Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products
Review

DANOPLUS Quantum PAR Meter 400-700nm: A First-Hour Review

The DANOPLUS Quantum PAR Meter measures photosynthetic photon flux density between 400 and 700 nm. Its listing publishes a range, a waveband tolerance and a memory function, but not accuracy or resolution. This review explains what the published figures mean for a grower taking a first reading.

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

DANOPLUS Quantum PAR Meter 400-700nm: A First-Hour Review

DANOPLUS · Quantum PAR Meter Full-Spectrum High Precision PPFD Tester for Photosynthetic Activity of Indoor and Outdoor Plants 400-700nm Light Lux Tester

View on Amazon

Price and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.

The DANOPLUS Quantum PAR Meter is a portable PPFD meter with a stated measurement range of 0 to 5000 µmol/m²/s and a 400-700 nm waveband with ±10 nm tolerance. It stores up to 100 readings and displays the last four. The listing does not publish accuracy, resolution, or calibration details, so treat readings as comparative rather than absolute until you can verify against a reference. It suits growers who need to compare light levels across a canopy or track changes over time, not laboratories needing traceable measurements.

What the 400-700 nm waveband actually covers

PAR, or photosynthetically active radiation, is the light plants use for photosynthesis. The DANOPLUS meter is specified to measure between 400 nm and 700 nm, with a cut-on and cut-off tolerance of ±10 nm. That means the sensor responds to light in roughly that band, but the edges are not sharp. A reading may include a little light just outside the band, or miss a little just inside it, depending on the individual unit.

For most growers this is acceptable. The waveband covers the visible spectrum that drives photosynthesis in leaves. It does not measure ultraviolet or far-red light, so it will not tell you about those parts of the spectrum. If you are tuning an LED array with far-red diodes, this meter will not report that output.

The unit of measurement is µmol/m²/s, often called PPFD. That is a count of photons in the 400-700 nm band arriving per square metre per second. It is the standard unit for comparing grow lights and checking whether a canopy is receiving enough energy.

The first reading: what to expect and what to check

Unbox the meter and switch it on in the space you intend to measure. The listing does not state a warm-up time, so give it a minute to settle before you trust the number. Hold the sensor flat and level at the height of the plant canopy, facing the light source. The tripod socket on the base lets you mount it on a tripod (not included) for repeatable positioning.

The display shows a live reading and the last four recorded values. Press the record button to store a reading; the memory holds up to 100 values. This is useful for walking a grid across a grow tent or greenhouse and comparing points without writing numbers down.

What you cannot do from the listing alone is confirm absolute accuracy. The listing does not publish an accuracy figure, a resolution, or a calibration certificate. A first reading is therefore a relative number: useful for comparing one spot to another, or one day to the next, but not a substitute for a calibrated reference if you need to report absolute PPFD to a client or a research protocol.

The memory and display: useful, but not a data logger

The record function stores up to 100 measurements. The last four are shown on screen in real time. That is enough to compare a handful of points in a small grow space, or to check a light fixture at several distances. It is not a continuous logger: the listing does not state a logging interval, a time stamp, or a way to export data. If you need a record of light levels over hours or days, this meter will not do it on its own.

The display shows the current reading and the recent stored values. There is no mention of backlighting or of a hold function beyond the record feature. For indoor work under artificial light, the screen should be readable, but the listing does not specify contrast or brightness.

Where the listing leaves gaps: accuracy, resolution and calibration

The listing publishes a range of 0 to 5000 µmol/m²/s and a waveband of 400-700 nm with ±10 nm tolerance. It does not publish accuracy, resolution, linearity, or calibration details. Those are the figures that determine whether a meter is suitable for research or for commercial crop management. Without them, the DANOPLUS is best treated as a comparative tool.

For a grower comparing two LED fixtures, or checking that a canopy is evenly lit, a relative meter is often enough. For a researcher publishing PPFD values, or a commercial operation making energy decisions based on absolute light levels, a meter with a published calibration certificate and accuracy specification is the safer choice. The listing does not state whether a calibration certificate is included or available.

