Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products
Review

Gain Express USB Temperature Data Logger Review: One Trade-off Decides the Job

This logger records temperature, humidity and barometric pressure and produces PDF and CSV reports by plugging into a Windows computer. The trade-off is that the same USB plug that removes the cable and the reader also ties the reporting workflow to a desktop operating system. Here is what that means in practice.

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Gain Express USB Temperature Data Logger Review: One Trade-off Decides the Job

Gain Express · USB Temperature Data Logger Recorder for Temperature Humidity and Atmospheric Pressure, IP65 Waterproof Temperature Logger with PDF and CSV Reports High Accuracy

View on Amazon

Price and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.

The Gain Express USB Temperature Data Logger is a three-channel recorder covering -30 to 70°C, 0.1 to 99.9 percent humidity and 300 to 1100 hPa barometric pressure, storing up to 16,000 groups of raw data and generating PDF and Excel reports through built-in software. It is a sensible choice if you work at a Windows computer and want a record you can hand over as a document. It is the wrong choice if your reporting happens on a phone, a tablet or a Mac, because the listing states the computer must run Windows and does not publish any other retrieval route.

The USB plug is the feature and the constraint

Most data loggers separate the sensor from the cable and the software. This one collapses all three into a single USB stick: you plug it into a computer and the built-in software produces a report in PDF with graphics or in Excel format. The listing states no extra cable and no reader are required, which removes two things that usually go missing in a van or a drawer.

The same sentence carries the constraint. The listing says the computer must be of Windows OS. It does not publish a Mac version, a phone app, a Bluetooth radio or a web dashboard. So the device is self-contained in the field and completely dependent on a Windows machine at the desk. If your workflow is a laptop running Windows, that is a clean arrangement. If your workflow is a phone, or a shared drive that non-Windows colleagues open, the reporting step becomes the bottleneck rather than the recording step.

This is the single trade-off the design forces on the owner: you gain simplicity in the field and lose flexibility in where you process the data. Buyers who read only the first half of that sentence are the ones who end up disappointed.

What the three channels actually measure, and where the figures stop

The listing publishes these ranges: temperature -30 to 70°C (-22 to 158°F), humidity 0.1 to 99.9 percent, and barometric pressure 300 to 1100 hPa (8.9 to 32.5 inHg). Those are wide enough for cold storage, plant rooms, warehouses and general indoor environmental work. The conversion between Celsius and Fahrenheit is given in the listing itself, so there is no ambiguity about which scale is meant.

What the listing does not publish is just as important. It does not state temperature accuracy, humidity accuracy or pressure accuracy. It does not state resolution for any channel. It does not state a response time. The title says high accuracy, but no figure supports that phrase, and a buyer comparing against a logger with a published accuracy specification should treat the phrase as marketing rather than data. That is not a reason to reject the product; it is a reason to check whether your application needs a documented accuracy figure before you buy.

The 16,000-group storage capacity is the other number worth thinking about. A group is one reading across all three channels, so the recording duration depends entirely on the sampling interval you set. The listing says the interval is customizable but does not publish the available interval values or a maximum recording duration. You can work out the arithmetic yourself once you know the interval you need, but you cannot quote a maximum logging period from the listing alone.

Reports, marks and the statistic modes

The built-in software generates PDF reports with graphics and Excel-format files. The listing says the software and reports support six languages: English, German, French, Italian, Spanish and Portuguese. For anyone handing a record to a client, a landlord or an auditor, a PDF with a graph is often more useful than a raw CSV, and having both in one step is a genuine convenience.

The Mark function is the feature that separates this from a plain logger. It lets you leave a mark in the report to signify a change in the recording target or environment without stopping the recording. In practical terms, that means you can log a delivery bay through a door opening, or a cold room through a defrost cycle, and annotate the event in the timeline. The listing also mentions maximum, minimum and real-time modes, which cover the usual summary views.

The listing does not publish how the mark is triggered, whether from the device or only from the software, and it does not describe the report layout. Those are details you would want to see before committing a workflow to the format. The alarm range is also customizable, but the listing does not state whether the alarm is audible, visual or only a flag in the report. If an alarm is central to your use, ask the supplier directly.

The IP65 claim and the maintenance nobody mentions

The title describes the logger as IP65 waterproof. IP65 means protection against dust ingress and against water jets from a nozzle; it does not mean the device can be submerged. The listing does not publish a submersion rating, so it should not be treated as a device for immersion in a tank or a drain. For wash-down areas and humid rooms, the rating is useful; for underwater work, it is not the right instrument.

