Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products

Best High-Resolution Thermal Cameras: Native 320×240 Detectors vs Super Resolution

High resolution on a thermal camera listing can mean a detector with more elements or software that draws a bigger picture from the same detector, and the listings use the same words for both. This guide separates the native counts from the super-resolution outputs on every camera, from 256 x 192 to 384 x 288, and sorts them on the native figure.

  • Independent Research
  • Verified Specifications
  • Honest Recommendations

Count the Detector
Label the Upscale
Lens Sets the Reach

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Our Top Picks

Cameras were compared on native detector resolution first, then on the upscaled output each listing quotes, stated NETD, field of view, screen, refresh rate and workflow, all from manufacturer listings. We did not run laboratory tests or image comparisons; figures are the manufacturers' own and Not stated marks the gaps, including where a listing gives no native figure at all.

Best Overall
FLIR E8 Pro Thermal Imaging Camera

FLIR E8 Pro Thermal Imaging Camera

Native 320x240, 76,800 pixels, with no software figure in the listing at all.

  • 320 x 240 native detector, 76,800 pixels
  • Measures -20 to 550 C (-4 to 1022 F)
  • MSX embosses visible edges onto the thermal image
  • Wi-Fi to FLIR Ignite cloud with over-the-air updates; 2-year camera, 10-year detector warranty
View on Amazon Read Full Review→
Best 320x240 Pocket
FLIR C8 Compact Thermal Imaging Camera

FLIR C8 Compact Thermal Imaging Camera

The same 76,800-pixel detector count in a pocket camera with a stated 35-degree lens.

  • 320 x 240 true thermal imaging, 76,800 pixels
  • 35-degree horizontal field of view stated
  • MSX image enhancement
  • Direct upload to FLIR Ignite cloud; 2-year camera, 10-year detector warranty
View on Amazon Read Full Review→
Best Value
Thermal Master Thor002 Handheld Thermal Camera

Thermal Master Thor002 Handheld Thermal Camera

256x192 native, upscaled to 512x384 by X3, on a 3.5-inch 640x480 screen with stated 40 mK and 25 Hz.

  • 256 x 192 native detector; 512 x 384 is X3 upscaling
  • 3.5-inch 640 x 480 IPS display, 2 MP visible camera, 4.3 mm lens with 4x digital zoom
  • 40 mK sensitivity, 25 Hz refresh, -4 to 1022 F, plus or minus 3.6 F; six measurement points, adjustable emissivity, alarms
  • 5000 mAh battery stated at 10.5 hours, 18 W fast charge, IP54, 2 m drop, 32 GB storage, USB and Wi-Fi transfer
View on Amazon Read Full Review→

Comparison Table

View Full Comparison→
ProductNative resolutionUpscaled outputNETDField of viewScreenRefresh rate
FLIR E8 Pro320 x 240None quotedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedView
FLIR C8320 x 240None quotedNot stated35 deg HFOVNot statedNot statedView
Thermal Master Thor002256 x 192512 x 384 (X3)40 mKNot stated (4.3 mm lens)3.5-inch 640 x 480 IPS25 HzView
HSFTOOLS P2W256 x 192640 x 480 (Live Super Resolution)Under 40 mKNot stated3.5-inch touchscreen25 HzView
HSFTOOLS F2VW256 x 192640 x 480 (Live AI Super Resolution)Under 40 mKNot stated3.2-inch LCD25 HzView
AccuMEMS TT27DNot stated640 x 480 (UIRA-IR upscaling)Under 40 mKNot stated3.5-inch 640 x 480 touchscreen25 HzView
TOPDON TC001 Plus (Android module)256 x 192512 x 384 (TISR)Not statedNot statedPhone screenNot statedView
Holdwell 384x288384 x 288None quoted50 mK or lower29.2 x 21.7 deg3.5-inch 640 x 480 IPS25 HzView
MiLESEEY TR20320 x 240None quotedUnder 40 mK50 deg2.8-inch 480 x 64025 HzView

All values come from the manufacturers' Amazon listings at the time of research. Native resolution is the detector count the listing states; the upscaled column is the software output it quotes, and the two are not comparable. The AccuMEMS TT27D listing gives no native figure, so its detector is unknown from the listing.

