Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products
Review

Elitech RC-4HPro Temperature and Humidity Data Logger Review

The RC-4HPro is a reusable logger with a calibration certificate, a 64,000 point memory and a built-in buzzer. Before any of that matters, one number in the listing decides whether it can go where your work goes. This review leads on that number and is honest about the gaps in the published data.

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Elitech RC-4HPro Temperature and Humidity Data Logger Review

Elitech · Elitech Temperature Humidity Data Logger, Reusable Recorder with Built-in Buzzer, -40~85°C, 64000 Points, Auto PDF/CSV Reports, Win/Mac Software, Calibration Certificate for Audit Compliance RC-4HPro

View on Amazon

Price and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.

The Elitech RC-4HPro is the right logger for a job only if the temperatures you need to record fall inside its published -40 to 85 degrees C span and its stated accuracy of plus or minus 0.5 degrees C is tight enough for your audit. Its 64,000 point memory, shadow data function and auto-generated PDF and CSV reports make it a practical choice for cold chain and warehouse work where a certificate has to travel with the file. The listing does not publish a humidity accuracy figure beyond the 0 to 100 percent RH range, so if humidity is the measurement you are auditing, ask the supplier for that number before you buy.

The Range Figure That Decides the Job

Every logger in this class is sold on memory, software and alarms. Those are secondary. The first question is whether the instrument can physically survive and record where you plan to put it. The RC-4HPro listing states a temperature range of -40 to 85 degrees C, which is the same as -40 to 185 degrees F, and a humidity range of 0 to 100 percent RH. That temperature span covers most refrigerated trucks, cold rooms, warehouses and ambient storage. It does not cover blast freezing at lower temperatures, and it does not cover process steps above 85 degrees C such as some cook-chill or sterilisation cycles.

Accuracy is stated as plus or minus 0.5 degrees C, or plus or minus 0.9 degrees F. That is the figure an auditor will compare against your tolerance. If your procedure allows a two degree C band, a sensor that can be half a degree out still leaves margin. If your procedure allows half a degree, this logger consumes the whole budget on its own error and you need a tighter instrument. The listing does not publish a humidity accuracy figure, only the range. That is a real gap for anyone monitoring humidity against a specification, and it is the first thing to request from the supplier.

The calibration certificate included with each unit is described as built-in and audit-ready. A certificate is only useful if you can read it. The site has a guide to reading a calibration certificate that explains what the stated points and uncertainties mean, and it is worth applying that reading to the certificate that ships with this unit before you rely on it in an audit.

What 64,000 Points Buys You in Practice

Memory is usually described as a number without context. The useful question is how long 64,000 readings last at your recording interval. The arithmetic is simple: divide 64,000 by the number of readings per day. At one reading every ten minutes, that is 144 readings a day, so the logger holds about 444 days of data. At one reading per minute, it is 1,440 a day, or about 44 days. At one reading every five minutes, it is 288 a day, or about 222 days. Those figures are derived from the stated 64,000 point capacity and the interval you choose; the listing does not publish a fixed interval, so the interval is yours to set in the software.

For cold chain work, the interval is often set by the customer or the audit standard rather than by the logger. A shipment that lasts three days at one reading per minute uses only about 4,320 points, well within capacity. A warehouse monitoring point left for a year at ten minute intervals uses about 52,560 points, which fits but leaves little headroom. The site’s guide to how often environmental sensors should record data is a useful starting point for setting that interval deliberately rather than by default.

The shadow data function is the other half of the memory story. The listing states it captures pre- and post-recording data so that critical events are not missed. In plain terms, the logger keeps a buffer before you press start and after you stop, which means a temperature excursion that happens while the unit is being handled, moved or waiting to be started can still appear in the file. That matters in logistics, where the gap between packing and recording is exactly when a problem is likely.

Alarms, Reports and the Buzzer’s Real Job

The built-in buzzer is an alarm, and it is worth being precise about what an alarm on a logger does. It makes a noise at the instrument. It does not call anyone, send a message or update a dashboard. If the logger is inside a closed refrigerated truck or a locked cold room, the buzzer is heard by nobody until someone opens the door. Treat it as a local prompt for a person who is present, not as a remote monitoring system. The listing does not publish alarm thresholds, alarm delay settings or whether the buzzer can be disabled, so those details need confirming with the supplier if they matter to your procedure.

The auto PDF and CSV report generation is the feature that saves the most time in an audit workflow. A PDF is the human-readable record that travels with a shipment or sits in a compliance file. A CSV is the data file you can open in a spreadsheet for your own analysis. Having both generated by the software, on Windows or macOS, removes the manual export step where files get renamed and lost. The listing states compatibility with both operating systems but does not publish which versions, so check that against the machines you actually use.

