As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.
A string tester measures the combined open-circuit voltage and short-circuit current of several panels wired in series, so it tells you whether the whole string is behaving as one circuit. A module level tester measures a single panel, typically reporting maximum power point figures for that one module. If your fault is a dead string or a tripped inverter, you need string level data. If your fault is one underperforming panel among twenty, you need module level data. The instruments are not substitutes. Products such as the ZIBOO FT-2000W sit at the module end of the scale, with published limits of 12 to 150 V and 35 A, while the ALLmeter 2000W covers 3 to 90 V and 40 A with MC4 connectors. Neither is a string tester in the sense of a commissioning instrument for a 1000 V array.
What a string tester measures that a module tester cannot
A string is panels wired in series. Voltage adds; current does not. Ten panels each producing 40 V under open circuit conditions give a string open-circuit voltage near 400 V. The same ten panels, each capable of 10 A short-circuit current, still give a string short-circuit current near 10 A, because the same current flows through every panel in the series path.
That asymmetry is the whole reason string testing exists. A string tester has to survive and measure several hundred volts, and it has to do so safely at a combiner box or inverter input where the full array voltage is present. A module level tester only ever sees one panel’s voltage, typically 30 to 50 V for a modern residential module, so its input range can be much smaller.
When you measure a string, you are checking the series circuit as a whole. A single panel with a blown bypass diode, a cracked cell or a failed connector will drag the string’s current down, but the string voltage may barely move. Conversely, an open circuit anywhere in the string collapses the voltage to near zero while current reads nothing. The pattern of voltage and current tells you which kind of fault you have. That pattern is only visible at string level.
String testers used for commissioning also measure insulation resistance and sometimes polarity, and they are built to CAT III or CAT IV standards appropriate to the array voltage. The listing for the ZIBOO FT-2000W states CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V with double-insulated probes, which is the kind of rating you want when the probe tips are on a live 600 V DC circuit. That product is still a module tester by input range, not a full string commissioning instrument, but the safety rating illustrates why voltage class matters.
Where a module level tester fits in the diagnostic sequence
Module level testers are for the second question, not the first. Once you know a string is underperforming, you need to find which panel is responsible. That means disconnecting or bypassing the string and measuring panels individually, or using a tester that can be applied across one module’s leads.
A module level tester typically reports open-circuit voltage, short-circuit current and maximum power, and some report the maximum power point voltage and current as well. The maximum power point is the operating point where the product of voltage and current is greatest. A panel’s nameplate power is measured at that point under standard test conditions, so a tester that finds the maximum power point is doing the same job the inverter’s MPPT tracker does, but for one panel at a time.
the ZIBOO FT-2000W publishes a maximum power of 2000 W, a Voc range of 12 to 150 V and an Isc range of 35 A with plus or minus 0.8 percent accuracy. Those figures tell you it can handle a large format module or a small parallel group, but not a full series string at 400 V. the ELEJOY 400W publishes a 400 W ceiling and is aimed at 12 V and 24 V panels, which is the domestic and recreational vehicle end of the market. The input range is the first thing to check against the panels you own.
Curve tracing is the feature that separates a useful module tester from a simple multimeter. A curve tester sweeps the panel’s operating point and plots current against voltage, so you can see whether the panel is behaving like a healthy diode or has a step or shoulder in the curve that indicates shading, a bad bypass diode or cell mismatch. the Fabater FT 2000W listing mentions curve testing on its display, which is the function to look for if you intend to diagnose rather than just confirm.
The input range table is the buying decision
Most of the confusion between these two instrument classes disappears once you put the published input ranges side by side. The table below uses only figures stated in the product listings. Where a listing is silent, the cell says so.
| Product | Stated maximum power | Stated voltage range | Stated current range | Stated accuracy | Connector or interface stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZIBOO FT-2000W | 2000 W | 12 to 150 V (Voc) | 35 A (Isc) | plus or minus 0.8 percent | Double-insulated probes, CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V |
| Fabater FT 2000W | 2000 W | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| ALLmeter 2000W | 2000 W | 3 to 90 V (Voc) | 0 to 40 A (Isc) | Not stated in the listing bullets | MC4, Type-C |
| ELEJOY 400W | 400 W | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets |
The 150 V ceiling on the ZIBOO FT-2000W and the 90 V ceiling on the ALLmeter 3-90V are the numbers that decide whether the instrument can be connected across a string. A typical residential string of ten 40 V panels sits near 400 V open circuit, well above both. Neither product is a string tester for that array. They are module testers that can also handle a short series group of two or three panels, which is why the maximum power figures look generous: 2000 W at 150 V implies a current well beyond the 35 A limit, so in practice the current limit binds first.
The Fabater FT Solar’s listing is thin. It states a 2000 W capacity and mentions MPPT and curve testing, but publishes no voltage, current or accuracy figures. You cannot confirm from the bullets alone that it will accept your panel’s open-circuit voltage. That is a reason to ask the seller before buying, not a reason to assume it will.
Why maximum power point tracking changes what the reading means
A panel does not have one voltage. It has a curve. At open circuit the voltage is highest and the current is zero. At short circuit the current is highest and the voltage is zero. Somewhere between the two is the maximum power point, and that is where the panel does useful work.
A tester with MPPT tracking loads the panel at a range of points and reports the maximum power it finds. A tester without it may report only open-circuit voltage and short-circuit current, from which you can calculate a fill factor but not the actual power at the operating point. For fault finding, the maximum power figure is the one that compares directly with the nameplate, because the nameplate is also a maximum power figure.
