As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

AEGTEST · AEGTEST HOUND-1011S Portable Radon Detector, High-Accuracy Sensor for Home, Lightweight, Audible & Visual Alarms, Long-Term Monitoring, Easy-to-Use Radon Tester in pCi/L or Bq/m³ for Basement
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
The AEGTEST HOUND-1011S is a portable radon detector that the listing says measures from 0.09 to 1000 pCi/L, gives a first result within 12 hours, updates hourly, and can show radon concentration over windows from the past 12 hours up to 504 days. It is a monitoring device, not a certified laboratory test. The listing does not publish accuracy figures, a calibration statement, or a sensor type beyond “high-precision semiconductor.” Buy it if you want a continuous, room-level indicator of radon trend and are willing to treat the numbers as indicative until you confirm the instrument against a known reference. Do not buy it as a substitute for a certified radon test if you are buying or selling a home or making a mitigation decision.
The range is published, the accuracy is not
The listing gives a measurement range of 0.09 to 1000 pCi/L. That is a wide span, and the bottom end is low enough to register the low radon concentrations common in above-grade rooms. The top end is far above the action levels that matter in a house, so range is not the limitation here.
What the listing does not publish is an accuracy figure. For a radon instrument, accuracy is usually expressed as a percentage of the reading or as a count uncertainty at a given concentration. Without that number, you cannot say whether a displayed 4.0 pCi/L means 4.0 plus or minus 0.5, or 4.0 plus or minus 2. The listing also does not state a calibration interval or whether the unit ships with a calibration certificate. A semiconductor sensor responds to alpha particles from radon decay, but the count rate at domestic concentrations is low, so statistical noise is a real part of any short reading. The listing’s claim of “high-precision” is a marketing phrase, not a specification.
In practice, treat the first 12-hour result as a signal that radon is present, not as a measurement of your annual average. Use the longer windows, up to 504 days, to build a picture. If the long-term figure sits near or above a level you care about, confirm with a certified test before you spend money on mitigation.
What the 12-hour first result and hourly updates mean for a real test
Radon testing guidance generally separates short-term tests, run over a few days under closed-house conditions, from long-term tests run for months. The HOUND-1011S listing says first results appear within 12 hours and update hourly, with viewable windows from the past 12 hours to 504 days. That makes it a continuous monitor rather than a single-use test kit.
The practical consequence is that you can watch a room’s radon trend without sending a canister to a lab. You can see whether a basement reading falls when a window is opened, or rises overnight when the house is closed. But the listing does not state the averaging method behind each window. A 12-hour figure and a 504-day figure are not the same statistic, and without knowing whether the display is a simple mean, a rolling mean, or a decay-corrected value, you should read the shorter windows as trend indicators only.
The listing also does not publish the unit’s response time to a step change in radon concentration, nor its operating temperature and humidity limits. Radon monitors can be affected by humidity, and a basement is a humid place. If you plan to run the unit through a damp season, ask the seller for the environmental operating range before you rely on the numbers.
Battery life, power and the sleep-mode caveat
The listing states a built-in battery lasting up to 45 days in sleep mode, and support for a Type-C cable for continuous monitoring. Those two statements describe different use cases. Continuous monitoring on cable is the mode that produces an uninterrupted record. The 45-day figure applies to sleep mode, which by definition is not continuous measurement.
The listing does not publish the battery life in active monitoring mode, the battery chemistry, or whether the unit keeps logging while charging. If you intend to leave the detector in a basement for months, plan on the Type-C cable as the primary power source and treat the battery as backup. The listing does not state whether data survives a power loss, so do not assume the history is preserved through an outage.
What the listing does say is that testing can be restarted at any time. That is useful if you move the unit between rooms, but it also means a restart may clear the running average. The listing does not explain how restart interacts with the stored history, so note your readings before you reset.
