As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.
Yes, a clamp meter can measure DC current, but not every clamp meter can. The jaw of a common AC clamp meter is a current transformer: it responds only to a changing magnetic field, so a steady direct current produces no output and the display reads zero. A DC-capable clamp meter adds a Hall effect sensor or a fluxgate inside the jaw, which responds to the static field a DC conductor produces. The listing must state DC current explicitly. Among the products here, the UNI-T UT219PV states AC/DC current, the Megger DCM1500S states 1500 A AC/DC, and the FLIR CM276 states 600 A. If a listing says only AC, or says nothing about current type, treat it as an AC instrument and do not expect a DC reading. The other thing to know is that DC current measurement is a different skill from AC: the jaw must be closed around a single conductor, the zero must be set with the jaw empty, and the reading drifts with temperature and with nearby magnetic fields.
Why a transformer jaw cannot see direct current
A clamp meter works by sensing the magnetic field that a current produces around a conductor. In an AC clamp meter, the jaw is a laminated iron core with a coil wound on it. The conductor passing through the jaw acts as the primary of a transformer, and the coil in the jaw is the secondary. A transformer only transfers energy when the flux is changing, so the alternating current in the conductor induces an alternating voltage in the jaw coil, and the meter measures that. A steady direct current produces a steady flux. A steady flux induces nothing. The meter reads zero, and it reads zero honestly: there is nothing wrong with the instrument, it is simply the wrong mechanism.
This is why the first question to ask of any clamp meter is not its current range but its sensor type. A 600 A AC clamp and a 600 A AC/DC clamp can look identical from the outside. The difference is a small sensor inside the jaw gap, and it is only visible in the listing text.
The practical consequence is that an AC-only clamp meter is not a partially working DC meter. It is a completely non-working DC meter. If you clamp it around a battery cable carrying 40 A, it will read zero, and a reader who does not know the mechanism may conclude the cable is dead.
The Hall effect sensor: what is actually inside a DC clamp
A DC-capable clamp meter places a Hall effect element in the air gap of the jaw. The Hall element is a thin semiconductor slab; when a steady magnetic field passes through it and a small control current flows through it, a voltage appears across its sides, proportional to the field. That voltage is amplified and scaled to display current. Because the Hall element responds to the static field, it measures steady DC directly. The same element also responds to AC, so a Hall-based clamp can measure both, which is why the listing says AC/DC.
Hall sensors bring their own problems. They have an offset: with no current in the jaw, the output is not exactly zero, so the meter needs a zero or DC zero button. They drift with temperature, so the zero set in a cold van may not hold in a warm plant room. They are sensitive to external magnetic fields, so a reading taken next to a transformer or a busbar can be wrong. And they are less accurate than a transformer at low currents, because the offset is a fixed error that matters more when the reading is small. A good DC clamp meter specification will state a separate DC accuracy figure, often as a percentage plus a number of counts. Where the listing gives only one accuracy figure, the DC figure may be worse than the AC one, and the listing does not publish the difference.
Fluxgate sensors are a second mechanism, used in some higher-grade instruments. They are more stable and more accurate but more expensive. The distinction matters less to a buyer than the basic one: the listing must say DC.
Reading the listing: the words that tell you it will work
The listing text is the only reliable guide. A DC-capable clamp meter will say AC/DC current, or DC current, or give a DC current range. It may also say True RMS, which is about AC waveform accuracy and says nothing about DC capability. True RMS and DC capability are independent: a meter can be True RMS and AC-only, and a meter can be DC-capable without True RMS.
The UNI-T UT219PV states AC/DC True RMS and non-contact current measurement, so it is a DC-capable instrument. The Megger DCM1500S states 1500 A AC/DC, so it is DC-capable, and it also states 2000 V DC, which is a voltage range, not a current range. The FLIR CM276 states 600 A, but the listing bullets do not explicitly say AC/DC for current; the model name includes IGM and the bullet describes VFD mode for voltage, current and frequency. A buyer should confirm the current type from the full listing before relying on it for DC. The EX655 states 600 A AC/DC in its title, so it is DC-capable, but the bullet text supplied is a mixture that includes a 750 VAC supply voltage and a frequency range, and does not give a DC current accuracy. That is a listing that tells you the capability exists but not how good it is.
One warning about listing bullets: when the bullet text does not match the product title, believe the title for identity and treat the bullets as unreliable. The EX655 bullets read like a multimeter datasheet fragment. That does not mean the product is bad; it means the listing does not publish the figures you would want.
What DC current measurement asks of the person holding the meter
Clamping a DC conductor is less forgiving than clamping an AC one. The jaw must close around one conductor only. If you clamp around a pair carrying current in opposite directions, the fields cancel and you read zero or a small difference. That is the same for AC and DC, but DC work makes the mistake more common because DC cables are often paired in a single sheath.
