Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products
Review

VIVOSUN Digital pH and TDS Meter Kit Review: The Calibration Powder Is the Story

Two handheld meters and three sachets of calibration powder arrive in one box. The meters are the visible product; the powder is the part that decides whether the readings mean anything six months later. This review looks at what the listing publishes, what it leaves out, and where a pen-style meter stops being the right instrument.

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

VIVOSUN Digital pH and TDS Meter Kit Review: The Calibration Powder Is the Story

VIVOSUN · VIVOSUN Digital pH Meter TDS EC Meter for Water 0.01 Accuracy Hydroponics | ±0.01 pH Accuracy, ATC, Auto Calibration, LCD Display, Hold Function, for Hydroponics Aquarium Pool Drinking, UL Certified

View on Amazon

Price and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.

The VIVOSUN pH Meter is a two-pen kit: one pH pen covering pH 0 to 14, and one 3-in-1 pen for TDS and EC up to 9990 ppm or 9990 microsiemens per centimetre, with a stated accuracy of plus or minus 2 percent on the TDS side. The listing also says three calibration buffers are included. That last item is the one that matters most, because a pH pen without fresh buffer solution is a number generator, not a measurement instrument. Buy the VIVOSUN pH Meter if you want a low-commitment way to check nutrient solution and runoff in a home hydroponic setup and you accept that you will keep buying calibration supplies. Do not buy it if you need logged data, if you test seawater (the listing says it cannot), or if you need a calibrated certificate for compliance work.

Two pens, three sachets, and one recurring purchase

The listing title calls this a digital pH meter, but the box contains two separate instruments. One is a pH pen with a stated range of pH 0 to 14. The other is described as a 3-in-1 TDS meter, with a measurement range of 0 to 9990 ppm and 0 to 9990 microsiemens per centimetre, a stated accuracy of plus or minus 2 percent, and a temperature channel covering 0.1 to 80.0 degrees Celsius or 32.0 to 176.0 degrees Fahrenheit. The included-items line names the pH meter, the 3-in-1 TDS meter, and three calibration buffers.

Those three sachets are the part of the kit that gets used up. pH electrodes drift. The glass bulb responds to hydrogen ions, and over time the surface collects protein, mineral scale and dried nutrient salts, which changes the voltage the electrode produces for a given pH. Calibration is the process of telling the meter what voltage corresponds to a known pH so it can correct for that drift. Each calibration consumes buffer. A three-point calibration uses three sachets if you mix fresh solution each time, or less if you decant into small cups and discard afterwards. Either way, the supplied buffers are a starting quantity, not a lifetime supply.

The listing does not publish how many millilitres each sachet contains, what pH values the three buffers are, or whether they are colour-coded. That is a real gap. A buyer planning a maintenance routine needs to know whether the kit covers the two points most pen meters use, typically pH 4.00 and pH 7.00, or three points including pH 10.01. The listing is silent, so treat the buffers as a starter set and expect to source replacements.

What the 0.01 in the title does and does not tell you

The title includes the string 0.01 Accuracy. The bullet text does not repeat or qualify that figure. This is worth unpacking, because 0.01 is a display resolution, not an accuracy specification. A pen that shows two decimal places can display pH 6.47, but the number behind the display may be good to plus or minus 0.1 pH or worse. The listing publishes an accuracy figure only for the TDS pen, at plus or minus 2 percent, and publishes no accuracy figure at all for the pH pen.

This is the single most common confusion in the category. Resolution is the smallest change the display can show. Accuracy is how close the displayed number is to the true value. A meter can have fine resolution and poor accuracy, and many inexpensive pens do. Without a published pH accuracy figure, the honest position is that the listing does not state one. You can still use the pen, but you should treat the second decimal place as noise and make decisions on the first decimal place, or better, on trends across several readings.

The TDS figure is more useful because it is stated. Plus or minus 2 percent of reading means that at 1000 ppm the error band is about 20 ppm. That is adequate for tracking nutrient strength in a reservoir, where the meaningful changes are usually in the hundreds of ppm. It is not adequate for laboratory work, and the listing does not claim it is. For a wider treatment of how resolution and accuracy differ across instrument types, see accuracy versus precision in monitor specifications.

The seawater note and the range it quietly removes

The TDS bullet ends with a note: this meter cannot test sea water. That is a specific and useful exclusion, and it deserves more attention than it usually gets. Seawater has a conductivity equivalent to roughly 35,000 ppm of dissolved solids, which is well above the stated 9990 ppm ceiling. The meter would either over-range or return a meaningless number. If you keep a marine aquarium, this kit is not the right purchase for salinity measurement, and no amount of calibration will change that.

The same ceiling applies to other high-conductivity solutions. Some hydroponic setups run concentrated stock solutions above 9990 ppm before dilution. If you plan to measure the concentrate rather than the working reservoir, the pen will clip. The listing does not publish a resolution figure for the TDS channel, so it is not possible to say from the supplied data how finely it distinguishes, for example, 800 ppm from 810 ppm. The accuracy figure of plus or minus 2 percent is the only published indicator of measurement quality on that channel.

The temperature channel is stated as 0.1 to 80.0 degrees Celsius. That upper limit rules out measuring hot water directly, which matters if you are checking the temperature of a reservoir that has been in direct sun. Let the sample cool, or accept that the temperature reading is outside the stated range.

