As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.
Short answer: the TC002C Duo is the more flexible camera: any USB-C device, a second lens, video recording and published refresh and sensitivity figures. The TC001 remains a sound Android-only choice with the same detector and the same stated range and accuracy.
What Each Listing States
| Item | TC001 | TC002C Duo |
|---|---|---|
| Native thermal | 256 x 192 | 256 x 192 |
| Enhanced image | 512 x 384 via TISR | 512 x 384 via TISR |
| Range | -20 to 550 C (-4 to 1022 F) | -4 to 1022 F |
| Accuracy | Within 2 C or 2 percent, 0.1 C resolution | Within 2 C or 2 percent |
| Refresh and sensitivity | Not stated | 25 Hz, 40 mK |
| Devices | Android, not iPhone 15 | All USB-C phones and tablets, iOS, Android, Windows |
| Second lens | Not stated | Yes |
| Video | Not stated | Photo and video stated |
| Measurement tools | Point, line, area, up to nine regions, nine palettes, waveform | Waveform view, customisable temperature limits |
Where the Older Camera Still Wins
The TC001 listing is unusually specific about its measurement tools: point, line and surface modes with up to three regions each for nine simultaneous readings, nine colour palettes, and a waveform graph of high, low and average temperature. That is a genuinely capable measurement set, and it is the kind of detail that decides real work. A line profile across a floor tells you where a heating loop stops carrying water. Three area boxes on three phases of a supply tell you which one is running hot without moving the camera. If those tools are the reason you are buying, confirm the Duo app offers the same before switching.
Video Changes What You Can Record
The TC002C Duo listing states photo and video recording. Video matters more in thermal work than people expect, because many faults are dynamic: a compressor cycling, a breaker warming under load, water moving through a pipe. A still image proves a temperature at one instant; a clip proves a behaviour, and behaviour is usually what convinces someone to authorise a repair.
The Practical Constraint
The TC001 is Android only. The TC002C Duo is USB-C anything, with the stated exceptions of Mac devices and Android 16. Neither restriction is a quality judgement, but both are absolute: if the camera does not connect, nothing else on the specification sheet matters. Check your phone’s port and operating system version first, then come back to the feature comparison.
Who Buys Which
- Android user who wants maximum measurement tooling: TC001.
- Anyone with an iPhone, iPad or a mixed device set: TC002C Duo.
- Anyone documenting faults on video: TC002C Duo.
- Buyer comparing against the established brands: read FLIR ONE Pro versus TC002C Duo.
How We Research
All specifications come from the manufacturer listings. We did not run laboratory tests and publish no measurements of our own. Our ranking is in the thermal imaging camera roundup.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do both use the same detector?
Both listings state 256 by 192 native thermal imaging enhanced to 512 by 384 by TISR. The TC002C Duo listing adds a 25 Hz refresh rate and 40 mK sensitivity, which the TC001 bullets do not state.
Which measures the higher temperature?
They are stated the same way in different units: the TC001 states -20 to 550 C (-4 to 1022 F) and the TC002C Duo states -4 to 1022 F. Both quote accuracy within 2 C or 2 percent.
Can the TC001 be used on an iPhone?
The TC001 listing states it is not compatible with iPhone 15 and is built for Android. The TC002C Duo listing states it works with all USB-C smartphones and tablets including iOS.
Is the second lens worth it?
If you produce images for other people, yes. A visible-light lens lets the software overlay real outlines so the photograph identifies the component. For your own troubleshooting it is a convenience.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





