As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Fluke · Fluke 87V Max True-RMS Digital Multimeter with Solar Test Lead Kit, CAT III 1000v Rated Multimeter, Waterproof and Dustproof IP67 Case, and MC4 Test Leads and Holster
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
The Fluke MC4 is a Fluke 87V Max meter bundled with MC4 test leads, a holster and an IP67 case. The listing states the meter is rated CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V, survives drops up to 4 metres, and that the MC4 lead set is rated to the same CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V and is designed for meters accepting 4 mm banana plugs. The meter is the durable part. The MC4 leads are the part that will wear, and the listing does not publish their length, contact material, current rating or replacement part number, so budget for replacing the leads before you budget for replacing the meter.
The meter is the durable half; the MC4 leads are the consumable
A solar test kit is two products in one box. The meter is a sealed instrument with a case, a holster and a stated drop rating. The MC4 lead set is a pair of cables with connectors on one end and 4 mm banana plugs on the other. The meter is built to survive a working life. The leads are built to be pushed onto and pulled off MC4 connectors, coiled, stuffed into a bag and used again.
The listing treats the leads as an accessory: MC4 test lead sets are designed for use with meters that accept 4mm banana plugs, rated to CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V. That is the safety rating, not a durability rating. The listing does not publish the lead length, the conductor size, the contact material in the MC4 end, the maximum current the leads are rated to carry, or a replacement part number. Those are the numbers that decide how long the leads last and what it costs to keep the kit working. Because they are not published, the honest position is that the leads are the item to inspect and replace on a schedule you set yourself, not one the listing gives you.
This matters because a failed lead does not announce itself. A worn MC4 contact adds resistance in series with the array. On a voltage measurement the meter draws almost no current, so a high-resistance contact can still read a plausible open-circuit voltage. The fault appears when you try to draw current through the lead, or when the contact becomes intermittent and the reading jumps. Treat the leads as a wear item and the meter as the fixed asset.
What CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V mean on a PV array
The listing rates both the meter and the MC4 lead set to CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V. The category rating describes the transient environment the instrument is built to survive, not the steady voltage you expect to measure. CAT III covers distribution-level circuits and equipment fed from a distribution panel. CAT IV covers the origin of the installation, the service entrance and the outdoor feed. A rooftop PV array sits in a place where switching surges and lightning-induced transients are plausible, which is why the CAT IV 600 V figure is the one to read for array-side work.
The important point is that the rating applies to the complete measurement path. A CAT IV meter with a lead that is not rated for the same environment does not give you a CAT IV measurement. The listing states the lead set carries the same CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V rating, which is the reason the kit is sold as a kit rather than as a meter with generic probes. If you replace the leads, replace them with leads that carry the same rating. A cheaper lead set with a lower category rating silently downgrades the whole instrument. For background on how the categories are defined, see how to understand CAT II, CAT III and CAT IV meter ratings.
The listing does not publish the transient test the meter was subjected to, the peak voltage or the source impedance used. It states the category rating only. That is normal for a product listing, but it means the rating is a claim to be matched against the work you do, not a measurement you can verify from the box.
The 4 metre drop rating and the IP67 case: where the money goes
The listing states the meter withstands drops up to 4-meters (13 feet) with industrial strength casing and holster and has a waterproof, dustproof IP67 case. These two claims are the reason this meter costs more than a bench multimeter with the same basic functions. IP67 means dust-tight and able to survive temporary immersion in water at a stated depth and duration. The listing gives the code but not the depth or the duration, so the number to hold onto is the code itself, not an assumed depth.
On a roof or at a ground-mount array, the failure modes are drops, dust and rain. A meter that survives a 4 metre drop onto a hard surface is a meter you can carry up a ladder without a case. The IP67 case adds a second layer: the meter can be left in the open while you work, and a shower does not end the day. The listing does not state whether the IP67 rating applies to the meter alone or to the meter in its holster, and it does not publish an operating temperature range. If you work in extreme heat or cold, that gap matters and you should ask the supplier before relying on the meter at the edges of the day.
The drop rating and the case are the parts of the kit that do not wear out in normal use. The leads are the opposite. That asymmetry is the purchasing argument for this kit: you are buying a meter you expect to keep and leads you expect to replace.
MC4 leads on a 4 mm banana meter: the interface that decides compatibility
The listing says the MC4 lead sets are designed for use with meters that accept 4mm banana plugs. That is the compatibility statement, and it is the one to check before buying any lead set separately. The 4 mm banana plug is the standard shrouded connector on handheld multimeters, and the meter end of the lead is what makes the kit work with the 87V Max. The MC4 end is the connector used on modern PV modules and array wiring.
