As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.
Short answer: the C8 is a professional instrument and the resolution gap is not close. The TC004 Mini is a capable budget camera for large targets at short range, with an alarm, auto-capture and onboard storage that make it more useful than its detector size suggests.
What Each Listing States
| Item | TOPDON TC004 Mini | FLIR C8 |
|---|---|---|
| Thermal capture | 128 x 128 (16,384 samples) | 320 x 240 true thermal (76,800 pixels) |
| Presented image | 240 x 240 via TISR | 320 x 240 |
| Field of view | 40 by 30 degrees | 35 degrees horizontal |
| Refresh rate | 25 Hz | Not stated in the bullets |
| Temperature range | -20 to 450 C (-4 to 842 F) | Not stated in the bullets |
| Accuracy | Within 3.6 F or 2 percent | Not stated in the bullets |
| Image enhancement | TISR upscaling | MSX from a visible camera |
| Storage and workflow | 512 MB, up to 8,000 photos | Ignite cloud |
| Alarm | Preset threshold with automatic photo | Not stated in the bullets |
Nearly Five Times the Samples
76,800 against 16,384 is not a marginal difference, and no amount of upscaling closes it. It decides two things: how small a fault can be measured rather than averaged, and how far away you can stand while doing it. On a wall from two metres both cameras will show you a damp patch. On a terminal strip from three metres, only one of them is measuring the terminal. That is the entire practical content of the resolution argument, and it maps directly onto whether you inspect buildings or equipment.
What the Cheaper Camera Does Well
It would be easy to dismiss the TC004 Mini, and that would be wrong. It publishes more of its specification than the C8 listing does: a field of view, a refresh rate, a range and an accuracy figure. It stores 8,000 photos without a subscription or a cloud account. It captures automatically when a threshold is crossed, which is a real workflow feature rather than a bullet point. And 128 by 128 at close range genuinely finds the faults that most homeowners and most trades are actually looking for.
Cloud or Card
The two cameras take opposite positions on where images live. The C8 states Ignite, which moves images off the camera and into a workflow where they can be edited, shared and assembled into reports. The TC004 keeps everything onboard. For a business producing documents, the cloud path saves real time on every job. For a private user, onboard storage with no account to create is simpler and involves nobody else’s servers.
Who Buys Which
- Professional inspection, electrical survey, any paid report: C8.
- Homeowner, landlord, DIY renovation: TC004 Mini.
- Repeated threshold checks on the same equipment: TC004 Mini, for the alarm and auto-capture.
- Anyone unsure: read C5 versus TC004 Mini, which is the closer matchup.
How We Research
Specifications are quoted from the manufacturer listings for each camera. We did not run laboratory tests and publish no measurements of our own. Full ranking in the thermal imaging camera roundup.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
How big is the resolution gap?
Substantial. The C8 listing states 320 by 240 true thermal, described as 76,800 pixels. The TC004 Mini listing states 128 by 128 capture, which is 16,384 samples, presented at 240 by 240 after TISR enhancement.
Is the TC004 Mini still useful?
Yes, for large targets at short range: damp patches, missing insulation, underfloor heating loops, an overheating appliance. It is not the tool for a small connection viewed from a safe distance.
Which measures hotter?
The TC004 Mini states -20 to 450 C. The C8 bullets state no temperature range, so check the datasheet rather than assuming.
Does the C8 have onboard storage?
The C8 listing emphasises FLIR Ignite cloud rather than onboard capacity. The TC004 Mini states 512 MB holding up to 8,000 photos.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