How to Choose a High-Resolution Thermal Camera

Four points decide it:

Count the Detector

384 x 288, 320 x 240 and 256 x 192 are the native figures on this page. 640 x 480 and 512 x 384 are software output from a 256 x 192 or unstated detector.

Lens and Field of View

A narrow lens puts more pixels on a distant target; a wide lens covers a wall. Stated values here run from 29.2 degrees on the Holdwell to 50 on the TR20.

NETD Alongside Pixels

More pixels showing the same noise is not more detail. Under 40 mK is stated on the HSFTOOLS, AccuMEMS and MiLESEEY listings, 40 mK on the Thor002, 50 mK or lower on the Holdwell.

Screen and Output

A 640 x 480 screen shows a 640 x 480 upscale at full size; it does not add measurements. Decide on cloud, PC software or on-device storage separately.

Frequently Asked Questions

View All FAQs→
Is a 640 x 480 super-resolution image better than a native 320 x 240 image?

Not in measurements. A 640 x 480 upscale from a 256 x 192 detector still contains 49,152 temperature readings, interpolated to fill a larger frame; a native 320 x 240 image contains 76,800 readings. The upscale looks smoother on a big screen and can be pleasant to use, but it cannot resolve a detail the detector did not see. Compare native to native.

Which camera on this page has the largest native detector?

The Holdwell, whose listing states 384 x 288 infrared resolution with no upscaled figure, alongside a 3.5-inch 640 x 480 IPS screen, 50 mK or lower sensitivity, 25 Hz and a 29.2 by 21.7 degree field of view. The FLIR E8 Pro, C8 and MiLESEEY TR20 follow at 320 x 240. The listing states a 5000 mAh battery but no runtime.

Why is the AccuMEMS TT27D native resolution not stated?

The listing describes 640 x 480 UIRA-IR resolution enhanced by AI upscaling, and states NETD under 40 mK, 25 Hz and a 3.5-inch 640 x 480 touchscreen, but never names the detector the upscale starts from. Without that figure the camera cannot be placed against the others on native resolution, so its cell reads Not stated and a buyer should ask the manufacturer.

Does a larger detector mean a narrower field of view?

Not by itself; the lens sets the field of view. The Holdwell pairs its 384 x 288 detector with a 29.2 by 21.7 degree lens, which concentrates pixels on a distant target, while the TR20 pairs 320 x 240 with a 50-degree lens for wide coverage. The FLIR C8 states 35 degrees horizontal. Pick the lens for the working distance.

Reviews

FLIR E8 Pro Thermal Imaging Camera

FLIR E8 Pro Thermal Imaging Camera Best Overall

The E8 Pro is the overall pick because its resolution claim is the plainest on the page: FLIR states 320 x 240, 76,800 pixels, and attaches no super-resolution figure to it. That is the detector, and every measurement in the image comes from one of those 76,800 elements. Against a 256 x 192 detector it has more than half again as many; against a 160 x 120 detector it has four times as many.

The listing pairs the detector with a range of -20 to 550 C, MSX edge enhancement that embosses the visible outline of the scene onto the thermal image, and Wi-Fi upload to FLIR Ignite for storage, editing and sharing with over-the-air updates. FLIR covers the detector for 10 years and the camera for 2.

What it does not state is NETD, field of view or refresh rate, which together with resolution decide what the camera resolves at a distance; FLIR publishes them in its datasheet. The Holdwell in the table states a larger native detector, 384 x 288, and the Thor002 states NETD and refresh where FLIR does not.

Strengths

  • Native 320 x 240 with no upscaled figure
  • MSX and Ignite cloud for reports
  • 550 C upper limit
  • 10-year detector warranty

Limitations

  • NETD and field of view not stated
  • Refresh rate not stated
  • Not the largest native detector in the table
View on Amazon
FLIR C8 Compact Thermal Imaging Camera

FLIR C8 Compact Thermal Imaging Camera Best 320x240 Pocket

The C8 earns its badge by stating the same detector count as the E8 Pro, 320 x 240 and 76,800 pixels of true thermal imaging, in a body that fits a pocket. FLIR also states a 35-degree horizontal field of view and frames that lens as increasing the number of pixels on target, which is the honest way to describe resolution: a detector count and a lens together decide how many elements land on the thing being imaged.

