As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

CGELE · CGELE DC Multifunction Battery Monitor Meter with Shunt,0-200V,0-100A, LCD Display Digital Current Multimeter Voltmeter Ammeter for Cars RV Solar,Widely Applied to 12V/24V/48V RV/Car Battery…
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
The CGELE is worth considering if you are wiring a fixed shunt into a 12V, 24V or 48V DC system and want one LCD panel to show voltage, current, power, capacity, state of charge, energy and runtime at the same time. It is wrong for you if you need a handheld meter for quick checks, a device that raises an alarm, a data logger, or an instrument for AC circuits. The listing publishes a 1 percent accuracy claim and a 0-200V / 0-100A range; it does not publish a resolution, an operating temperature range, a communications interface or an alarm output.
What the CGELE actually is: a shunt meter, not a handheld multimeter
The name on the listing says multimeter, but the device is a panel-mounted DC monitor built around an external shunt. A shunt is a low-value resistor placed in series with the negative or positive cable of a battery bank. Current flowing through it produces a small voltage drop, and the meter converts that drop into an amperage reading. Everything else on the screen, power, capacity, state of charge, energy and runtime, is calculated from that current reading and the measured voltage.
That architecture explains both what the CGELE does well and where it stops. Because it sits permanently in the circuit, it can integrate current over time and report amp-hours and state of charge. A handheld clamp meter cannot do that; it gives you a snapshot. The trade-off is that the CGELE is not portable in any practical sense. It is a wired installation.
The listing states nine measurement functions on one interface: voltage from 0 to 200V, current from 0 to 100A, power to 60000W, impedance to 1000Ω, internal resistance to 999mΩ, capacity to 1000AH, SOC, energy to 9999kWh and running time to 999h. Those are the manufacturer’s published ranges. The listing does not publish a resolution for any of them, nor a sampling rate.
The 0-200V and 0-100A ceiling, and why the shunt sets the real limit
The voltage range of 0-200V covers 12V, 24V and 48V nominal banks with headroom. That is the easy part. The current range of 0-100A is the figure that decides whether this meter fits your system, and it is the figure buyers most often misread.
One hundred amps is a ceiling for the shunt supplied with the meter, not a suggestion. A 12V inverter pulling 2000W at full load draws roughly 167A before losses, which is beyond the stated range. If your planned load exceeds 100A, this meter is not the right choice, and the listing does not offer a larger shunt option.
The listing also states an impedance range of 0-1000Ω and an internal resistance range of 0-999mΩ. Those are unusual functions on a battery monitor and are worth treating cautiously. The listing does not explain how internal resistance is derived or under what conditions the reading is valid. For a buyer, the practical reading is that these are secondary displays; the voltage, current, power, capacity and SOC figures are the ones the device is built around.
The 1 percent accuracy claim is also a claim, not a published test certificate. The listing states measurement accuracy reaches 1 percent but does not say 1 percent of what, over what temperature range, or with what calibration. Treat it as a manufacturer figure.
The display, the terminals and the installation the listing describes
The listing describes a full-view LCD with 360-degree viewing and a backlight. In practice that means you can read it from an angle and in the dark, which matters if the meter is mounted in a battery compartment, an RV cabinet or a solar equipment enclosure. The listing does not publish the screen size, the character height or the backlight colour.
Installation is described as screwless, with pressing terminals for the wires. That is a real convenience for anyone who has tried to hold a small screwdriver inside a tight enclosure. It does not remove the need to disconnect the battery before wiring the shunt, and the listing does not publish a wiring diagram, a fuse rating or a cable gauge. Those are gaps a buyer should notice. A shunt carries the full load current, so the cable and fuse protecting it have to be sized for that current, and the listing does not state what the supplied shunt is rated for beyond the 100A figure.
The listing says the meter is widely used in automobile, solar and industrial assembly line settings. That is a broad application claim. It does not publish an ingress protection rating, a vibration rating or an operating temperature range, so anyone mounting it in an engine bay or an outdoor enclosure is making that decision without published data.