The jaw must be closed fully and squarely. A partial gap increases the reluctance of the magnetic path and skews the reading. The conductor should be centred in the jaw, because the Hall element sits in the gap and the field distribution across the jaw is not uniform. For small DC currents, wrapping the conductor through the jaw several times multiplies the field and improves the reading; divide the displayed value by the number of turns.
Zero the meter with the jaw empty and closed, in the orientation you will use it, after the meter has reached the ambient temperature. Then take the reading without changing the meter’s orientation if you can, because the Earth’s magnetic field and nearby steel can shift a Hall sensor’s zero. These steps are not in most quick-start cards, and they are the difference between a reading you can trust and a reading that is two amps out.
Where a DC clamp meter stops being the right instrument
A clamp meter measures current, not voltage, and not insulation quality. If the question is whether a DC circuit is live, a clamp meter is the wrong tool: it reads current only when current is flowing, so a live but open circuit reads zero. Use a voltage tester rated for the system voltage. If the question is whether a DC insulation system is sound, a clamp meter does not answer it; an insulation tester does.
For very small DC currents, below a few hundred milliamps, the offset and resolution of a Hall clamp make it a poor choice. A series multimeter on its current range, or a dedicated current shunt, will be better, provided the burden voltage and the circuit’s tolerance for it are acceptable. For high-voltage DC systems, the safety category of the meter matters as much as its range. The UT219PV states CAT IV 600 V; the Megger states 2000 V DC as a measurement range, but the listing bullets do not publish a safety category for it. A range is not a rating. Where the listing is silent on the category, the buyer should not assume one.
Finally, a clamp meter is not an alarm and not a data logger. It tells you the current at the moment you look at it. If you need to catch an intermittent DC load, you need a meter with a min/max or inrush function, and the listing must say so.
A comparison of what the listings state about DC current
The table below uses only the supplied listing bullets. Where a cell says Not stated, the listing does not publish that figure, and no inference should be drawn from its absence.
| Product | Current type stated | Current range stated | DC voltage range stated | Safety category stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UNI-T UT219PV | AC/DC | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets | CAT IV 600 V |
| FLIR CM276 | 600 A stated; AC/DC not stated in the listing bullets | 600 A | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Megger DCM1500S | AC/DC | 1500 A AC/DC | 2000 V DC | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| EX655 | AC/DC | 600 A AC/DC | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets |
The table makes the central point: DC capability is stated by some listings and not by others, and a missing statement is not a yes. It also shows how uneven listings are. The Megger publishes a DC voltage range of 2000 V, which is a high figure and relevant to solar strings; the others do not publish a DC voltage range in the supplied bullets. None of the supplied bullets publishes a DC current accuracy figure, which is the number that would tell you how much to trust a 40 A reading.
The short answer, and the one check that settles it
A clamp meter works on DC only when its jaw contains a Hall effect or fluxgate sensor, and the listing says AC/DC current. A transformer jaw reads zero on steady DC, no matter how large the current. Before you buy, read the current specification line, not the model name and not the jaw size. If the line says AC only, or does not say, plan on an AC instrument. If it says AC/DC, the meter can measure DC current, and the accuracy of that measurement depends on zeroing it, centring the conductor, and keeping it away from stray fields. For the related question of when a clamp meter is the wrong instrument altogether, see multimeter versus clamp meter and what a digital clamp multimeter is.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will an AC clamp meter read anything at all on a DC cable?
It will read zero, or a small fluctuating number near zero, because a transformer jaw responds only to a changing magnetic field. A steady direct current produces a steady field and induces no voltage in the jaw coil. The meter is not broken; it is the wrong mechanism.
How can I tell from the listing whether a clamp meter measures DC current?
Look for the words AC/DC current, or DC current, or a DC current range in the specification text. True RMS is not a DC indicator. If the listing says only AC, or says nothing about current type, treat it as AC-only. A model name containing DC is not sufficient evidence on its own.
Why does my DC clamp meter show a small current with nothing in the jaw?
Hall effect sensors have an offset and drift with temperature. Use the DC zero function with the jaw empty and closed, in the orientation you will use for the measurement, after the meter has settled to ambient temperature. Nearby magnetic fields and steel can also shift the zero.
Can I measure DC current with a clamp meter around a two-core cable?
No. The fields from the two conductors cancel, so the meter reads zero or the small difference between them. Clamp around one conductor only. This is the most common reason a DC clamp meter appears to read nothing when current is definitely flowing.
Is a DC clamp meter safe for high-voltage DC systems such as solar strings?
Only if its safety category and voltage rating cover the system. A measurement range is not a safety rating. The UT219PV states CAT IV 600 V; the Megger states a 2000 V DC range but the supplied bullets do not publish a safety category. Where the category is not stated, do not assume one.
What is the difference between a Hall effect clamp and a fluxgate clamp?
Both respond to a static magnetic field and so can measure DC. A Hall element is simpler and cheaper but has more offset and drift. A fluxgate sensor is more stable and accurate but more expensive. The listing will rarely name the sensor type; the practical test is whether the meter has a DC zero function and publishes a separate DC accuracy figure.