As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

ANCEL · ANCEL BA101 Car Battery Tester, 12V Digital Automotive Alternator Meter Diagnostic Tool,100-2000 CCA Load Capacity, Charging & Cranking Analyzer for Truck, Boat, RV, Marine Vehicle, and More
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
A 12 volt battery tester that reports state of health, state of charge, voltage, current and cold cranking amps, runs cranking and charging system tests, accepts ratings from 100 to 2000 CCA, works with flooded, AGM, GEL and EFB chemistries, and powers itself from the battery it is testing. The important bullet is the last one, which excludes lithium, excludes 6, 8 and 24 volt batteries, excludes anything under 30 Ah, and names separate models for the first two cases.
Read the fifth bullet first
Most listings in this category end with a vague compatibility sentence designed to catch every search term. This one ends with a list of things the product will not do.
It supports global rating standards including JIS, EN, DIN, SAE, BCI, GB, CA, MCA and IEC. It covers cars, trucks, boats, caravans, quad bikes, mowers, golf carts and motorbikes above 30 Ah. It handles flooded, AGM, GEL and EFB. And then: not for lithium batteries, not for non 12 volt batteries at 6, 8 or 24 volts, not for motorcycles below 30 Ah. For 6 volt work there is a Plus model. For 24 volt work there is a PRO model.
That paragraph is doing something a listing is not obliged to do. It is telling a proportion of the people reading it to buy something else, by name. The commercial temptation in this category is to blur the boundary and absorb the returns, and plenty of listings take it. This one draws the line and labels both sides of it.
Take the exclusions at face value, because they are not arbitrary. Each one marks a place where the measurement stops working rather than a feature somebody declined to implement.
Lithium is where this stops, and storage has largely moved to lithium
The lithium exclusion is the one that matters for anyone arriving here from a solar or off grid direction, and it is worth understanding why it exists.
A tester of this kind does not open the battery. It applies a small signal or a brief load, observes how the voltage responds, derives the internal resistance, and compares that against what a healthy battery of the stated rating should show. From there it produces a state of health percentage. Every step of that chain is calibrated on lead acid behaviour.
Lithium iron phosphate breaks the chain in two places. Its internal resistance is far lower, so the voltage response to the same test signal is much smaller and the resolution needed to interpret it is different. And its discharge curve is famously flat, which means terminal voltage says very little about remaining capacity across most of the usable range. Run the lead acid model on those numbers and you get an answer. You simply have no reason to believe it.
There is a second, more practical reason to respect the exclusion. A lithium pack sits behind a battery management system, and a test that applies an unexpected load or sees an unexpected polarity can cause the management system to disconnect. At that point you are troubleshooting the tester rather than the battery.
The consequence for solar buyers is blunt. New storage is overwhelmingly lithium iron phosphate, and larger banks are wired at 24 or 48 volts, both of which this instrument declines. What remains in scope is a 12 volt lead acid house or leisure bank, which is still common on boats, caravans and older cabin systems. If that is what you have, this is relevant. If it is not, our guide on choosing a battery monitor for an off grid system points at the shunt based approach that suits modern storage instead.
State of health is computed, and the listing admits it
The second bullet contains a disclosure dressed as an instruction. For the most accurate test, it says, enter the correct battery type, rating value such as CCA or Ah, and temperature exactly as shown on your battery label.
That sentence tells you the architecture of the instrument. State of health is not a quantity the tester reads off the battery. It is the output of a comparison, and you supply the reference. Type the rating from the label of a different battery, or guess because the label has corroded away, and the percentage that comes back will be presented with exactly the same confidence as a correct one.
Temperature belongs in the same category. Battery internal resistance rises substantially as a battery gets cold, so a perfectly serviceable battery tested on a frosty morning looks worse than it is unless the calculation knows the temperature. Asking for it is correct engineering. Asking the user for it, rather than sensing it, means the correction is only as good as the figure typed in.
None of this is a criticism of the design. It is how handheld testers of this class work. What is unusual is a listing that says so, rather than implying that the percentage comes out of the battery.
No internal battery is a convenience with a consequence
The third bullet treats direct power from the vehicle battery as a pure win: no charging, no internal cells to go flat in a drawer. On a tool used a few times a year that is genuinely valuable, and anyone who has reached for a meter and found it dead will recognise the appeal.
The consequence follows from the same arrangement. The instrument has to be awake to report anything, and the only thing waking it is the battery under examination. A battery sitting far below its nominal voltage after being left with a load on it is precisely the case where you want a verdict, and it is also the case where the tester may not come to life. The listing does not publish the minimum terminal voltage it requires, which leaves that boundary unknown.