The display, the alarms and the missing alarm thresholds
The title mentions audible and visual alarms. The bullets describe an LCD screen showing data for the past 12H, 24H, 48H, 72H and 96H. What the listing does not publish is the radon concentration at which the alarm triggers, whether the threshold is user-adjustable, or whether the alarm is latching. Those details decide whether the alarm is a useful prompt or a nuisance.
A radon alarm that sounds at a fixed low level will chirp in many basements that are within normal range. A user-adjustable threshold lets you set it to a level you have agreed with a mitigation contractor. The listing is silent on both. Before you buy, ask the seller for the alarm setpoint and whether it can be changed.
The listing also does not state whether the display shows the current hour’s value, a rolling average, or both. On a monitor with hourly updates, that distinction matters: a single hourly value can swing widely, while a rolling average is steadier. The listing’s phrase “hourly updates for real-time accuracy” suggests the display refreshes hourly, but it does not define what is being refreshed.
Where this detector fits, and where a certified test still wins
The HOUND-1011S is a reasonable choice for a homeowner who wants to know whether radon is a live issue in a basement or ground-floor room, and who wants to watch the trend over weeks and months. It is also suited to a rental or a travel bag, given the stated portability and the lanyard and stand in the box. The 504-day window is long enough to cover a seasonal cycle, which is the right timescale for radon because indoor concentrations vary with weather and heating season.
It is not a substitute for a certified radon test. The listing publishes no accuracy figure, no calibration certificate and no statement of conformity with a radon measurement standard. For a real-estate transaction or a mitigation decision, use a certified test, either a lab-analysed canister or a professional continuous monitor with a published calibration. The HOUND-1011S can tell you to go and get that test; it cannot replace it.
If your interest is broader indoor air quality rather than radon specifically, the site’s guide to what radon is and why long-term monitoring is important sets out the timescales. For placement in a basement, see gas detector placement in a basement, which covers the general logic of where to site a detector. And if you are comparing radon against other basement air problems, the basement air quality monitor guide puts radon in context with humidity and particulate matter.
The HOUND-1011S is a trend monitor with an unpublished accuracy
The AEGTEST HOUND-1011S is a portable radon detector with a wide stated range, hourly updates and a long viewing window. The listing is honest about what it measures but silent on accuracy, calibration and alarm thresholds. Buy it to watch a basement’s radon trend and to decide whether a certified test is warranted. Do not buy it as the certified test itself, and do not treat a single 12-hour reading as your annual average.
Recommended Tools

AEGTEST HOUND-1011S Portable Radon Detector, High-Accuracy Sensor for Home, Lightweight,
View on AmazonProducts shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the HOUND-1011S give a result I can use for a real-estate radon test?
No. The listing publishes no accuracy figure, no calibration certificate and no statement that the device meets a radon measurement standard. A real-estate test needs a certified device or a lab-analysed canister. Use the HOUND-1011S to decide whether to order one.
What does "high-precision semiconductor sensor" mean in practice?
It describes the sensing element, not the instrument's accuracy. The listing does not publish an accuracy specification, a detection efficiency or a calibration interval. Treat the phrase as a description of the sensor type, not as a guarantee of measurement quality.
How long should I run it before I trust the number?
The listing says first results appear within 12 hours and update hourly, with windows up to 504 days. Radon varies day to day, so a 12-hour figure is an indicator. Use the 96-hour and longer windows for a steadier picture, and confirm any concerning result with a certified test.
Does the alarm threshold tell me when radon is dangerous?
The listing does not publish the alarm setpoint or whether it is adjustable. Ask the seller before you rely on the alarm. A radon alarm is a prompt to look at the display and the trend, not a safety certification.
What is not in the box?
The listing names the detector, a charging cable, a lanyard and a manual. It does not mention a calibration certificate, a wall-mount bracket beyond the stand, or a carrying case. If you need any of those, confirm with the seller.
Can I leave it in a basement for a year?
The listing states a 504-day viewing window and support for continuous monitoring on a Type-C cable. It does not state the operating temperature and humidity range, or whether data survives a power cut. A basement is a humid environment, so confirm the environmental limits before a long deployment.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.