The maintenance point that rarely appears in listings is calibration. The listing publishes no calibration interval and no calibration certificate. Humidity sensors in particular drift over time, and a logger used for compliance work will eventually need a reference check. Because the device is a sealed USB unit, you should confirm with the supplier how recalibration is handled before you rely on it for a regulated record. The listing is silent on this, and silence is not the same as a lifetime guarantee.

Battery life is another gap. The listing does not publish battery type or battery life, and a USB-stick logger usually draws power from the computer only during download. How long it records unattended is therefore not stated. If long unattended deployments are your use case, that is a question to resolve before purchase, not after.

Where this logger stops being the right answer

This device stops being the right answer in three situations. First, when the reporting environment is not Windows. The listing is explicit, and no workaround is published. Second, when you need multi-point monitoring: this is a single-point logger, and a job that needs six locations monitored at once needs a multi-channel instrument or several loggers. Third, when you need an alarm that reaches somebody. The listing describes a customizable alarm range but does not publish an audible or remote notification, so it should not be relied on as a safety alarm.

For buyers who want to compare the wider field before deciding, the site’s guide to temperature and humidity loggers for cold storage sets out the questions that matter for that application, and the guide to choosing a temperature and humidity data logger explains the specification vocabulary used here. If you need more than one channel of temperature, the multi-channel temperature data loggers comparison is the more relevant starting point.

Who the Gain Express logger suits, and who it does not

Buy it if you record temperature, humidity and pressure at a single location and your reporting happens on a Windows computer. The three-channel range, the 16,000-group storage and the PDF and Excel output make it a practical record-keeping tool, and the Mark function is genuinely useful for annotating events without stopping the run. Do not buy it if you need phone-based retrieval, a published accuracy figure, a calibration certificate or an alarm that reaches a person. The listing does not publish those, and the Windows dependency is stated plainly enough that there is no excuse for being surprised by it.

USB Temperature Data Logger Recorder for Temperature Humidity and Atmospheric Pressure, IP65 Waterproof Temperature Logger with PDF and CSV Reports High Accuracy

USB Temperature Data Logger Recorder for Temperature Humidity and Atmospheric

View on Amazon
Decibel Meter, Goldeep Sound Level Meter, Portable SPL Tester-Bright Orange

Decibel Meter, Goldeep Sound Level Meter, Portable SPL Tester-Bright Orange

View on Amazon
CRY2831 IEC 61672-1:2013 Sound Level Meter Class 2, Factory Calibrated | Calibration Certificate Included, 29-138dB, ±1.5dB Accuracy, A/C/Z Weighting, 20Hz-12.5kHz, Industrial Noise Measurement

CRY2831 IEC 61672-1:2013 Sound Level Meter Class 2, Factory Calibrated

View on Amazon
Hot Wire Anemometer AM-286, CFM/CMM HVAC Airflow Meter, Telescopic Probe | 0-30 m/s Air Velocity, CFM/CMM Air Volume, Temperature; Bendable Probe, MAX/MIN/AVG, Data Hold & USB PC Software

Hot Wire Anemometer AM-286, CFM/CMM HVAC Airflow Meter, Telescopic Probe

View on Amazon

Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I download the data on a Mac or a phone?

The listing states the computer must be of Windows OS. It does not publish a Mac version, a phone app or a web dashboard. If you do not have access to a Windows computer, the reporting step cannot be completed as described.

How long can it record before the memory fills?

The listing states storage for up to 16,000 groups of raw data, and says the sampling interval is customizable. It does not publish the available interval values or a maximum recording duration. The recording time is the storage divided by the interval you set, but you need the interval options from the supplier to calculate a figure.

Is the IP65 rating enough for a wet room or wash-down area?

IP65 covers dust and water jets, not submersion. The listing does not publish a submersion rating, so it should not be used underwater. For humid rooms and wash-down surfaces, the rating is relevant; for immersion, it is not the right instrument.

Does it have an audible alarm?

The listing says the alarm range can be customized on the computer, but it does not state whether the alarm is audible, visual or only a flag in the report. It should not be treated as a safety alarm until the supplier confirms the behaviour.

What accuracy does it have?

The listing does not publish temperature, humidity or pressure accuracy figures. The title uses the phrase high accuracy, but no number supports it. If your application needs a documented accuracy specification, ask the supplier before buying.

Can the reports be opened by someone without the software?

The listing says reports are generated in PDF with graphics and in Excel format. PDF and Excel are common formats, so a recipient can usually open them without the built-in software. The listing does not describe the report layout or whether the PDF is self-contained.

Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.