As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.
Short answer: the DR58 publishes the better sensitivity figure, an IP54 rating and a stated sensor life, which makes it the safer professional purchase. The ILD-100H answers with three sensitivity levels and a TFT display that shows what mode you are in, which is a real advantage while hunting.
What Each Listing States
| Item | Elitech ILD-100H | Fieldpiece DR58 |
|---|---|---|
| Sensor | Heated diode | Heated diode |
| Stated sensitivity | Up to 0.1 oz per year at maximum | Below 0.03 oz per year |
| Sensitivity levels | High, medium, low | Not stated in the bullets |
| Display | TFT showing sensitivity, alerts and battery | Large backlit LCD |
| Refrigerants | R22, R410A, R134A, R1234YF, CFCs, HCFCs, HFCs | HFC, CFC, HCFC, HFO, H2N2 tracer gas and blends |
| Sensor life | Not stated in the bullets | 300 hours |
| Ingress protection | Not stated in the bullets | IP54, resists moisture and oil |
Reading the Sensitivity Figures Properly
Below 0.03 oz per year and up to 0.1 oz per year are both extremely small leaks, and both are far beyond what a soap solution will reveal. The Fieldpiece figure is the better number on paper. Whether the difference matters depends on the work: for a system that has lost its charge over a season, either detector finds the hole. For a slow leak in a large commercial system where the loss is a small fraction of the charge per year, the more sensitive instrument is the one that finds it before the customer notices again.
Both numbers should be treated as best-case laboratory figures. In a real plant room with air movement, oil mist and background contamination, nothing performs at its published limit.
Three Levels and a Screen That Tells You Which
The Elitech design addresses the most annoying part of leak hunting: knowing what the instrument is currently doing. Cycling blindly through sensitivity levels and losing track is common, and it leads to false conclusions in both directions. A TFT display that states the current sensitivity, the alarm state and the battery level removes that ambiguity. Combined with three discrete levels, it supports the standard technique of reducing sensitivity to close in on the source.
Remember That Both Sensors Are Consumable
Heated diode sensors wear out. Fieldpiece publishes 300 hours, which lets you plan. Elitech does not state a figure in its bullets, so factor in the cost and availability of a replacement element before buying, and check that replacements are actually stocked for the model. A leak detector with an unobtainable sensor is a short-lived tool. If long sensor life is the priority, an infrared instrument such as the DR82 states 10 years.
Who Buys Which
- Professional service work, wet or oily environments: DR58, for the IP54 rating and the better sensitivity figure.
- Anyone pressure testing with H2N2 tracer gas: DR58, which states it.
- Buyer who values clear operating feedback: ILD-100H, for the TFT and three levels.
- High usage: consider infrared instead, for the sensor life.
How We Research
All figures are quoted from the manufacturer listings. We did not run laboratory tests and publish no measurements of our own. Ranking in the refrigerant leak detector roundup.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which detects the smaller leak?
On the published figures, the Fieldpiece DR58, which states below 0.03 oz per year. The Elitech listing states maximum sensitivity up to 0.1 oz per year. Both are far more sensitive than a soap bubble test.
What does the Elitech TFT screen add?
The listing states it shows sensitivity level, leakage alerts and battery level during operation. Knowing which sensitivity level you are on without cycling through modes is genuinely useful when you are walking a leak down.
Do both cover the same refrigerants?
The Elitech listing names R22, R410A, R134A, R1234YF and the CFC, HCFC and HFC families. The Fieldpiece listing names HFC, CFC, HCFC, HFO, H2N2 tracer gas and blends, so it additionally states HFO and tracer gas support.
Does either state a sensor life?
The Fieldpiece listing states 300 hours. The Elitech bullets do not state a sensor life, which matters because heated diode sensors are consumable.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





