, so a wrong rating produces a wrong verdict. The listing also notes the black and white screen with adjustable contrast and white backlight, and one-handed operation.

The listing mentions the unit was featured in two videos by a popular YouTube channel. That is a marketing claim, not a specification, and it tells you nothing about accuracy. What it does tell you is that the interface is simple enough to demonstrate on camera. For a first battery tester, that simplicity is the point.

Strengths

  • Covers the full 100 to 2000 CCA range most cars, trucks and boats need
  • No internal battery to maintain; it runs off the battery under test
  • Reads SOH and SOC, not just voltage
  • Simple enough for occasional use

Limitations

  • 12V only, so no 6V motorcycle or 24V truck support
  • No published accuracy figure in the listing bullets
  • Monochrome screen rather than colour
View on Amazon
KINGBOLEN BM550

KINGBOLEN BM550 Best for mixed fleets

The BM550's selling point is voltage range. Most conductance testers in this price band do 12V only. This one covers 6V and 24V as well, which means the same tool can check a motorcycle battery, a car battery and a truck or boat bank without a second purchase. The listing states support for 2Ah to 220Ah, which is a wide capacity window and covers everything from small powersport batteries to large commercial units.

It also reports internal resistance directly. That figure is the raw measurement underneath the state of health calculation, and watching it drift upward over successive services is often more informative than watching SOH, because SOH is a derived percentage with a threshold built in. If you keep a written log of resistance readings, you can see a battery degrading before it fails a start.

The listing says results are based on the CCA standard and displayed on a 1.8 inch HD screen, and that the battery can be tested in or out of the vehicle. The chemistry list is unusually complete for this class: regular flooded, AGM flat plate, AGM spiral, GEL and EFB. EFB matters if you have a start-stop car, because those batteries behave differently from a plain flooded cell and a tester that does not offer the setting will misjudge them.

Strengths

  • 6V, 12V and 24V coverage in one unit
  • Reports internal resistance as well as SOH and SOC
  • Explicit support for EFB and both AGM constructions
  • Works in the vehicle or on the bench

Limitations

  • No accuracy percentage published in the listing bullets
  • Small 1.8 inch screen
  • Requires you to enter the correct CCA value for the battery
View on Amazon
KAIWEETS Car Battery Tester

KAIWEETS Car Battery Tester Best display

The unusual number here is 50. Most testers in this group start at 100 CCA. A 50 CCA floor means the KAIWEETS can be used on very small lead-acid batteries, the kind found in garden tractors, small generators and some powersport applications, where a 100 CCA minimum would simply refuse to produce a reading. If your garage contains anything smaller than a car, that lower bound is the reason to pick this one.

The listing describes the same conductance approach as the others: it measures state of health, state of charge, voltage, resistance and CCA, and it also reports the starting condition of the starter motor. The display is a 2.68 inch colour panel, which the listing says stays clear in direct sunlight. That is a real usability difference when you are leaning over an engine bay with the sun behind you, though it is a convenience, not an accuracy claim.

It covers 12V and 24V and the four common lead-acid chemistries. It does not list 6V support, so a 6V motorcycle battery is out of scope. No accuracy percentage appears in the listing bullets, so treat any precision expectation as unquantified by the manufacturer.

Strengths

  • CCA range starts at 50, covering small batteries others reject
  • Colour display readable in bright light
  • Covers 12V and 24V
  • No charging required before use

Limitations

  • No 6V support
  • No published accuracy figure
  • Colour screen adds cost without changing the measurement
View on Amazon
TOPDON BT200

TOPDON BT200 Best for 24V systems

The BT200 is the upgraded version of the BT100, and the listing is explicit about that lineage. It uses conductance technology and covers 12V and 24V batteries from 100 to 2000 CCA, including flooded, AGM, GEL and other types. The three-part workflow is the useful part: a battery health test, a cranking test that analyses the starter motor, and a charging test that checks the alternator and charging circuit.

The charging test is where a lot of DIY diagnosis goes wrong. People replace a battery when the real fault is a weak alternator that never fully recharges it, so the new battery fails the same way within a season. A tester that walks you through cranking voltage and charging voltage in one session catches that before you spend money on the wrong part.

The listing claims 99.9 percent accurate results. That figure is stated by the manufacturer and should be read as a marketing claim rather than an independently verified specification; no test method or reference standard is published alongside it. The memory function that recalls the last test is genuinely useful if you are tracking one battery over months. Copper clamps and a rugged housing are listed as durability features.

