As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Fluke · Fluke 393FC Clamp Meter with Irradiance Meter and Solar Test Lead Kit, CAT III 1500 V Rated, Measure Solar Irradiance, Ambient and PV Module Temperature, with MC4 Test Leads
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
The Fluke 393FC is the right instrument when you need to clamp a live PV string at system voltage up to 1500 V dc and also record irradiance and module temperature in the same visit. Its CAT III 1500 V rating is the deciding specification: it tells you the clamp is designed and rated for measurement on the PV array itself, not just on the inverter output or a low-voltage bench. If your work stays below that voltage and you do not need irradiance or temperature, a simpler clamp meter will do the same electrical job for less. If you need to characterise a module’s I-V curve, this is not a curve tracer.
What the CAT III 1500 V rating actually permits
CAT III 1500 V is not a marketing badge. It is a measurement category and voltage rating that states the transient overvoltage the instrument is designed to withstand when connected to a distribution circuit. On a solar array, the dc side can sit at open-circuit voltage close to 1500 V on a large string, and that voltage is present whenever the array is illuminated. A meter rated only for CAT III 600 V or CAT II 1000 V is not the correct instrument to clamp those conductors, even if its display would show a number.
The listing states the 393FC is CAT III 1500 V rated. That is the sentence to read first. It means the clamp, its jaw insulation and its internal clearance are specified for work on the PV array at that category and voltage. The supplied MC4 test leads are separately rated to CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V, which is lower than the clamp’s own rating. Read that carefully: the clamp is rated to 1500 V CAT III, but the lead set that comes with the kit carries its own lower rating. The listing does not state a combined system rating for clamp plus leads, so do not assume the kit as a whole is 1500 V CAT III. For voltage measurements through the leads, the lead rating is the limit.
This is the specification that decides whether the instrument suits a job at all. A technician working on a 1000 V dc commercial array is inside the lead rating and well inside the clamp rating. A technician asked to clamp a 1500 V dc string is inside the clamp rating but should check the lead rating before using the MC4 leads for a voltage measurement. The listing does not publish a derating or combined rating, so the safe reading is that the clamp itself is the 1500 V CAT III part and the leads are rated separately.
The thin jaw and dc power measurement in a combiner box
The listing describes a thin jaw for access to cables in crowded combiner boxes. That is a physical constraint, not a convenience. In a combiner box, string positives and negatives land close together on DIN rail terminals, and a bulky jaw cannot close around one conductor without touching another. A thin jaw lets you clamp a single string conductor while the adjacent terminals remain clear. The listing does not publish the jaw dimensions, so the exact clearance is not stated. What it does publish is the intent: the jaw is shaped for dense enclosures.
The 393FC also measures dc power. The listing states dc power measurement, audio polarity and visual continuity. In practice, dc power measurement means the clamp can display watts directly from a dc circuit rather than making you multiply volts by amps on paper. That matters when you are checking whether a string is producing the power its irradiance would predict. The listing does not publish the dc power range or accuracy, so those figures are not stated. Audio polarity and visual continuity help with checking string polarity and fuse paths without carrying a second meter.
One honest limitation: a clamp meter measures current by the magnetic field around a conductor. It is not a curve tracer. It will tell you the operating current at that moment, not the shape of the I-V curve or the fill factor. If module characterisation is the job, a dedicated I-V curve tracer is the correct instrument.
Irradiance, temperature, orientation and tilt in the same visit
The listing states the 393FC measures solar irradiance, ambient and PV module temperature, array orientation and tilt angles. These are the environmental inputs that let you judge whether a string’s current is reasonable. A current reading alone tells you little on a cloudy day; the same current under high irradiance and cool module temperature is a different result. Having irradiance and module temperature on the same instrument means you can record the electrical and environmental numbers in one pass rather than carrying a separate irradiance meter and thermometer.
The listing does not publish the irradiance range, resolution or accuracy, nor the temperature range or the tilt and orientation method. Those figures are not stated in the listing bullets. If you need a calibrated irradiance reading for a performance ratio calculation, check the published irradiance specification before relying on the number. The kit includes an irradiance meter function, but the listing does not state whether it is a reference-cell type or a simpler sensor. That distinction matters for formal performance testing, and the listing does not resolve it.
For orientation and tilt, the listing states the instrument measures array orientation and tilt angles. It does not state the method, so do not assume a particular sensor technology. Treat those readings as an aid to documenting an array, not as a substitute for a survey-grade instrument.
