As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.
The boundary is the origin of the installation, which in practice means the main overcurrent device. Anything on the utility side of that device, the service drop, the service head, the supply conductors, the meter socket and the incoming terminals, is CAT IV. Anything the device protects, distribution boards, feeders, submains and permanently connected equipment, is CAT III. The voltage printed beside the category is a separate and independent number: it tells you what the instrument can sit across continuously, and it has no power to move the boundary one way or the other.
The boundary is the service entrance, not the voltage
The measurement categories describe locations in an electrical installation, ranked by how much energy is available to a fault and how little impedance stands between that fault and the source. Walk inward from the street. The overhead or underground supply, the point where it lands on the building, the metering position and the terminals ahead of the main device all share one property: the utility transformer is effectively right there, and nothing in the premises limits what a short can draw. That is CAT IV, the origin of the installation.
Immediately after the main device the picture changes. Fault energy is now limited by that device and by the conductors beyond it. Distribution boards, busbars, submain cables, hardwired motors and commercial lighting circuits occupy this region, which is CAT III. Further out again, where equipment plugs in through a flexible cord and sits at the end of a branch circuit, the impedance of the wiring has done most of the damping, and that is CAT II. The older CAT I idea covered circuits not connected to the mains at all, and modern practice prefers to describe such circuits directly rather than give them a category.
The pillar explanation of the ladder itself lives in what a CAT rating on an electrical meter means, and the practical reading of the four labels is set out in how to understand CAT II, CAT III and CAT IV ratings.
Impulse withstand is the number the categories actually set
Behind the labels is an arithmetic that the standard makes explicit. For each working voltage, each category is assigned a transient overvoltage that the instrument must withstand, applied through a source resistance that is lower for the higher categories so that the impulse is backed by a stiffer source. The commonly published figures for mains circuits look like this.
| Working voltage to earth | CAT II impulse | CAT III impulse | CAT IV impulse |
|---|---|---|---|
| 150 V | 1500 V | 2500 V | 4000 V |
| 300 V | 2500 V | 4000 V | 6000 V |
| 600 V | 4000 V | 6000 V | 8000 V |
| 1000 V | 6000 V | 8000 V | 12000 V |
| Source resistance for the impulse | About 12 ohms | About 2 ohms | About 2 ohms |
Two things fall out of that grid. First, the impulse rises along both axes, so the category alone never fixes the requirement. Second, the drop in source resistance between CAT II and the two higher categories matters as much as the voltage figures, because the same impulse delivered through a stiffer source carries far more energy into whatever it finds.
Why CAT III 1500 V does not outrank CAT IV 1000 V
Read along the bottom row of the grid and the comparison becomes obvious. CAT III at 1000 V and CAT IV at 600 V are both proven against an 8000 V impulse, so one is not a general upgrade over the other, they are simply suited to different places. CAT IV at 1000 V sits above both. A CAT III 1500 V rating extends the voltage axis beyond the mains rows in the grid because photovoltaic strings run higher than conventional distribution, and it stays on the CAT III rung because a string, a combiner box and an inverter input are all parts of a fixed installation rather than its origin.
That is why solar instruments cluster at the same pair of numbers. The FLIR CM78-PV solar clamp meter states a CAT III 1500 V rating, measures string direct current power and performance, offers true RMS readings, a drive mode and a low impedance mode, and ships with double molded leads and connector plugs that themselves state CAT III 1500 V. The rating of the accessories is not a bonus; it is what keeps the assembly at the stated level.