Where this meter belongs, and the buyer it is wrong for
The right buyer is someone with a fixed DC battery bank who wants a permanent dashboard: an off-grid solar user, an RV owner with a house battery, a campervan builder, or a small industrial panel. For that person, the combination of amp-hour counting, state of charge and runtime in one display is genuinely useful, and the shunt-based method is the standard way to get it. If you are at the planning stage, the guide to choosing a battery monitor for an off-grid system sets out the questions this listing does not answer.
The wrong buyer is the person who wants a handheld instrument for fault-finding. This is not that. It does not measure AC, it does not measure resistance with test probes, it does not test continuity, and it does not have a buzzer or a hold function. If your work is checking outlets, tracing circuits or diagnosing a car’s starting system, you want a handheld meter; the guide to choosing a multimeter for automotive diagnostics is the better starting point.
The second wrong buyer is anyone who needs the meter to warn them. The listing publishes no alarm output, no relay, no buzzer and no communications interface. It displays. It does not alert. If a low-voltage alarm is part of your requirement, this device does not provide it.
A third mismatch is anyone who needs a record. The listing publishes no logging, no memory and no data output. Running time to 999h is a counter, not a log.
What the listing does not publish, and why that matters before you buy
Several things a buyer would reasonably want are absent from the listing. There is no resolution figure, so you cannot tell whether current is displayed to 0.1A or 1A. There is no operating temperature range, which matters for an engine bay or an unheated cabinet. There is no stated shunt resistance value or shunt accuracy class. There is no wiring diagram, no fuse recommendation and no cable gauge. There is no statement of whether the meter is isolated from the shunt circuit or how it is powered. There is no IP rating. There is no warranty statement in the listing bullets.
None of these gaps makes the product bad. They make it underspecified. A buyer should treat the published 1 percent accuracy and the 0-200V / 0-100A ranges as the firm data, and treat everything else as unknown until the manual is in hand.
One more caution: the listing describes the device as a multimeter and a voltmeter and an ammeter in the title. That is search-friendly wording. The device is a shunt-based battery monitor. If you buy it expecting a general-purpose multimeter, you will be disappointed. If you buy it expecting a permanent battery dashboard, the description fits.
The verdict: a good permanent dashboard, a poor first meter
The CGELE is a sensible buy for one specific job: giving a fixed 12V, 24V or 48V DC battery bank a permanent, multi-parameter readout without adding a network-connected monitoring system. The nine-function display, the backlight and the screwless terminals are all useful in that role, and the shunt method is the correct way to count amp-hours.
It is a poor buy as a first meter, as a portable instrument, as an alarm, or as a logger. The listing publishes no alarm, no data output and no AC capability, and the 100A ceiling rules out larger inverter loads. If any of those are your requirement, look elsewhere. If you have a fixed DC bank under 100A and want to see what it is doing at a glance, this is a reasonable candidate, provided you accept that the resolution, temperature range and wiring details are not stated in the listing and will need to be confirmed from the manual.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can the CGELE measure AC current or AC voltage?
The listing describes a DC multifunction meter and publishes DC ranges only: 0-200V and 0-100A. It does not state any AC capability. Treat it as a DC-only device.
What happens if my load exceeds 100A?
The listing publishes a 0-100A current range and does not offer a larger shunt option. A load above that figure is outside the stated range. The listing does not say what the meter displays when over-ranged.
Does it have an alarm or a relay output for low battery?
The listing publishes no alarm, no buzzer, no relay and no communications interface. It displays readings; it does not alert or switch anything.
Can it log data or connect to a phone or computer?
The listing publishes no logging, no memory and no data output of any kind. The running time function to 999h is a counter, not a log.
Is the 1 percent accuracy figure trustworthy?
It is the manufacturer's published claim. The listing does not state whether it is 1 percent of reading or 1 percent of full scale, nor over what temperature range. Treat it as a claim to be verified against your own reference if accuracy is critical.
Do I need a separate multimeter as well?
If you do any handheld electrical work, yes. The CGELE is a fixed installation with no test probes and no AC function. It does not replace a handheld meter for fault-finding, continuity or outlet testing.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