This is where the module level tester earns its place. If a panel’s open-circuit voltage looks normal but its maximum power is well below nameplate, the panel has a series resistance problem or cell damage that a voltage check alone would miss. the ELEJOY 400W listing describes finding the panel’s sweet spot to reveal power drops from shading or damage, which is exactly the maximum power point comparison in plain language. The listing does not publish an accuracy figure, so treat the absolute number as indicative and compare panels against each other rather than against the nameplate alone.
The same logic applies at string level, but the arithmetic is harder. A string’s maximum power point is the sum of the panels’ maximum power points only if the panels are matched. One mismatched panel shifts the whole string’s operating point, which is why string level maximum power readings can look low even when every individual panel is healthy. That is a reason to test modules individually after a poor string reading, not a reason to skip the string reading.
The safety rating is not a formality on a solar array
Solar arrays are live whenever there is light. You cannot switch them off at the panel. That makes the voltage class of the instrument, and the insulation of its probes, a genuine safety specification rather than a marketing line.
CAT III and CAT IV ratings describe the transient environment the instrument is built to survive. CAT III covers distribution level circuits and fixed installations; CAT IV covers the origin of the installation, where transient energy is highest. A module tester used on a rooftop array is working on a fixed installation, so CAT III at the array voltage is the minimum sensible rating. The listing for the ZIBOO FT-2000W states CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V, which covers residential array voltages with margin.
The other listings do not publish a CAT rating in their bullets. That does not mean they are unsafe; it means you cannot confirm the rating from the listing. If you are working on a live array above extra-low voltage, ask before you buy. A tester rated only for bench use is not the instrument for a combiner box.
Connectors matter too. the ALLmeter 2000W lists MC4 connectors, which are the standard locking connectors on modern modules. That makes connection to a panel or a short string straightforward and reduces the chance of a probe slipping off a live terminal. The ZIBOO FT-2000W uses probes instead, which is more flexible for probing a junction box but demands more care about contact and insulation.
When neither instrument answers your question
There is a class of fault that neither a string tester nor a module level tester will find, and it is worth knowing where the boundary sits. If the array produces low energy but every string and every module tests healthy in full sun, the problem is probably not the panels. It may be the inverter’s tracking, a wiring loss, a connector heating under load, or shading that only appears at certain times.
Those faults need different instruments: a clamp meter for current under real load, a thermal camera for hot connectors, or the inverter’s own monitoring data over time. A tester that measures at a single moment in whatever light is available cannot see a fault that depends on load or on the sun’s position. For a wider view of how to plan a solar test regime, see how to choose a solar PV tester and the comparison of solar string testers.
It is also worth saying plainly that a module level tester is not an insulation tester. Insulation resistance testing applies a high voltage between the array conductors and earth to check for leakage. None of the listings above publish an insulation test function. If your commissioning procedure requires insulation resistance, you need a dedicated instrument, not a panel power tester.
And a tester is not a substitute for the inverter’s own error log. The inverter sees the array under real load, all day, and its recorded string currents are often the fastest route to the faulty string. Use the tester to confirm what the log suggests, not to replace it.
Match the instrument to the fault, not to the panel count
The choice between a string tester and a module level tester is not a choice between better and worse. It is a choice between two measurement points on the same circuit. Buy the one that measures where your fault lives. If you maintain a single domestic array and suspect one panel, a module level tester with curve tracing and a published input range that covers your panel is the right tool. If you commission or troubleshoot multi-panel strings at full array voltage, you need a string tester rated for that voltage, and no module tester in this group substitutes for it. Check the published voltage and current ranges against your array before anything else, and treat any listing that omits them as unconfirmed.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use a module level tester on a whole string?
Only if the string's open-circuit voltage falls inside the tester's published voltage range. The ZIBOO FT-2000W states 12 to 150 V and the ALLmeter 3-90V states 3 to 90 V. A typical residential string of ten panels sits far above both, so connecting a module tester across it would exceed the input rating. Do not do it. Measure one panel at a time, or use a string tester rated for the array voltage.
Does a module tester tell me the panel's true power?
It tells you the maximum power the panel produces under the light available at the moment of the test. That is not the nameplate power, which is defined at standard test conditions of 1000 W per square metre irradiance and 25 C cell temperature. A reading taken in weaker light or on a hot roof will be lower even for a healthy panel. Compare panels against each other under the same conditions, or correct for irradiance if your instrument supports it.
Why do the maximum power figures look so high compared with the voltage and current limits?
Because the three limits are independent. A 2000 W rating at 150 V would require more than 13 A, which is within the 35 A current limit of ZIBOO FT-2000W, but the same instrument cannot deliver 2000 W at 12 V because that would need over 160 A. The binding limit is whichever of voltage, current or power is reached first for your panel. Read all three figures, not just the headline wattage.
Is curve tracing necessary or just nice to have?
It is necessary if you intend to diagnose rather than confirm. A voltage and current reading tells you the panel is producing something. A curve tells you whether the panel's response is the shape a healthy panel should have, which is how you spot a bypass diode failure or a shaded substring. The Fabater FT Solar lists curve testing; the other listings do not mention it.
Can these testers check a battery or a charge controller?
The listings describe photovoltaic panel testing, with maximum power point tracking aimed at panels. None of the bullets publish a battery test or charge controller test function. Do not assume one exists. If you need to test a battery, use an instrument specified for that purpose.
What does the listing not tell me that I should ask about?
the Fabater FT Solar and the elejoy Solar Panel publish no voltage, current or accuracy figures in their bullets. The ALLmeter 3-90V publishes voltage and current ranges but no accuracy figure. For any of these, ask the seller for the input range and accuracy before buying, because those are the numbers that determine whether the instrument is safe and useful on your array. For a broader view of what to look for, see the string tester comparison.