MSX and direct upload to Ignite cloud carry over, so the C8 produces the same report-ready image as the larger camera, and the 2-year camera, 10-year detector warranty is the same. Our separate FLIR C8 review covers the details.

The listing states no temperature range, NETD, refresh rate or runtime, so the C8 wins on native detector per cubic inch and loses on stated figures to the Thor002 and the HSFTOOLS cameras. For anyone whose definition of high resolution is native pixels rather than software output, it is the compact answer.

Strengths

  • Native 320 x 240 in a pocket body
  • Stated 35-degree HFOV
  • MSX and Ignite cloud
  • 10-year detector warranty

Limitations

  • Range, NETD and refresh rate not stated
  • Small screen
  • Runtime not stated
View on Amazon
Thermal Master Thor002 Handheld Thermal Camera

Thermal Master Thor002 Handheld Thermal Camera Best Value

The Thor002 is the value pick because its listing does the separation this guide exists to do: Thermal Master states that X3 technology boosts thermal resolution from 256 x 192 to 512 x 384, naming both figures and the relationship between them. The native count is 256 x 192, which is 49,152 elements, below the FLIR 320 x 240 pair but well above the 160 x 120 class, and the 512 x 384 output is what appears on the 3.5-inch 640 x 480 IPS screen.

The rest of the listing states what FLIR leaves out: 40 mK sensitivity, 25 Hz refresh, a range of -4 to 1022 F with plus or minus 3.6 F accuracy, six simultaneous measurement points, adjustable emissivity, high and low alarms, a laser for aiming and a 4.3 mm lens with 4x digital zoom. The 5000 mAh battery is stated at 10.5 hours with 18 W fast charging, the body is IP54 and rated for a 2 m drop, and images move by USB or Wi-Fi.

It has no cloud service, the warranty is not stated, and the upscaled headline should not be read as a detector count.

Strengths

  • Native and upscaled figures both stated
  • 40 mK, 25 Hz and six spot readings stated
  • 3.5-inch 640 x 480 screen
  • 10.5-hour stated battery with fast charging

Limitations

  • 256 x 192 native; 512 x 384 is X3
  • No cloud workflow
  • Warranty not stated
View on Amazon

Buying Guide

Short answer: the FLIR E8 Pro is the high-resolution thermal camera whose 320 x 240 figure is the detector and nothing else, 76,800 native pixels with MSX and Ignite cloud; the FLIR C8 puts the same 76,800-pixel detector and a stated 35-degree lens into a pocket camera; and the Thermal Master Thor002 is the value pick that states both its figures, a 256 x 192 native detector and a 512 x 384 X3 upscale, on a 3.5-inch 640 x 480 screen with 40 mK and 25 Hz. The 640 x 480 claims elsewhere in the table are software output from 256 x 192 detectors, or from a detector the listing does not name.

What resolution means on a thermal camera

A thermal detector is a grid of elements, each of which measures the infrared energy arriving from one small patch of the scene. A 320 x 240 detector has 76,800 of them; 256 x 192 has 49,152; 240 x 180 has 43,200; 160 x 120 has 19,200. Those are the only figures that describe how many temperature measurements the camera makes per frame. Super resolution, whether it is called Vivid IR, TISR, X3, Live Super Resolution or UIRA-IR, is software that draws a larger frame from the same measurements by interpolation, sometimes with a visible camera’s edges blended in. It produces a smoother picture on a big screen and can make a hot spot easier to see, but it cannot resolve a feature smaller than one detector element, and it cannot separate two hot spots that fell on the same element. How to compare thermal camera resolution works through the arithmetic; this page applies it to the listings.

The 320 x 240 pair, and the 384 x 288 outlier

FLIR states 320 x 240 for the E8 Pro and C8 with no software figure attached, which is the cleanest resolution claim on the page, and the MiLESEEY TR20 states 320 x 240 the same way. Above them, the Holdwell listing states 384 x 288 infrared resolution, again with no upscaled figure, paired with a 3.5-inch 640 x 480 IPS screen, 25 Hz refresh, 50 mK or lower sensitivity, a 29.2 by 21.7 degree field of view and a 5000 mAh battery whose runtime is not stated. It is the largest native detector in the table and the least documented camera in it: the listing describes a 3.93 mm main lens and a 9.1 mm IR module lens, four image modes, Wi-Fi and USB transfer, IP54 and a 2 m drop rating, but names no warranty, and the brand has none of the review record that FLIR or TOPDON carry. A buyer who needs the detector should weigh that.

