As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

HTI · HT Instruments Solar I-Ve - 1500V Single-Phase Solar Installation Efficiency Tester and I-V Curve Tracer
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
A photovoltaic installation and efficiency tester with I-V curve tracing on modules and strings up to 1500 V and 40 A, measurement of open circuit voltage and short circuit current, a database of photovoltaic module performance, and measurement of both front side and rear side solar radiation for testing monofacial and bifacial modules including high efficiency types. The rear side irradiance measurement is the reason this instrument exists in the form it does, because a bifacial module cannot be compared with its datasheet without it. The product name also contains a constraint that none of the bullets repeats.
Rear side irradiance is what makes a bifacial curve comparable
The second bullet names front side and rear side solar radiation measurement for monofacial and bifacial module testing. On any other tester that would be a line about an accessory. Here it is the design brief.
A monofacial module has one input. Light arrives at the front, and if you know how much of it there is and how hot the cells are, you can correct a field measurement to standard conditions and compare it against a datasheet.
A bifacial module has two. The rear face contributes real power, and the amount depends on things that have nothing to do with the module: how reflective the ground beneath it is, how high it sits above that ground, how far apart the rows are, how much of the daylight is diffuse. A white membrane roof and a dark gravel yard produce different rear contributions from identical modules.
That has a specific consequence for testing. Measure a bifacial module, record only front side irradiance, and correct the result in the usual way, and the module appears to beat its own nameplate, because all the power has been credited to part of the light. The error is in the method, not the module. Knowing both faces gives you an effective irradiance, and only then does the measured curve mean anything against the datasheet and its bifaciality figure.
The phrase about high efficiency modules in the same bullet points at the same issue from another direction, since the modules most likely to be bifacial are also the ones whose datasheets are hardest to verify in the field.
Single phase is in the product name and in none of the bullets
The product is named as a single phase solar installation efficiency tester. That constraint appears nowhere in the five bullets, and it is a purchase deciding one.
An efficiency measurement on a photovoltaic installation compares what the array produces on the direct current side against what the inverter delivers on the alternating current side, which means the instrument has to measure that output. A single phase instrument measures a single phase output. Most domestic and small commercial systems are single phase, so for a great deal of work this is exactly right.
Larger commercial installations are not. A three phase inverter output needs an instrument that can measure three phases, and no amount of capability on the direct current side substitutes for that. The curve tracing here reaches 1500 V, a system voltage associated with commercial and utility scale design, which produces an odd pairing: an instrument that can trace the array of a large installation but cannot measure the efficiency of its three phase inverter.
That is not a contradiction, because the name states it plainly. It does mean a buyer who reads only the bullets will learn the voltage ceiling and not the scope limit, and the scope limit is the one that decides whether the instrument fits the work.
1500 volts and 40 amps describe the arrays this fits
The first bullet gives the two ceilings, and both deserve translating into field terms.
The voltage figure is a class rather than a number to compare against a nameplate. Open circuit voltage rises as cells cool, following a negative temperature coefficient in the module datasheet, so the highest voltage a string ever reaches arrives on a cold bright morning rather than in summer. A string designed to a 1500 V system class can therefore sit well above its nameplate open circuit voltage at exactly the moment someone is likely to be testing it. That is the figure to check against the instrument ceiling, as our note on measuring open circuit voltage sets out.
The current figure matters differently. Module short circuit currents have climbed as cells have grown, so a single modern string fits inside 40 A while two or three strings paralleled at a combiner box may not. The practical consequence is to test at string level before the parallel connection, which is where a curve is diagnostically richest anyway, since summing several strings hides a fault in one of them. Instruments for the larger systems are covered in our guide to 1500 V array testers.
A module database answers a question only if your module is in it
The fourth bullet promises a database of photovoltaic module performance, which is a genuinely useful feature and an unquantified one.
The point of such a database is to remove a step in the field. Comparing a measured curve against a datasheet requires the datasheet parameters, including the temperature coefficients and the standard test condition figures. Holding those in the instrument means it can do the correction and the comparison on the spot rather than leaving you to transcribe numbers from a brochure.
The questions the bullet does not answer are how many modules the database contains, whether it can be updated, and whether a module absent from it can be entered by hand. That last one matters most, because module types turn over quickly and the panel on a roof is often a generation behind or ahead of whatever shipped with the instrument. A database that cannot be extended becomes a convenience that works for some jobs and not others.