If you need a meter with published accuracy and a calibration certificate, look for one that states those figures explicitly. The DANOPLUS listing does not, so do not assume them.

Portability, tripod mounting and the practical routine

The meter is described as compact and lightweight, with an ergonomic interface. The tripod socket is the one mounting feature listed. A tripod (not included) lets you fix the sensor at a set height and angle, which is the only way to get repeatable readings across a canopy. Hand-held readings vary with angle and distance, so for any comparison work, mount it.

The routine for a first session: mount the meter on a tripod at canopy height, level the sensor, switch on, wait a minute, then record a reading at each point of interest. Use the memory to store up to 100 points. Review the last four on screen to catch obvious outliers. The listing does not state a battery type or battery life, so carry spare power if you plan a long session.

Where this meter stops being the right answer: if you need continuous logging, spectral data, or traceable calibration, this is not that instrument. It is a hand-held comparator for spot checks.

Who the DANOPLUS PAR Meter suits, and who it does not

The DANOPLUS Quantum PAR Meter is a straightforward PPFD comparator. Its published range of 0 to 5000 µmol/m²/s covers most grow-light scenarios, and the 100-reading memory with a four-reading display makes spot checks efficient. The tripod socket adds repeatability. But the listing does not publish accuracy, resolution, or calibration, so it cannot be recommended for work that needs absolute, traceable PPFD values. For a home grower or a technician comparing light levels across a space, it is a practical first meter. For a researcher or a commercial operation reporting to clients, choose a meter with a published calibration certificate.

Quantum PAR Meter Full-Spectrum High Precision PPFD Tester for Photosynthetic Activity of Indoor and Outdoor Plants 400-700nm Light Lux Tester

Quantum PAR Meter Full-Spectrum High Precision PPFD Tester for Photosynthetic

View on Amazon
Decibel Meter, Goldeep Sound Level Meter, Portable SPL Tester-Bright Orange

Decibel Meter, Goldeep Sound Level Meter, Portable SPL Tester-Bright Orange

View on Amazon
CRY2831 IEC 61672-1:2013 Sound Level Meter Class 2, Factory Calibrated | Calibration Certificate Included, 29-138dB, ±1.5dB Accuracy, A/C/Z Weighting, 20Hz-12.5kHz, Industrial Noise Measurement

CRY2831 IEC 61672-1:2013 Sound Level Meter Class 2, Factory Calibrated

View on Amazon
Hot Wire Anemometer AM-286, CFM/CMM HVAC Airflow Meter, Telescopic Probe | 0-30 m/s Air Velocity, CFM/CMM Air Volume, Temperature; Bendable Probe, MAX/MIN/AVG, Data Hold & USB PC Software

Hot Wire Anemometer AM-286, CFM/CMM HVAC Airflow Meter, Telescopic Probe

View on Amazon

Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does the DANOPLUS meter actually measure?

It measures photosynthetic photon flux density (PPFD) in the 400-700 nm waveband, in units of µmol/m²/s. The listing states a range of 0 to 5000 µmol/m²/s and a waveband tolerance of ±10 nm.

Is the accuracy published?

No. The listing does not state an accuracy figure, a resolution, or whether a calibration certificate is included. Treat readings as relative unless you can verify against a reference.

Can it log data over time?

It stores up to 100 readings manually and displays the last four. The listing does not state a logging interval, time stamp, or export function, so it is not a continuous data logger.

Does it come with a tripod?

No. The meter has a tripod socket, but the listing states the tripod is not included.

What is the battery life?

Not stated in the listing bullets. The listing does not publish battery type or battery life.

Is it suitable for professional research?

Only if relative readings are acceptable. For published research or client reports requiring traceable absolute PPFD, a meter with a published calibration certificate and accuracy specification is more appropriate.

Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.