Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products
Review

HiLetgo LCR-T4 Component Tester Review: The First Hour

The LCR-T4 is a bare-board component tester that identifies parts and reads a few key parameters. The listing promises automatic detection and a 1.7-second short detection time. This review walks through what a realistic first hour looks like, including the readings you should trust and the ones the listing does not quantify.

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

HiLetgo LCR-T4 Component Tester Review: The First Hour

HiLetgo · HiLetgo LCR-T4 Multifunctional Resistor Capacitor Diode SCR Inductor Triode MOSFET Tube Meter Tester Component Tester kit 9V with 128 * 64 Green Backlight LCD Display

View on Amazon

Price and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.

The HiLetgo LCR-T4 is a low-cost automatic component identifier for transistors, MOSFETs, diodes, resistors and capacitors. The listing states a 128×64 LCD, a 1.7-second short detection time, 9V battery or DC 6.8-12V power, and automatic shutdown. It is the right first tool for sorting a mixed bag of salvaged parts or checking a transistor before soldering it in. It is not a bench LCR meter and the listing publishes no accuracy figures, no test frequencies and no measurement ranges, so treat its numbers as indicative rather than calibrated. If you need documented accuracy for production or safety work, see our guide to best LCR meters.

Unboxing to first reading: what the 1.7-second figure actually covers

The listing’s most concrete performance claim is a short detection time of 1.7 seconds. That figure refers to how quickly the tester identifies a component and shows a result, not to how long every measurement takes. The same bullet adds that bulk capacitor detection can normally take about 1 minute. That is the honest part of the listing and it matters: a large electrolytic has to charge and settle before the tester can report capacitance, so the display will sit there while the part charges. Do not assume the tester has frozen.

The first hour with the LCR-T4 is mostly about learning which parts it identifies confidently and which ones make it guess. The listing says it automatically detects NPN and PNP transistors, N-channel and P-channel MOSFETs, diodes, triodes, resistors, capacitors or other devices. In practice you connect a part to the test terminals, press the button, and read the display. The 128×64 green backlight LCD shows measured data and graphics. For a transistor the listing says it measures the current amplification factor and the base-emitter threshold voltage. For a MOSFET it measures gate threshold voltage and gate capacitance. Those are the parameters a quick go/no-go check needs.

What the listing does not publish is just as important as what it does. There is no accuracy specification, no measurement range for any category, and no test frequency for capacitance or inductance. A reading of 47 microfarads on the screen is a number the tester produced, but the listing gives you no stated tolerance to judge how close that number is to the true value. For sorting parts into bins that is acceptable. For documenting a design or proving a repair, it is not.

Power, shutdown and the 9V battery question

The listing says the tester uses a 9V battery, not included, and can also run from DC power between 6.8 and 12 volts. It also states automatic shutdown with a shutdown current of about 20 nanoamps. That last figure is a standby current, not an operating current, and the listing does not publish how much current the tester draws while the backlight is on. So you cannot calculate battery life from the published data. What you can say is that the automatic shutdown is there to protect the battery when you forget to switch off, and 20 nanoamps is small enough that a healthy 9V battery should not be flattened by standby alone.

For a first hour, decide power before you start. A 9V battery is the simplest route and keeps the tester portable. DC power is useful if you plan to leave it on a bench, but the listing does not include a mains adapter, so you supply your own within the stated 6.8 to 12 volt window. Do not exceed 12 volts; the listing gives that as the upper limit. The tester is a bare board in most photos of this class of product, so treat it as a bench instrument rather than something to throw in a tool bag without protection. The listing does not describe an enclosure.

Reading a transistor and a MOSFET on the green screen

For a bipolar transistor the listing says the tester measures current amplification factor and base-emitter threshold voltage. The amplification factor, often written hFE, tells you how much collector current the transistor can control for a given base current. A very low reading on a part you expected to be healthy is a reason to set it aside. The base-emitter threshold voltage tells you the forward drop across that junction, which is a basic health indicator. The listing does not publish the test currents used for either measurement, so you cannot compare the hFE figure directly with a datasheet value measured under different conditions. Use it to compare one part against another of the same type, not against a datasheet.

For a MOSFET the listing says the tester measures gate threshold voltage and gate capacitance. Gate threshold voltage is the gate-source voltage at which the device begins to conduct. Gate capacitance is the charge storage at the gate, and it matters because a high-capacitance gate needs a driver that can supply enough current to switch it quickly. The listing does not state the test voltage or frequency for the capacitance reading. Again, the number is useful for matching parts and spotting a dead device, not for design sign-off.

The listing also mentions diodes, triodes, resistors, capacitors and other devices, and SCRs and inductors appear in the product title. The bullets do not give separate accuracy or range figures for those categories. If your work is mostly inductance, our best LCR meters comparison covers instruments that publish test frequencies and accuracy.

The parts you should not expect it to identify

The listing’s automatic detection list is specific: NPN and PNP transistors, N-channel and P-channel MOSFETs, diodes, triodes, resistors, capacitors or other devices. The phrase other devices is doing a lot of work and the listing does not define it. It does not promise in-circuit testing, and it does not promise to test a component while it is soldered into a board. A component tester of this type normally expects the part to be isolated, because surrounding circuitry changes the reading. The listing does not state this either way, so the safe practice is to desolder or lift one leg before trusting a reading.