The Type-C connection is a small point with a practical consequence: the cable is the same type used by most current phones and laptops, so a replacement is easy to find. The listing describes the unit as reusable with easy battery replacement, but it does not publish the battery type or the battery life. Those are the two figures to ask for if the logger will be deployed for long periods, because a battery change mid-recordment is a gap in the data unless the shadow function covers it.

Where the RC-4HPro Stops Being the Right Instrument

This is a single-channel temperature and humidity logger with a local display-free design and a local buzzer. It is the right answer when you need a self-contained record that can be downloaded and filed. It is the wrong answer in three situations.

  • You need to know now, from somewhere else. There is no wireless or network connectivity in the listing. If you need a reading in an office while the logger sits in a freezer, this is not that product. The site covers wireless temperature sensors for freezers for that job.
  • You need humidity accuracy stated. The listing gives a humidity range but no accuracy figure. If your audit is on humidity rather than temperature, that gap is disqualifying until the supplier fills it.
  • You need multiple channels or external probes. The listing describes a single unit with built-in sensing. If you need to compare several points in one chamber, a multi-channel logger is the correct class of instrument.

It is also not a substitute for a calibrated reference thermometer in a dispute. The certificate supports the logger’s own readings; it does not make the logger a laboratory standard. For a broader view of the class, the site’s guide to temperature and humidity data loggers for cold storage sets this product alongside others in the same role.

Who the RC-4HPro Is For

Buy the Elitech RC-4HPro if your recorded temperatures sit inside -40 to 85 degrees C, your tolerance is wider than plus or minus 0.5 degrees C, and you need a reusable logger that produces a PDF and a CSV with a calibration certificate attached. Do not buy it if you need humidity accuracy stated in the listing, remote alerts, multiple channels or operation below -40 degrees C. The listing does not publish humidity accuracy, battery type or battery life, so confirm those with the supplier before a long deployment.

Elitech Temperature Humidity Data Logger, Reusable Recorder with Built-in Buzzer, -40~85°C, 64000 Points, Auto PDF/CSV Reports, Win/Mac Software, Calibration Certificate for Audit Compliance RC-4HPro

Elitech Temperature Humidity Data Logger, Reusable Recorder with Built-in Buzzer,

View on Amazon
Decibel Meter, Goldeep Sound Level Meter, Portable SPL Tester-Bright Orange

Decibel Meter, Goldeep Sound Level Meter, Portable SPL Tester-Bright Orange

View on Amazon
CRY2831 IEC 61672-1:2013 Sound Level Meter Class 2, Factory Calibrated | Calibration Certificate Included, 29-138dB, ±1.5dB Accuracy, A/C/Z Weighting, 20Hz-12.5kHz, Industrial Noise Measurement

CRY2831 IEC 61672-1:2013 Sound Level Meter Class 2, Factory Calibrated

View on Amazon
Hot Wire Anemometer AM-286, CFM/CMM HVAC Airflow Meter, Telescopic Probe | 0-30 m/s Air Velocity, CFM/CMM Air Volume, Temperature; Bendable Probe, MAX/MIN/AVG, Data Hold & USB PC Software

Hot Wire Anemometer AM-286, CFM/CMM HVAC Airflow Meter, Telescopic Probe

View on Amazon

Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the RC-4HPro measure humidity as well as temperature?

Yes, the listing states a humidity range of 0 to 100 percent RH alongside the temperature range. It does not publish a humidity accuracy figure, so the precision of the humidity reading is not stated in the listing bullets. If humidity is the measurement you are auditing, ask the supplier for that number before you buy.

Can the buzzer alert me remotely?

No. The listing describes a built-in buzzer, which is a local audible alarm at the instrument. There is no wireless or network connectivity in the listing, so it cannot send a message or update a remote system. It alerts someone who is near the logger.

How long will 64,000 readings last?

It depends on the interval you set. Divide 64,000 by the readings per day. At one reading per minute that is about 44 days; at one every five minutes about 222 days; at one every ten minutes about 444 days. The listing does not fix an interval, so the choice is yours in the software.

Is the included calibration certificate enough for an audit?

The listing states each unit includes a built-in calibration certificate for audit-ready data. Whether it satisfies your auditor depends on the points, uncertainty and traceability recorded on it. Read it against your procedure, using the site's guide to reading a calibration certificate, before relying on it.

What battery does it use, and how long does it last?

Not stated in the listing bullets. The listing describes easy battery replacement and a reusable design, but does not publish the battery type or the battery life. Ask the supplier if the logger will be deployed for long periods, because a battery change mid-recordment is a gap in the record.

Can it record below -40 degrees C?

No. The listing states a temperature range of -40 to 85 degrees C. Operation below -40 degrees C is outside the published range, so this logger is not the right instrument for blast freezing or other sub -40 processes.

Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.