Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products
Guide

Airthings View Plus vs GoveeLife H5140: Seven Sensors or One Done Well?

One monitor covers seven parameters and the other covers carbon dioxide properly. Which is the better purchase depends on whether you want a picture of your indoor air or an answer to a single question about ventilation.

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Short answer: buy the View Plus if you want radon and particulate monitoring alongside carbon dioxide, which no dedicated CO2 monitor provides. Buy the H5140 if ventilation is the actual question, because it publishes a sensor type and an accuracy figure and costs a fraction as much.

What Each Listing States

Item Airthings View Plus GoveeLife H5140
Parameters Radon, PM2.5, CO2, VOC, humidity, temperature, pressure CO2, temperature, humidity, clock
CO2 sensor Not named in the bullets SCD4x, photoacoustic NDIR principle
CO2 accuracy Not stated in the bullets Plus or minus 40 ppm plus 5 percent
Refresh Not stated in the bullets 5 seconds
Altitude compensation Not stated Built-in pressure compensation stated
Connectivity WiFi, app and account required App for clock, notifications and email reports
Alerts Not detailed in the bullets Buzzer, app notification and email report
Operating conditions 4 to 40 C stated Not stated in the bullets

Breadth Against Depth

The View Plus is the only device here that measures radon, and radon is the one indoor air problem that is both genuinely dangerous over years and completely undetectable without an instrument. If you live in a radon-prone area, in a basement bedroom or in a house with a sealed crawlspace, that single sensor justifies the device on its own, and everything else it measures is a bonus.

What breadth costs is specificity. The View Plus bullets name no CO2 sensor and publish no accuracy figure, so you are trusting the brand rather than a specification. The H5140 does the opposite: one primary measurement, a named sensor family, a stated accuracy and a stated refresh rate.

Why the Accuracy Statement Matters

Carbon dioxide monitors are the category where cheap sensors misbehave most visibly. A genuine NDIR or photoacoustic sensor measures the gas optically. Some inexpensive devices instead estimate carbon dioxide from a VOC sensor reading, a practice that produces plausible-looking numbers that do not track actual carbon dioxide. The H5140 naming the SCD4x and quoting 40 ppm plus 5 percent puts it firmly in the first group, and the pressure compensation matters if you live at altitude, where an uncompensated sensor reads consistently wrong. See CO2 versus VOC monitoring.

Both Need Calibration Discipline

The H5140 listing says to calibrate in the app’s settings outdoors if required. That instruction applies to almost every consumer NDIR monitor: the sensor uses the lowest reading it has seen recently as its reference for fresh air, so a monitor that never sees outdoor air drifts. Take it outside occasionally, or open a window fully for long enough that the reading settles near the outdoor background. A monitor that reads 700 ppm in an empty ventilated room is telling you it needs this.

The Account Question

The View Plus listing states plainly that the device requires the Airthings app to function and that an account is needed. That is a real consideration: the instrument depends on a service continuing to exist, and your readings live on someone else’s server. The H5140 displays four values on its own screen without any of that, and only needs the app for the clock, notifications and email reports. If you dislike accounts, the dependency is worth weighing before buying.

Who Buys Which

  • Radon-prone area, basement bedroom, sealed crawlspace: View Plus.
  • Ventilation, stuffy rooms, home office concentration: H5140.
  • Wildfire smoke or urban particulates: View Plus, for PM2.5.
  • Multiple rooms on a budget: several H5140 units cost less than one View Plus, and ventilation varies room by room.

How We Research

All figures come from the manufacturer listings. We did not run laboratory tests and publish no measurements of our own. Rankings in the CO2 monitor roundup and the air quality monitor roundup.

Airthings 2960 View Plus - Battery Powered Radon & Air Quality Monitor (PM, CO2, VOC, Humidity, Temp, Pressure)

Airthings 2960 View Plus - Battery Powered Radon & Air

View on Amazon
GoveeLife Smart Air Quality Monitor CO2 Detector H5140, Display & Alarm

GoveeLife Smart Air Quality Monitor CO2 Detector H5140, Display &

View on Amazon
SwitchBot CO2 Detector, Air Quality Monitor Indoor, CO2 Monitor for CO2/TEMP/Humidity, Portable Carbon Dioxide Detector for Home/Car/Office/Greenhouse

SwitchBot CO2 Detector, Air Quality Monitor Indoor, CO2 Monitor for

View on Amazon

Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the H5140 measure radon or particulates?

No. The listing states carbon dioxide, temperature, humidity and a clock. Radon and PM2.5 need separate instruments, and the View Plus includes both.

Which states a CO2 accuracy figure?

The GoveeLife H5140, at plus or minus 40 ppm plus 5 percent, using an SCD4x sensor described as working on the photoacoustic NDIR principle with built-in pressure compensation. The View Plus bullets do not publish a CO2 accuracy figure.

Do both need an app?

The View Plus listing states the monitor requires the Airthings app to function and that an account is required. The H5140 shows readings on its own display, but the clock and notifications need the app.

Which is better for a bedroom?

For ventilation alone, the H5140, because it publishes an accuracy figure and alarms on CO2 directly. For a bedroom in a basement or a radon-prone area, the View Plus, because radon exposure at night is the risk that matters.

Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.