The listing also does not publish a maximum voltage or current for the test terminals. That means you should not connect a charged capacitor or a live circuit. Discharge capacitors before testing. The 1-minute bulk capacitor note is a clue that the tester charges the capacitor itself; a capacitor that arrives charged can confuse the reading or stress the tester. None of this is stated in the listing bullets, so treat it as general practice for this class of instrument rather than a published specification.

Where the LCR-T4 stops being the right answer is any job that needs a documented number. If you are fault-finding on a live installation, a electrical tester with a published CAT rating is the correct instrument, not a bare-board component tester. The LCR-T4 has no published safety rating and should not be used on energized equipment.

What the listing does not publish, and why each gap matters

Several gaps recur. There is no accuracy figure for any measurement. There is no stated measurement range for resistance, capacitance or inductance. There is no test frequency for the capacitance and inductance readings. There is no operating current for the backlight-on state, so battery life is unknown. There is no enclosure or ingress rating described. There is no calibration statement. Each gap has a practical consequence. Without accuracy you cannot say whether a 100-ohm reading is within one percent or ten percent. Without a range you cannot know whether a large capacitor is out of range or simply slow. Without a test frequency you cannot compare a capacitance reading with a datasheet that specifies at 1 kHz or 100 Hz.

The listing does publish the short detection time of 1.7 seconds and the bulk capacitor time of about 1 minute, which are useful expectations. It publishes the power window of DC 6.8 to 12 volts and the 20 nanoamp shutdown current. It publishes the display size and backlight colour. Those are real, checkable statements. The rest is left to the buyer to infer, and inferring specifications is how people end up trusting a number that was never guaranteed.

Who the LCR-T4 first hour suits, and who it does not

Buy the HiLetgo LCR-T4 if you want a cheap automatic identifier for a drawer of unmarked transistors, MOSFETs, diodes and capacitors, and you are happy to treat the readings as indicative. The 1.7-second detection time and the automatic part recognition make it a fast sorting tool. The 128×64 display shows the parameter names and graphics, which is more informative than a bare number. The 9V or DC 6.8-12V power options and the automatic shutdown suit bench use.

Do not buy it if you need published accuracy, a stated measurement range, a test frequency, or any safety rating. The listing publishes none of those. Do not buy it to work on live circuits. Do not buy it as a substitute for a calibrated LCR meter or a multimeter with documented functions. For those jobs, the LCR-T4 is the wrong instrument and the listing itself gives you no basis to claim otherwise.

HiLetgo LCR-T4 Multifunctional Resistor Capacitor Diode SCR Inductor Triode MOSFET Tube Meter Tester Component Tester kit 9V with 128 * 64 Green Backlight LCD Display

HiLetgo LCR-T4 Multifunctional Resistor Capacitor Diode SCR Inductor Triode MOSFET

View on Amazon
ETCR ETCR8430 3-Phase Power Recorder USB Power Quality Analyzer | 6-Channel Voltage & Current Data Logger, 0.01V-600V, 1mA-400A

ETCR ETCR8430 3-Phase Power Recorder USB Power Quality Analyzer |

View on Amazon
Klein Tools CL910 Digital Clamp Meter, 2000A AC/DC Auto Ranging & Worklight | with TRMS, AC/DC Volt, Current, LoZ, Resistance, Continuity, Frequency, Duty-Cycle, Capacitance, More

Klein Tools CL910 Digital Clamp Meter, 2000A AC/DC Auto Ranging

View on Amazon
2026 Upgraded FS899L Digital Multimeter & 20 pcs Silicone Test Leads Kit, USB-C Rechargeable Color Screen, Auto 6000 Counts True RMS AC/DC Voltage Tester, NCV, CAT.III 1000V

2026 Upgraded FS899L Digital Multimeter & 20 pcs Silicone Test

View on Amazon

Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the HiLetgo LCR-T4 include a 9V battery?

No. The listing states the tester uses a 9V battery, not included, and can also run from DC power between 6.8 and 12 volts. You supply the battery or the DC source.

How accurate is the LCR-T4?

The listing does not publish an accuracy figure for any measurement. It gives a short detection time of 1.7 seconds and notes that bulk capacitor detection can take about 1 minute, but no tolerance, range or test frequency is stated. Treat readings as indicative.

Can it test components while they are soldered into a board?

The listing does not state that it can. A component tester of this type normally expects the part to be isolated, because surrounding circuitry affects the reading. Desolder or lift one leg before trusting a result.

What does the 20nA shutdown current mean for battery life?

It is the standby current after automatic shutdown, not the operating current. The listing does not publish the current draw with the backlight on, so battery life cannot be calculated from the published figures.

Does the LCR-T4 measure inductance?

Inductor appears in the product title, but the bullet list does not give a separate inductance range, accuracy or test frequency. The listing's automatic detection sentence names transistors, MOSFETs, diodes, triodes, resistors, capacitors and other devices without defining the last category.

Is the LCR-T4 safe for use on live electrical circuits?

The listing publishes no safety rating, no maximum terminal voltage and no CAT rating. It should not be connected to energized equipment. Discharge capacitors before testing.

Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.