The rest of that bullet is sensible: a monochrome screen with adjustable contrast and a white backlight, chosen because a screen you can read in direct sun matters more on a tester than colour does, and one handed operation because the other hand is holding a clamp. The fourth bullet adds protection against reverse polarity, short circuit, overcurrent and overvoltage, which is a reasonable list for a tool used in a cramped engine bay where a clip can slip.
Worth noting separately: the first bullet leads with coverage on a vehicle repair video channel. That is publicity, not a specification, and it tells you nothing about how closely the instrument measures anything.
The published figures, and the ones a datasheet would carry
| Item | Bullet content |
|---|---|
| Nominal battery voltage | 12 V only |
| Rating span accepted | 100 to 2000 CCA |
| Reported values | State of health, state of charge, voltage, current, CCA |
| Tests | Battery, cranking system, charging system |
| Chemistries supported | Flooded, AGM, GEL, EFB |
| Rating standards accepted | JIS, EN, DIN, SAE, BCI, GB, CA, MCA, IEC |
| Lower capacity limit | Above 30 Ah |
| Excluded | Lithium, 6 V, 8 V, 24 V, motorcycles below 30 Ah |
| Protection | Reverse polarity, short circuit, overcurrent, overvoltage |
| Power | From the battery under test, no internal cells |
| Tolerance on the voltage reading | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Tolerance on the CCA figure | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Measurement method behind state of health | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Minimum terminal voltage needed to operate | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Internal resistance reading in milliohms | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Clamp lead length | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Ambient operating range | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Result storage or export | Not stated in the listing bullets |
The gap that bites hardest is the method. Knowing whether a figure comes from a conductance measurement or from a brief resistive load changes how you read a marginal result, and it changes whether the test is meaningful on a battery that has just come off charge. Several of the other blanks follow from it, including the absence of a milliohm reading, which is the raw number a technician would rather see than a percentage. Our note on testing a 12 volt battery with a multimeter covers what voltage alone can and cannot tell you, and the alternatives sit in our roundup of automotive battery testers.
Right for the vehicle in the yard, wrong for the battery bank
This earns its place in a toolbox where 12 volt lead acid starting batteries come and go: a workshop, a fleet yard, a marina, a caravan site, or a household with several vehicles and a mower. The cranking and charging tests extend it past the battery to the alternator and starter, which is where a good proportion of apparent battery faults actually live, and the protection list suits a tool used by someone who is tired and working in a tight space.
It is the wrong tool for the audience that arrives at this page thinking about solar. A modern storage bank is lithium, often at 24 or 48 volts, and the listing excludes both conditions in plain words. Buying it anyway means owning an instrument that cannot be pointed at the battery you care about. The one exception is a 12 volt lead acid house bank, where it will give you a credible second opinion, provided you accept that the percentage it returns is a calculation resting on the rating you typed in.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can it test a lithium battery?
No, and the listing says so without hedging. The final bullet excludes lithium batteries outright, along with 6, 8 and 24 volt batteries and anything under 30 Ah. That is the right call rather than a shortcoming. The arithmetic behind a state of health percentage is built on lead acid behaviour, and a lithium iron phosphate cell has a far flatter voltage curve and much lower internal resistance, so the same calculation returns a figure that looks plausible and means nothing.
Is it useful for a solar or off grid installation?
Only for a 12 volt lead acid bank, which narrows it considerably. Flooded, AGM, GEL and EFB chemistries are listed as supported, so an older 12 volt leisure or house bank is in scope. A 24 or 48 volt array, which is how most larger off grid systems are wired, is not, and neither is the lithium iron phosphate that now dominates new storage. Check the nominal voltage and the chemistry of your bank before considering it.
Why does the listing insist you type in the battery details?
Because the headline figures are calculated, not measured. The second bullet asks you to enter the battery type, the rating value such as CCA or Ah, and the temperature exactly as shown on the label. Those inputs feed the model that produces a state of health percentage. Enter a 600 CCA rating for a 900 CCA battery and the instrument will confidently report a health figure based on the wrong reference. Saying this out loud is the most honest line in the listing.
What does drawing power from the battery mean in practice?
No internal cells to replace and nothing to charge, which is a real convenience on a tester that may sit in a drawer for months. The consequence is that the instrument needs the battery to be healthy enough to run the instrument before it can say anything about it, so a deeply discharged battery, which is often the one you most want assessed, may not support a test at all. The listing does not publish the minimum voltage it needs.
What is cold cranking amps and why is the range 100 to 2000?
Cold cranking amps describes the current a battery can deliver at a low temperature for a short period while holding its voltage above a defined floor. It is a starting specification, which is why it is quoted on vehicle batteries and rarely on deep cycle storage. The stated span of 100 to 2000 CCA covers everything from a small motorcycle battery at the lower end through to heavy truck and marine starting batteries at the top.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





