Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products
Review

Klein Tools 80025 Outlet Tester Kit: A Two-Piece Review

The 80025 kit pairs a receptacle tester with a non-contact voltage pen. The listing sells it as a complete kit, but the two pieces do different jobs and one of them has a maintenance cost the bullets barely mention. This review separates what the listing states from what it leaves open.

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Klein Tools 80025 Outlet Tester Kit: A Two-Piece Review

KLEIN TOOLS · Klein Tools 80025 Outlet Tester Kit, 2-Piece | GFCI Tester and Non-Contact Voltage Tester Pen, Perfect for Home Inspection

View on Amazon

Price and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.

The Klein Tools 80025 kit is a two-piece set: the RT210 GFCI tester for standard and GFCI receptacles, and the NCVT1P non-contact voltage pen for cables, breakers, fixtures and switches. The listing presents it as a complete kit and says the RT210 confirms proper operation of ground fault protective devices. What the listing does not publish is the one ongoing cost that matters most: the NCVT1P needs a battery, and the listing does not name the cell size, the battery life, or whether one is included. Buy the kit if you want a receptacle tester and a voltage pen from one brand in one purchase; check the battery situation before you rely on the pen for a job.

What the two pieces actually do, and where the listing stops

The 80025 is not one instrument. It is two: the RT210 GFCI Tester and the NCVT1P Non-Contact Voltage Tester Pen. The listing names both catalogue numbers, which is more than many kit listings do, and it describes each in a single line.

The RT210 is a receptacle tester. The listing says it detects common wiring problems in standard and GFCI receptacles and confirms the proper operation of ground fault protective devices in GFCI outlets. That is the classic three-light tester function: you plug it in, read the lamp pattern, and compare it with the legend. The listing does not publish the legend, the number of lamp combinations, or what specific faults it distinguishes. Those details are on the tester itself, not in the bullets.

The NCVT1P is a non-contact voltage pen. The listing says it detects voltage in cables, circuit breakers, lighting fixtures, switches and more. It does not publish a voltage range, a sensitivity threshold, a category rating, or an IP rating. Those are the numbers a technician would want before trusting a pen near a live panel, and the listing is silent on all of them.

What the kit does not include is equally important. The listing does not mention a case, a spare battery, a manual, or a proving unit. If you need any of those, treat them as separate purchases until the listing says otherwise.

The consumable the bullets mention only in passing: the pen’s battery

The angle that matters here is the one the listing treats as an afterthought. A non-contact voltage pen is an active electronic device. It needs a battery to work, and that battery is a consumable. The listing does not state the cell type, the number of cells, the expected battery life, or whether a battery is included in the box.

That omission has a practical consequence. A voltage pen that fails because of a flat cell does not warn you in the way a multimeter does. It simply stops indicating, and a pen that indicates nothing looks the same as a pen on a dead circuit. The listing does not publish a self-test function or a low-battery indicator. Without either, the only way to know the pen is alive is to check it against a known live source before you trust a null result.

The RT210 is a different case. The listing does not say whether it is powered or passive. Many receptacle testers of this shape draw their indication from the circuit itself, but the listing does not confirm that for the RT210, so do not assume it. If the RT210 does contain a battery, it is a second consumable the bullets do not mention.

The maintenance cost, then, is not a dramatic figure. It is the recurring cost of cells and the recurring habit of proving the pen before use. The listing mentions neither, and both belong in your decision.

GFCI testing: what the listing claims and what it leaves to the legend

The listing says the RT210 confirms the proper operation of ground fault protective devices in GFCI outlets. That is a specific claim, and it is worth understanding what it can and cannot mean.

A plug-in GFCI tester works by creating a small intentional fault between hot and ground, then checking whether the GFCI trips. The listing does not publish the test current the RT210 applies. That figure matters because a GFCI has a trip threshold, and a tester that applies a current below that threshold will not trip a healthy device. The listing does not give the number, so the reader cannot verify the test is meaningful from the bullets alone.

The listing also does not say whether the RT210 tests the GFCI’s mechanical trip, its electronics, or both. A plug-in tester generally exercises the electronics through the same path as the test button, not the mechanical latch. If you need to verify the latch itself, the device’s own test button is the tool, and the listing does not claim the RT210 replaces it.

For a homeowner checking a bathroom or kitchen GFCI, the RT210 is the right shape of tool. For a technician documenting a GFCI test, the missing test current is a real gap in the published data. The honest position is that the listing supports the claim at the level of function, not at the level of a published test current.