The 256 x 192 class and its 512 x 384 and 640 x 480 headlines

Most of the table is one detector class wearing three different headlines. The Thermal Master Thor002 states 256 x 192 boosted to 512 x 384 by X3. The TOPDON TC001 Plus states 256 x 192 IR resolution with 512 x 384 TISR super resolution. The HSFTOOLS P2W and F2VW state a 256 x 192 detector elevated to 640 x 480 by Live Super Resolution, on a 3.5-inch touchscreen and a 3.2-inch LCD respectively, with NETD under 40 mK, 25 Hz and IntellFault scene detection for moisture and insulation. All four are the same 49,152-element class, and the difference between 512 x 384 and 640 x 480 is the size of the interpolated frame, not the detector. The AccuMEMS TT27D states 640 x 480 UIRA-IR resolution enhanced by AI upscaling, NETD under 40 mK, 25 Hz, five image modes and a 3.5-inch 640 x 480 touchscreen, and never names the detector it starts from, so its native figure is unknown from the listing. That is the one case here where the buyer has to ask.

NETD and lens: the other two thirds of detail

Resolution alone does not decide what a camera resolves. NETD, the smallest temperature difference the detector distinguishes in millikelvin, decides whether a feature stands out from the noise, and on this page it is stated on every listing except the FLIR pair and the TC001 Plus: under 40 mK on the HSFTOOLS P2W and F2VW, AccuMEMS TT27D and MiLESEEY TR20, 40 mK on the Thor002, 50 mK or lower on the Holdwell. The lens decides how many detector elements land on the target at a given distance: the Holdwell’s 29.2 by 21.7 degree field of view concentrates its 384 x 288 elements on a distant object, the C8’s stated 35-degree horizontal lens is a general-purpose view, and the TR20’s 50-degree lens spreads 320 x 240 elements across a whole wall. A narrow lens on a large detector is the combination for detail at distance; a wide lens on the same detector is the combination for a survey. What NETD means covers the sensitivity side.

Screen, workflow and what the pixels are for

A 640 x 480 screen displays a 640 x 480 upscale at full size, which is why the HSFTOOLS, AccuMEMS, Holdwell and Thor002 pair their super-resolution outputs with 3.2 to 3.5 inch displays. It adds no measurements. The workflow is a separate decision: the FLIR pair upload to Ignite cloud and emboss MSX edges for a client report; the Thor002 stores 32 GB with voice notes and QR tagging and transfers by USB or Wi-Fi; the HSFTOOLS cameras connect to a phone app and Windows software; the Holdwell offers Wi-Fi and USB with 8 GB of storage. For electrical maintenance, where resolution decides whether a single lug can be measured from a safe distance, the electrical thermal camera guide weighs these cameras on range and spot tools as well.

Emissivity: more pixels of the wrong number

A high-resolution detector measures a shiny surface just as wrongly as a small one. Bare copper, aluminum and stainless steel have low emissivity, emit little infrared and reflect their surroundings, so the camera reads them low and may show a warm reflection of the operator in sharp, well-resolved detail. Set the emissivity for the surface, which the Thor002, HSFTOOLS and Holdwell listings state as adjustable, or read a strip of tape on the metal. Every camera here reads surface temperature and cannot see through a wall, and building envelope work still needs roughly 10 C between inside and outside for the detail to exist at all. For the lower-tier cameras that quote 320 x 240 from a 160 x 120 detector, the budget thermal camera guide does the same native-versus-upscaled sorting.

How We Research

Cameras were compared on manufacturer listing figures: native detector resolution as stated, upscaled output as stated and labeled, NETD, field of view, lens, screen resolution, refresh rate, temperature range, measurement tools, storage and transfer, runtime and warranty. Owner feedback was reviewed for recurring comments on whether image detail matched the headline resolution. We did not run laboratory tests or resolution comparisons and publish no measurements. Amazon data supplies images, availability and links only.

Read our full review methodology→