As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.
Short answer: on thermal specification these two are effectively the same camera. Choose the TC001 Max if you need Lightning as well as USB-C, and the TC002C Duo if you are all USB-C and want the stated temperature range and accuracy figures in writing.
What Each Listing States
| Item | TC002C Duo | TC001 Max |
|---|---|---|
| Native thermal | 256 x 192 | 256 x 192 |
| Enhanced image | 512 x 384 via TISR | 512 x 384 via TISR |
| Refresh rate | 25 Hz | 25 Hz |
| Sensitivity | 40 mK | 40 mK or better |
| Temperature range | -4 to 1022 F | Not stated in the bullets |
| Accuracy | Within 2 C or 2 percent | Not stated in the bullets |
| Connector | USB-C, all USB-C phones and tablets; not Mac or Android 16 | USB-C and Lightning adapters |
| Second lens | Yes, Duo | Yes, dual lens |
| Recording | Photo and video stated | Not stated in the bullets |
Read the Compatibility Note Before Anything Else
The TC002C Duo listing carries two exclusions worth taking seriously: it is not compatible with Mac devices, and it is not compatible with Android 16 at the time the listing was written. Operating system compatibility on plug-in cameras is a moving target, because each major release can change how a USB accessory is granted camera permissions. If you are on a recent Android release, confirm current compatibility with the seller before buying rather than relying on a bullet point that may predate your phone.
The TC001 Max is the more forgiving option on hardware, since it ships adapters for both USB-C and Lightning. That matters in a household or a crew with mixed phones, where a camera that only fits one person’s handset gets left in the van.
The Value of a Published Number
The TC002C Duo listing states a measurement range and an accuracy figure. The TC001 Max bullets state neither. That does not mean the Max is less accurate, but it does mean you cannot compare them on that axis without the datasheet, and if you ever have to defend a reading, a published specification is what you point at. When two products are otherwise this close, the one that publishes more is the safer purchase.
What 40 mK Actually Buys You
Both listings quote 40 mK, meaning the camera can distinguish temperature differences of around four hundredths of a degree. That is the specification that decides whether subtle work is possible: finding a damp patch that is barely cooler than the wall around it, or tracing an underfloor heating loop through a screed where the difference at the surface is small. High resolution with poor sensitivity produces a sharp picture of nothing; sensitivity is what makes the faint fault visible at all. For most building work this figure matters more than the pixel count.
Who Buys Which
- Mixed phone household or crew: TC001 Max, for both connectors.
- Single USB-C phone, wants specifications in writing: TC002C Duo.
- Anyone on a very recent Android release: confirm compatibility first, whichever you pick.
- Anyone who wants the camera separate from the phone: see Edge Pro versus TC002C.
How We Research
Figures are quoted from the manufacturer listings. We did not run laboratory tests. Where a listing publishes nothing, this page records the gap rather than filling it. Full ranking in the thermal imaging camera roundup.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are the thermal specifications the same?
On the published numbers they line up. Both listings state 256 by 192 enhanced to 512 by 384 with TISR, a 25 Hz refresh rate and a sensitivity of 40 mK. The TC002C Duo listing also states a range of -4 to 1022 F with accuracy within 2 C or 2 percent; the TC001 Max bullets do not publish a range.
Which one works with my phone?
The TC002C Duo listing states compatibility with all USB-C smartphones and tablets across iOS, Android and Windows, and notes that it is not currently compatible with Mac devices or Android 16. The TC001 Max listing states both USB-C and Lightning adapters.
Does either need charging?
No. Both are powered by the device they plug into. The TC001 Max listing states no batteries, charging or wireless pairing are required.
Can I record video?
The TC002C Duo listing states photo and video recording, along with a live waveform view and customisable temperature limits.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