Strengths

  • 12V and 24V coverage
  • Cranking and charging tests in one workflow
  • Memory function for tracking a battery over time
  • Copper clamps and rugged housing

Limitations

  • The 99.9 percent accuracy claim is not backed by a published method
  • No 6V support
  • Larger and heavier than the simplest 12V units
View on Amazon
OBDResource BR502

OBDResource BR502 Best for fast verdicts

The BR502 is built around a fast verdict. The listing says results appear on a 1.8 inch HD screen within two seconds, classified as Good, Normal or Poor, with advice on whether to replace the battery. For somebody who just wants to know whether to buy a new battery before winter, that is the right level of detail. For somebody diagnosing an intermittent fault, it is not enough on its own.

It covers 6V, 12V and 24V and the four common lead-acid constructions, and it reports state of health, state of charge, internal resistance and voltage. The internal resistance reading is the one to record if you want to track degradation, because the Good, Normal, Poor bands are coarse.

The listing claims an accuracy rate as high as 99.6 percent. As with every accuracy figure in this category, the manufacturer does not publish the reference method, the test conditions or the sample, so the number is a claim rather than a verified specification. The 1.8 inch screen is small but the listing describes it as HD, and the three-band output is designed to be read at a glance.

Strengths

  • 6V, 12V and 24V coverage
  • Very fast verdict, useful for quick checks
  • Reports internal resistance for trend tracking
  • Simple three-band output

Limitations

  • The 99.6 percent accuracy claim has no published method
  • Good, Normal, Poor bands are coarse for fault finding
  • Small screen
View on Amazon
Schumacher Electric BT-100

Schumacher Electric BT-100 Best true load tester

This is a different instrument from everything else on the page. The BT-100 applies an actual resistive load, 50 amps on 6V and 100 amps on 12V, and you watch the voltage hold up under that load. It is the classic method, and it is the only way to observe how a battery behaves under real current draw rather than inferring it from a small signal.

That realism is also the limitation. Applying 100 amps heats the tester and the battery, it takes longer per test, and on a sealed AGM or GEL battery you should be cautious about repeated heavy load tests because they can stress the cell. The listing caps the rating at 1000 CA, which is lower than the 2000 CCA conductance units, so a large diesel truck battery may exceed what this tester is rated to handle.

The listing says it runs battery health, charging system and starter motor draw tests from one device, and that it works on motorcycle, ATV, lawn tractor, car, boat, light truck and RV batteries. If you specifically want to load test, this is the honest choice. If you want a fast state of health percentage on a sealed battery still in the car, a conductance tester is the better tool.

Strengths

  • Applies a genuine 50 or 100 amp load
  • Three tests from one device
  • Works on 6V and 12V
  • No reliance on an algorithm to estimate CCA

Limitations

  • Rated to 1000 CA, below the 2000 CCA conductance units
  • Slower per test and generates heat
  • Repeated heavy load tests are not ideal for sealed AGM or GEL batteries
View on Amazon
QWORK 12V 100A Load Tester

QWORK 12V 100A Load Tester Best simple load tester

The QWORK is the plainest tool here. It loads a 6V or 12V battery at 100 amps, shows voltage under load, and includes an alternator test function. The listing gives a maximum CCA rating of 1000, so it is aimed at car, light truck, RV and golf cart batteries rather than heavy diesel units.

The listing's first bullet describes it as checking battery and voltage on cars, trucks, RVs and golf carts, and then says it ensures accurate results for both 6V and 12V batteries. That is consistent with the rest of the listing. There is no state of health percentage, no internal resistance reading and no conductance estimate, because this is a load tester and those outputs do not apply to the method.

If you want a load tester and nothing more, this and the Schumacher are functionally similar: both apply a 100 amp 12V load, both cap at 1000 CA, both add alternator testing. Choose between them on availability rather than on a difference the listings do not describe. Neither will give you a state of health percentage, and neither should be used repeatedly on a sealed AGM battery.

Strengths

  • Genuine 100 amp load test
  • 6V and 12V coverage
  • Alternator testing included
  • Simple, with no settings to enter

Limitations

  • 1000 CCA maximum, too low for large diesel batteries
  • No SOH, SOC or internal resistance output
  • No published accuracy figure
View on Amazon

Buying Guide

Short answer: For most people testing a battery that is still in the car, a conductance tester is the right tool, and P1 (ANCEL BA101) and P3 (KINGBOLEN BM550) are the two most broadly useful picks here: both cover 100 to 2000 CCA, both read state of health and state of charge, and both draw power from the battery under test so there is nothing to charge first. P3 adds 6V and 24V support, which matters if you also maintain motorcycles or trucks. If you want a colour screen and a wider CCA window down to 50, P9 (KAIWEETS) is the strongest alternative. Only choose a true load tester such as P11 (Schumacher BT-100) or P12 (QWORK) if you specifically want to apply a real 50 or 100 amp load; they are slower, they cannot be used on sealed batteries without care, and they tell you less about remaining capacity.