What the bullets cover, and what the fifth one is about
| Specification | Published in the listing |
|---|---|
| I-V curve tracing | Modules and strings, up to 1500 V and 40 A |
| Irradiance measurement | Front side and rear side, for monofacial and bifacial modules |
| Point measurements | Open circuit voltage and short circuit current |
| Module data | Database of photovoltaic module performance |
| Phases for efficiency measurement | Single phase, stated in the product name only |
| Lead time note | Three to four weeks stated in the fifth bullet |
| Accuracy, any measurement | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Named commissioning standard | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Correction of curves to standard test conditions | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Cell temperature measurement | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Insulation resistance testing | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Measurement category rating | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Memory, logging and software | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Leads and connectors supplied | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Power source and battery life | Not stated in the listing bullets |
One row is not a specification at all. The fifth bullet asks buyers to allow three to four weeks of lead time, which is honest and useful and still means one fifth of the page is about shipping on an instrument whose accuracy figures are absent.
Two omissions stand out among the rest. The first is cell temperature. Irradiance is half of the correction and temperature is the other half, and an instrument that measures both faces of the light while saying nothing about how cell temperature is obtained has described half a workflow. The second is a named standard. Photovoltaic commissioning and periodic verification are governed by published standards, and an instrument that cites one produces results that another party can accept rather than only results you believe yourself.
The commissioning engineer this is built for
This suits someone who tests modules and strings for a living on single phase systems, and increasingly meets bifacial hardware. The rear side irradiance capability is rare, it addresses a real measurement error rather than a marketing gap, and combined with curve tracing to 1500 V it describes an instrument built by people who understood the problem. See curve tracers for how the capability compares elsewhere.
It is the wrong instrument for a three phase commercial efficiency measurement, which the name tells you and the bullets do not. It is far more than a homeowner or an occasional installer needs, since a points based tester answers whether a panel works. And before it goes onto an array, get the accuracy figures, the cell temperature method and the measurement category in writing, because a 1500 V direct current source cannot be switched off and the page that sells the instrument says nothing about either.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why does a bifacial module need rear side irradiance measured?
Because part of its output comes from light arriving at the back. That rear contribution depends on the reflectivity of the ground, the height of the module above it, the spacing between rows and the amount of diffuse light in the sky, so it varies between sites and across a single day in a way front side irradiance cannot predict. Compare a bifacial module against its datasheet using only front side irradiance and it appears to exceed its own rating, because the measurement credits all of the power to part of the light. Measuring both faces is what turns that into an effective irradiance the comparison can use.
What does curve tracing add over measuring Voc and Isc?
Shape. Open circuit voltage and short circuit current are the two ends of the relationship between current and voltage, and a module can be badly wrong in the middle while both ends look acceptable. Sweeping the load from one end to the other and recording the path reveals where the power is going. A notch or step indicates a group of cells producing less than its neighbours, which is the signature of shading, soiling or a failed bypass diode. A soft, rounded corner indicates resistance in connections, cabling or interconnects. Both show up as a lower power figure and they need different repairs.
What does the 1500 V figure mean for string sizing?
It is the system voltage class rather than a number to compare against a nameplate. Open circuit voltage rises as cells get colder, by a percentage per degree given in the module datasheet, so a string sized on standard test conditions reaches its real maximum on the coldest clear morning of the year rather than on the hottest afternoon. An instrument rated to 1500 V covers commercial and utility designs built to that class, and the figure to check it against is the calculated cold weather open circuit voltage of the string, not its operating voltage.
Is 40 A enough current capability?
For module and string level testing, usually. Large format cells have pushed short circuit current well into the high teens of amps per module, so a single modern string sits comfortably inside 40 A while two or three strings paralleled at a combiner may not. The practical approach is to test at string level before the parallel connection, which is where curve tracing is diagnostically useful anyway because a fault in one string is invisible once the currents are summed. Nothing in the bullets states behaviour or protection if the limit is exceeded.
What does the listing leave out?
A great deal for an instrument of this class. There is no accuracy figure for any measurement, no named standard for commissioning or for the correction of measured curves to standard test conditions, no insulation resistance test, no indication of what the single phase efficiency measurement actually records, no logging capacity, no display or software detail and no measurement category rating. Four bullets of specification and one of shipping is a thin page for a tester that will produce documentation someone else relies on.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