Instruments that carry two categories at once
Some instruments publish two pairs, and the pair is the unit of meaning rather than the individual number. The Fluke 283FC/PV kit states CAT III 1500 V and CAT IV 1000 V across the meter, the wireless current clamp and the leads, and specifies that the premium leads supplied carry the same two ratings. Read that as two permissions: up to 1500 V working in the fixed installation, and up to 1000 V working at the origin of the installation. It does not mean 1500 V at CAT IV, which is not what the instrument claims and not what the leads are built for.
| Instrument | Category and voltage stated | Current measurement stated | Enclosure protection stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| FLIR CM78-PV solar clamp meter | CAT III 1500 V, including leads and connector plugs | String power and performance up to 1500 kVA per the bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Fluke 283FC/PV kit | CAT III 1500 V and CAT IV 1000 V, meter, clamp and leads | Up to 60 A alternating and direct with the wireless clamp | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Fluke 393FC with irradiance meter | CAT III 1500 V | Direct current power measurement, thin jaw for combiner boxes | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Fluke 393FC with solar lead kit | CAT III 1500 V | Direct current power measurement with a flexible current probe | IP54 |
The last two rows are the same clamp in two kits, and the difference in the enclosure column is a difference in what the bullets happen to say rather than proof of two different bodies. The 393FC solar lead kit listing states IP54 and the irradiance kit listing does not mention ingress protection at all, while adding solar irradiance, ambient and module temperature, orientation and tilt to the measurement set. Both state the thin jaw that lets the clamp reach cables in a crowded combiner box, which is an access property rather than a safety one.
Deciding which side of the main breaker you are working on
In the field the question collapses to one observation: find the main overcurrent device for the installation and work out whether your probes land before it or after it. Before it, you need CAT IV at or above the working voltage. After it, CAT III at or above the working voltage is the requirement, and a CAT IV instrument is also acceptable at the same voltage. At a plug connected load, CAT II is the floor, and most people simply carry the higher rated instrument rather than swap tools. On the photovoltaic side, treat strings, combiners and inverter inputs as fixed installation and match the voltage to the array, not to the inverter output.
When the point of measurement is genuinely unclear, the safe default is to go one category higher and keep the voltage figure above the system voltage. That habit of mind, that the specification which matters is attached to a location rather than to the device in isolation, turns up elsewhere in instrumentation too: it is the same reasoning that governs where to place a propane detector and where to place a natural gas detector, where the right sensor in the wrong position tells you nothing useful.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where exactly does CAT IV stop and CAT III begin?
At the main overcurrent device for the installation. The service drop, the service head, the supply conductors, the meter socket and the incoming terminals ahead of that device are CAT IV. Everything the device protects, including distribution boards, feeders and hardwired equipment, is CAT III. Outdoor underground runs feeding the premises count as CAT IV because they are exposed to the same unlimited source.
Is a CAT IV instrument always safer than a CAT III one?
Only at the same working voltage. The impulse withstand the standard sets rises with both the category and the voltage, so a CAT III instrument at a high working voltage can be proven against the same impulse as a CAT IV instrument at a lower one. Comparing categories without comparing the voltages beside them produces the wrong answer regularly.
Why do solar instruments say CAT III 1500 V rather than CAT IV?
Because photovoltaic strings and combiner boxes sit inside the fixed installation on the direct current side, not at the origin of the installation. The high figure is there because modern string voltages are high, not because the measuring point is close to a utility transformer. A string instrument needs the 1500 V half for the voltage present and the CAT III half for the location.
Does a residential consumer unit need CAT IV?
The incoming side does. Once you are working on the supply terminals, the main switch or the meter tails, you are ahead of the protective device and the available energy is set by the utility. Measurements on the outgoing ways of the same board, protected by their own devices, fall into CAT III.
Can I use a CAT III instrument at the service entrance if the voltage is low?
Not on the strength of the voltage alone. The location determines how much energy an impulse can carry, and a low nominal voltage at the origin of an installation still sits behind a source with very little limiting impedance. If the measuring point is upstream of the main device, the category requirement is CAT IV regardless of how modest the steady reading looks.
Do the leads and the current clamp carry the same category as the meter?
They each carry their own pair of numbers, and the assembly is limited by the lowest. Some kits are deliberately matched so the leads, the clamp accessory and the connectors all state the same category and voltage as the body. Substituting a generic lead into such a kit quietly downgrades it.