What cold cranking amps actually measures

Cold cranking amps is the current a battery can deliver for 30 seconds at minus 18 degrees Celsius while staying above 7.2 volts. It is a cold-weather starting specification, and it is the number that decides whether your car turns over on a frosty morning. A battery can read a healthy 12.6 volts at rest and still be well down on its original CCA, because voltage tells you about state of charge, not about the condition of the plates.

That gap is why conductance testers exist. They estimate CCA from the battery’s internal resistance, which rises as the plates sulphate and the active material degrades. The tester compares that estimate against the rated CCA you enter and reports a state of health percentage. If you want to go deeper into the raw measurement underneath that calculation, our guide to battery internal resistance testers covers the technique in detail.

Conductance versus load testing: which one you actually need

A conductance tester applies a small signal, often in the milliamp range, and reads the response. Nothing gets hot, the test takes seconds, and the battery does not need to be fully charged. That last point matters because a load test on a half-charged battery will show a failure that is really just a flat battery.

A load tester applies real current, 50 amps on 6V and 100 amps on 12V in the two units here, and you watch the voltage under that load. It is the older method and it is still the only way to see how a battery behaves under genuine current draw. The trade-offs are heat, time, and stress on the cells. On a sealed AGM or GEL battery, repeated heavy load tests are not kind to the battery.

For routine checks on an installed battery, conductance wins on convenience and safety. For a battery you suspect is failing under load in a way the algorithm does not capture, a load test gives you a direct observation. Many technicians keep both.

The mistake almost everybody makes

The common error is entering the wrong rated CCA. A conductance tester does not know what battery it is attached to. It measures internal resistance, converts that to an estimated CCA, and then compares the estimate against the number you typed. If you enter 600 when the battery is rated 800, a perfectly healthy battery will read as marginal.

The second mistake is testing a battery that is not fully charged and treating the result as final. State of health is a capacity estimate, and it is most meaningful when state of charge is high. Charge the battery first, then test.

The third mistake is replacing a battery when the fault is the charging system. If the alternator is weak, the new battery will fail the same way. Run the charging test before you buy anything. A clamp meter is a useful companion here for checking current without breaking the circuit, as covered in our clamp meter guide.

Maintenance nobody mentions

The tester itself needs almost nothing, but the clips do. Copper and plated clips corrode, and a corroded clip adds resistance to the measurement path, which biases the internal resistance reading upward and makes a good battery look worse. Wipe the jaws after use and keep them dry.

The battery terminals matter just as much. A dirty terminal adds resistance that the tester sees as part of the circuit. Clean both posts and the inside of the clamps before you draw conclusions from a marginal reading.

Finally, keep a log. A single state of health percentage is a snapshot. A series of internal resistance readings taken at the same state of charge over months shows a trend, and the trend is what tells you a battery is on its way out before it strands you. If you maintain several vehicles, a automotive multimeter is the natural companion for the voltage and continuity checks that sit alongside battery testing.

Where a battery tester stops being the right answer

A battery tester is a diagnostic meter. It is not a charger, not a maintainer and not a jump starter. It will tell you a battery is flat; it will not fill it. It will tell you a battery is weak; it will not get you started.

It also will not diagnose everything in the starting circuit. A tester can show that the battery is healthy and the charging voltage is correct, and the car can still fail to start because of a worn starter motor, a bad ground strap or a parasitic drain that flattens the battery overnight. Those need different tools and a different method.

And a tester is not a substitute for a load test in every situation. If a battery passes a conductance test but fails in service, particularly in cold weather, the conductance estimate has missed something and a real load test is the next step. Knowing where the instrument stops is part of using it well.

How We Research

This comparison was built from the manufacturer listings supplied for each product. Every specification in the table and the pick sections is taken from those listings; where a listing does not publish a figure, the table says so rather than estimating. Products that did not belong to the automotive battery testing topic were excluded, and only the seven picks above are written about. Accuracy percentages are reproduced as stated by the manufacturer and are not treated as verified. No laboratory testing was performed and no measurements of our own are published.

Read our full review methodology→