Where the NCVT1P fits beside the other tools on this site

The NCVT1P is a go/no-go indicator, not a measuring instrument. It tells you whether the pen senses an electric field near a conductor. It does not tell you the voltage, the frequency, or whether the conductor can deliver dangerous current. The listing is consistent with that: it says detection, not measurement.

That places it in a different role from the clamp meters and multimeters covered elsewhere on the site. A clamp meter such as the Klein CL910 measures current; a multimeter measures voltage and continuity. The pen is the first pass before you open a box, and the last check before you touch a wire. It is not a substitute for either instrument, and the listing does not claim it is.

If you are building a basic electrical toolkit, the pen is the cheap, fast check and the meter is the instrument that gives you a number. The outlet tester comparison covers the receptacle side of that decision, and the multimeter guide covers the measuring side. The 80025 kit sits at the indicator end of both.

Who the kit is right for, and where a different instrument is the honest answer

The 80025 kit is right for a homeowner or a tradesperson who wants a receptacle tester and a voltage pen in one purchase, from one brand, with the catalogue numbers published. It is a sensible first kit for somebody who is starting to do their own outlet checks and wants a non-contact check before opening a box.

It is not the right answer for anybody who needs a published voltage range, a category rating, or a test current. The listing does not publish those, and no amount of reading between the lines will produce them. If your work requires documented measurements, the pen and the RT210 are not the instruments for that job.

It is also not a substitute for a multimeter or a clamp meter. The electrical tester roundup covers the instruments that give numbers. The 80025 gives indications, and that is a different job.

If you already own a voltage pen, the kit’s value is mostly the RT210. If you already own a receptacle tester, the value is mostly the pen. The listing sells the pair as complete, and for a first purchase that is fair; for a second purchase, check which half you actually need.

The 80025 verdict: a fair pair, with one gap to check before you buy

The Klein Tools 80025 kit is a straightforward two-piece set: the RT210 for standard and GFCI receptacles, and the NCVT1P for non-contact detection. The listing publishes the catalogue numbers and the functions, and it is honest about what each piece is for. What it does not publish is the battery situation for the pen, the voltage range, or the GFCI test current. Those gaps do not make the kit a bad purchase, but they do mean you should prove the pen before trusting a null result and should not expect the kit to replace a multimeter. Buy it as a first indicator kit, not as a measuring instrument.

Klein Tools 80025 Outlet Tester Kit, 2-Piece | GFCI Tester and Non-Contact Voltage Tester Pen, Perfect for Home Inspection

Klein Tools 80025 Outlet Tester Kit, 2-Piece | GFCI Tester

View on Amazon
ETCR ETCR8430 3-Phase Power Recorder USB Power Quality Analyzer | 6-Channel Voltage & Current Data Logger, 0.01V-600V, 1mA-400A

ETCR ETCR8430 3-Phase Power Recorder USB Power Quality Analyzer |

View on Amazon
Klein Tools CL910 Digital Clamp Meter, 2000A AC/DC Auto Ranging & Worklight | with TRMS, AC/DC Volt, Current, LoZ, Resistance, Continuity, Frequency, Duty-Cycle, Capacitance, More

Klein Tools CL910 Digital Clamp Meter, 2000A AC/DC Auto Ranging

View on Amazon
2026 Upgraded FS899L Digital Multimeter & 20 pcs Silicone Test Leads Kit, USB-C Rechargeable Color Screen, Auto 6000 Counts True RMS AC/DC Voltage Tester, NCV, CAT.III 1000V

2026 Upgraded FS899L Digital Multimeter & 20 pcs Silicone Test

View on Amazon

Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the kit include a battery for the NCVT1P?

The listing does not say. It does not name the cell type, the number of cells, or whether a battery is included. Check the box contents or the product page before you rely on the pen arriving ready to use.

What voltage range does the NCVT1P detect?

Not stated in the listing bullets. The listing says it detects voltage in cables, breakers, fixtures and switches, but it does not publish a range or a threshold.

Does the RT210 test GFCI outlets?

The listing says it confirms the proper operation of ground fault protective devices in GFCI outlets. It does not publish the test current it applies, so the listing supports the function but not a verifiable test current.

Is the RT210 powered by a battery?

The listing does not say. Do not assume it is passive. If it contains a battery, that is a second consumable the bullets do not mention.

Can the NCVT1P replace a multimeter?

No. The listing describes detection, not measurement. The pen does not publish a voltage readout, and it cannot tell you the voltage or the current a conductor can deliver.

Is the 80025 kit a good first purchase?

For a homeowner or tradesperson who wants a receptacle tester and a voltage pen together, yes, provided you understand the pen is an indicator and you prove it before trusting a null result. For documented measurements, you need a different instrument.

Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.