Protective case, handheld design, and the storage question

The listing says the kit comes with a protective case and describes a lightweight handheld design for portability. A case matters more for a pH pen than for many instruments, because the electrode needs to stay wet. A dry electrode loses response speed and can take hours of soaking to recover. The listing does not state whether the case holds the electrode in storage solution, whether a storage cap is supplied, or what the recommended storage condition is. Those are the questions to ask before buying, and the listing does not answer them.

If you buy the VIVOSUN pH Meter, plan your own storage routine. Keep the pH bulb damp between uses, and do not store the pen in distilled water long term, because that leaches ions from the glass and the reference junction. The listing does not publish a storage recommendation, so this is general practice rather than a manufacturer instruction. The case protects the pen in transit; it does not by itself maintain the electrode.

The listing also does not publish an electrode type, a replaceable-electrode design, or a battery type. On a pen at this level, the electrode is usually not user-replaceable, which means the working life of the pH pen is the working life of the whole pen. That is the consumable cost the included-buffers line hints at but does not spell out: you are not just buying calibration powder, you are buying a pen with a finite electrode life.

Where the pens stop being the right instrument

These are spot-check tools. They tell you what a sample reads at the moment you dip them. They do not log, they do not alarm, and the listing publishes no memory, no output, and no connectivity. If your question is what happened in the reservoir overnight, or how pH moved across a week, a pen cannot answer it. For that you need a logger, and the site covers options in environmental data loggers for building monitoring.

They are also not compliance instruments. The listing publishes no calibration certificate, no traceability statement, and no pH accuracy figure. If you need to demonstrate that a reading is traceable to a standard, a pen kit with sachets of buffer is not the tool. The same applies to any regulated water testing.

For general environmental spot checks beyond water, the site has a broader guide to choosing an environmental meter. The VIVOSUN kit sits at the simple end of that spectrum: two pens, a case, and a starter set of buffers, with the maintenance burden left for the owner to work out.

Verdict: a starter kit whose real cost is the buffer you will keep buying

The VIVOSUN pH Meter is a sensible first purchase for a home hydroponic grower who wants to check pH and nutrient strength without spending much, provided you understand two things the listing does not spell out. The pH pen has no published accuracy figure, and the three included calibration buffers are a starter quantity that will run out. The TDS pen has a stated plus or minus 2 percent accuracy and a 9990 ppm ceiling that rules out seawater. Buy it for spot checks in a working reservoir. Do not buy it if you need logged data, traceable calibration, or salinity measurement in a marine tank.

VIVOSUN Digital pH Meter TDS EC Meter for Water 0.01 Accuracy Hydroponics | ±0.01 pH Accuracy, ATC, Auto Calibration, LCD Display, Hold Function, for Hydroponics Aquarium Pool Drinking, UL Certified

VIVOSUN Digital pH Meter TDS EC Meter for Water 0.01

View on Amazon
Decibel Meter, Goldeep Sound Level Meter, Portable SPL Tester-Bright Orange

Decibel Meter, Goldeep Sound Level Meter, Portable SPL Tester-Bright Orange

View on Amazon
CRY2831 IEC 61672-1:2013 Sound Level Meter Class 2, Factory Calibrated | Calibration Certificate Included, 29-138dB, ±1.5dB Accuracy, A/C/Z Weighting, 20Hz-12.5kHz, Industrial Noise Measurement

CRY2831 IEC 61672-1:2013 Sound Level Meter Class 2, Factory Calibrated

View on Amazon
Hot Wire Anemometer AM-286, CFM/CMM HVAC Airflow Meter, Telescopic Probe | 0-30 m/s Air Velocity, CFM/CMM Air Volume, Temperature; Bendable Probe, MAX/MIN/AVG, Data Hold & USB PC Software

Hot Wire Anemometer AM-286, CFM/CMM HVAC Airflow Meter, Telescopic Probe

View on Amazon

Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.

Frequently Asked Questions

How often do I need to calibrate the pH pen?

The listing does not publish a calibration interval. In practice, pen-style pH meters are usually checked before each serious measurement session and recalibrated whenever the reading drifts from a fresh buffer. The three included buffers will be consumed quickly if you calibrate often, so budget for replacement buffer solution as a recurring cost.

Does the 0.01 in the title mean the pH reading is accurate to 0.01?

No. The listing gives 0.01 in the title but publishes no pH accuracy figure in the bullets. 0.01 is the display resolution, meaning the smallest step the screen can show. Accuracy is how close that number is to the true pH, and it is not stated. Treat the second decimal place as indicative only.

Can I use the TDS pen in a saltwater aquarium?

No. The listing explicitly says the meter cannot test sea water. The stated TDS range tops out at 9990 ppm, and seawater conductivity is far above that. Use a refractometer or a salinity meter rated for the range instead.

What are the three calibration buffers, and what pH values are they?

The listing says three calibration buffers are included but does not publish their pH values, volumes, or whether they are colour-coded. You will need to check the packaging when it arrives, and source replacements that match whatever calibration points the pen expects.

Is the pH electrode replaceable?

The listing does not say. On pens at this level the electrode is typically not user-replaceable, which means the pen has a finite working life. The listing publishes no electrode type, no replacement part, and no battery type.

Can these meters log data or connect to a phone?

The listing publishes no memory, no logging, no alarm, and no connectivity. They are spot-check instruments that display a reading while the probe is in the sample. If you need a record over time, you need a data logger, not this kit.

Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.