Where the kit stops being the right answer
The 393FC is a solar clamp meter with an irradiance function and MC4 leads. It is not a full PV commissioning toolkit. It does not perform an insulation resistance test, an earth continuity test or a polarity-to-earth check at the array level. Those are separate tests with separate instruments. If your commissioning procedure requires insulation resistance at 1000 V, this clamp meter does not replace the insulation tester.
It is also not a curve tracer and not a data logger with published logging intervals. The listing does not state memory, logging or Bluetooth capability, so do not assume the readings can be exported. If you need to log string current over a day, that is a different instrument category.
The lead set rating is the second boundary. The MC4 test leads are rated CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V. If your procedure calls for a 1500 V CAT III lead set, the supplied leads do not meet that, and the listing does not state that any other lead set is included. The clamp itself is rated CAT III 1500 V, so the limitation is in the leads, not the clamp.
Who the 393FC suits, and who should look at a simpler clamp
This kit suits a technician who regularly opens combiner boxes on commercial or utility-scale PV, needs to clamp dc string current at array voltage, and wants irradiance and module temperature in the same instrument. The CAT III 1500 V clamp rating and the thin jaw are the two specifications that make that work practical. The MC4 leads let you connect to module and string connectors with 4 mm banana plugs, which the listing states are designed for solar clamp meters accepting 4 mm banana plugs.
If you work only on the ac side of a residential inverter, or on 12 V and 24 V battery systems, the 1500 V rating buys you nothing and a lower-rated clamp meter will do the same electrical job. If you already own a separate irradiance meter and a temperature probe, the added functions duplicate what you carry. If your work is module-level diagnostics, a dedicated I-V curve tracer is the right purchase. The 393FC is a clamp meter first; the solar functions are there to support the clamp reading, not to replace a commissioning toolkit.
For a broader view of how clamp meters are rated for PV work, see the guide to CAT II, CAT III and CAT IV ratings. If you are comparing clamp meters that measure dc power, the dc power clamp meter comparison sets out the alternatives. And if irradiance measurement is the main job rather than the secondary one, the solar irradiance meter guide covers instruments built around that function.
The rating that decides it
The Fluke 393FC is the correct instrument when the job requires clamping live PV conductors at up to 1500 V dc under CAT III, and when irradiance and module temperature readings in the same visit save a second trip. The CAT III 1500 V clamp rating is the specification that decides suitability; the thin jaw makes it usable in crowded combiner boxes. Two limits are stated plainly: the supplied MC4 leads are rated CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V, lower than the clamp, and the listing does not publish irradiance accuracy, temperature range, logging or memory. If your work stays below the lead rating and you do not need the environmental functions, a simpler clamp meter does the same electrical job. If the job is I-V curve tracing or insulation testing, this is not that instrument.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the whole kit rated CAT III 1500 V, or just the clamp?
The listing states the clamp meter is CAT III 1500 V rated. The MC4 test lead sets are separately stated as rated to CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V. The listing does not publish a combined rating for clamp plus leads, so the safe reading is that the clamp carries the 1500 V CAT III rating and the leads carry their own lower rating.
Does the 393FC measure irradiance accurately enough for a performance ratio calculation?
The listing states the instrument measures solar irradiance but does not publish the irradiance range, resolution or accuracy. Those figures are not stated in the listing bullets. Without a published accuracy figure, it is not possible to say from the listing whether the reading meets the uncertainty budget a formal performance ratio calculation requires. Check the manufacturer's published irradiance specification before relying on it for that purpose.
Can I use the MC4 leads on a 1500 V string?
The listing rates the MC4 test leads to CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V. That is below 1500 V. The clamp itself is CAT III 1500 V rated, but the leads are not. For voltage measurements through the leads on a 1500 V string, the lead rating is the limit. The listing does not state that a higher-rated lead set is included.
Does it log or export readings?
The listing does not state memory, logging, Bluetooth or export capability. Do not assume readings can be stored or transferred. If logging is required, that is a separate instrument decision.
Is this a replacement for an I-V curve tracer?
No. The 393FC is a clamp meter with an irradiance function. It measures operating current at a moment in time; it does not sweep the I-V curve or report fill factor. Module characterisation requires a dedicated curve tracer.
What does the thin jaw actually help with?
The listing states the thin jaw is for access to cables in crowded combiner boxes. In practice it lets you close the jaw around a single string conductor where adjacent terminals are close together. The listing does not publish the jaw dimensions, so the exact clearance is not stated.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