A dedicated MC4 lead set removes the need for a separate adapter, which is one fewer connection to come loose. The listing does not state whether the MC4 end is a male or female connector, whether the set includes one of each, or whether the connectors are the locking type with a release tool. Those details decide whether the leads mate with the array you are testing. If you are buying this kit to test a specific array, confirm the connector sex and locking type with the supplier. For a wider look at lead sets in this category, see solar testers with MC4 leads.
The listing also does not publish the lead length. Long leads add resistance and make voltage drop more likely on current measurements, but they also let you stand away from the array while testing. Without a published length, treat the leads as suitable for close work and check before relying on them for a long reach.
What the listing does not publish about the leads, and how to plan around it
The listing is detailed about the meter and thin about the leads. It does not publish:
- lead length
- conductor cross-section or current rating
- contact material or plating in the MC4 end
- whether the set includes male and female connectors
- a replacement part number or a separate lead-set SKU
- the operating temperature range of either the meter or the leads
Each gap has a practical consequence. Without a current rating, you cannot know whether the leads are suitable for any measurement that draws current, as opposed to voltage and continuity. Without a contact material, you cannot judge corrosion resistance in coastal or humid sites. Without a replacement part number, you cannot pre-order a spare set before the old one fails. None of these gaps makes the kit a bad buy. They make it a kit you should plan to maintain rather than a kit you can forget about.
The meter itself is the part the listing describes in enough detail to compare. If you want the meter-only view, the same instrument is covered in the Fluke 87V Max review. The kit adds the MC4 leads, the holster and the IP67 case. The case and holster are durable. The leads are the maintenance line item.
Where this kit stops being the right instrument
A multimeter with MC4 leads measures voltage, continuity and resistance. It does not measure current through an MC4 connector without a separate current clamp or a shunt, and the listing does not state a current rating for the leads. It does not perform an I-V curve trace, and it does not measure irradiance. If your work is commissioning an array and comparing measured output against expected output, you need an I-V curve tracer and an irradiance meter, not a multimeter. The site covers those separately, including solar I-V curve tracers.
The kit is also not a substitute for a dedicated PV tester that logs and exports results. It is a handheld meter with a lead set. That is the right tool for fault-finding, for checking open-circuit voltage, for continuity on a string and for verifying that a disconnect has actually isolated a circuit. It is the wrong tool for performance testing, for long-term monitoring and for anything that requires a recorded measurement over time.
Finally, the kit is a measurement tool, not a safety device. It does not alarm, it does not detect arc faults and it does not replace lockout and tagout. The CAT IV rating describes what the meter can survive, not what you can safely do without isolating the array.
The meter you keep and the leads you replace
The Fluke MC4 is a durable meter sold with a lead set that will wear out. The listing gives a clear CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V rating for both the meter and the MC4 leads, a 4 metre drop rating and an IP67 case, and it is silent on lead length, current rating, contact material and replacement part number. Buy it for the meter and the safety rating, and treat the leads as a consumable to be inspected and replaced. If you need current measurement, irradiance or I-V tracing, this kit is one tool in a larger set, not the whole set.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are the MC4 leads included in the CAT IV rating?
The listing states the MC4 test lead sets are rated to CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V, the same as the meter. The rating applies to the complete measurement path, so the lead set matters as much as the meter. The listing does not publish the transient test behind the rating.
How long are the MC4 test leads?
The listing does not publish the lead length. Length affects reach and, on current measurements, resistance. Without a stated length, treat the leads as suitable for close work and confirm with the supplier if you need a long reach.
Can I measure current through the MC4 leads?
The listing does not publish a current rating for the lead set. It states the leads are designed for meters that accept 4 mm banana plugs and are rated for the CAT III 1000 V / CAT IV 600 V environment. Without a published current rating, do not assume the leads are suitable for current measurement. Use a clamp meter or a shunt rated for the current involved.
What does IP67 mean on this meter?
IP67 means the case is dust-tight and protected against temporary immersion in water. The listing gives the code but does not publish the depth or duration of the immersion test. The drop rating is stated as 4 metres (13 feet) with the industrial casing and holster.
Does the kit include a replacement lead set or a part number?
The listing does not publish a replacement part number or a separate lead-set SKU. Because the leads are the wear item, ask the supplier for the replacement part number before you need it.
Is this kit enough to commission a solar array?
No. It measures voltage, continuity and resistance. It does not measure irradiance, perform an I-V curve trace or log results over time. Commissioning typically needs an irradiance meter and an I-V curve tracer in addition to a multimeter.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





