Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products

Best Android Thermal Cameras: USB-C Picks From Entry Level to 256×192 Detectors

Android is where most of the plug-in thermal modules started, and the range now runs from an 80 x 60 detector to a 256 x 192 detector with a second visible camera. This guide sorts the USB-C modules by native detector, app features and phone support, and explains the OTG and TISR caveats that the listings themselves raise.

  • Independent Research
  • Verified Specifications
  • Honest Recommendations

OTG Required
Native Pixels
Second Lens Helps

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Our Top Picks

Android modules were compared on native detector resolution, upscaled output where quoted, visible camera and fusion, stated NETD and refresh rate, phone power draw, OTG and TISR support notes and app features, all from manufacturer listings. We did not run laboratory tests or side-by-side imaging; figures are the manufacturers' own and Not stated marks the gaps.

Best Overall
TOPDON TC001 Plus Thermal Camera for Android

TOPDON TC001 Plus Thermal Camera for Android

256x192 detector with a visible camera and fusion, nine measurement areas and PC software.

  • 256 x 192 native IR detector; 512 x 384 is TISR super resolution, and not all Android phones support TISR
  • Dual lens with a visible-light camera and image fusion
  • -4 to 1022 F range, accuracy within 3.6 F or 2 percent; point, line and surface measurement across 9 areas; waveform graphs; 10 palettes
  • 1 oz, battery-free, OTG support, extended USB cable, 1 m drop rating; TCView for Windows; 1-year warranty
View on Amazon Read Full Review→
Best FLIR for Android
FLIR ONE for Android (USB-C)

FLIR ONE for Android (USB-C)

MSX and guided inspections on Android, on an 80x60 detector upscaled to 240x180.

  • 80 x 60 native detector; 240 x 180 is Vivid IR upscaling
  • Plugs into the USB-C port of Android devices including Samsung Galaxy and Google Pixel
  • MSX merges thermal and visible images; FLIR ONE app includes step-by-step inspection guides
  • Accuracy of plus or minus 3 C or 5 percent within a stated ambient and scene range; 1.5 m drop rating
View on Amazon Read Full Review→
Best Value
Thermal Master P1 Thermal Camera for USB-C

Thermal Master P1 Thermal Camera for USB-C

0.62 oz module with 25 Hz, 40 mK and 5 to 8 hours on phone power.

  • 160 x 120 native detector; 320 x 240 is X3 upscaling
  • USB-C on Android, iOS and Windows; Lightning iPhones need an adapter
  • 25 Hz refresh, sensitivity of 0.04 C (40 mK), -4 to 1112 F range, plus or minus 3.6 F accuracy
  • 15x digital zoom, high and low alarms, isotherm mode, adjustable emissivity; 0.32 W draw for 5 to 8 hours; 0.62 oz
View on Amazon Read Full Review→

Comparison Table

View Full Comparison→
ProductNative resolutionUpscaled outputVisible cameraNETDRefresh ratePlatforms and power
TOPDON TC001 Plus256 x 192512 x 384 (TISR)Yes, fusionNot statedNot statedAndroid, Windows; phone power, OTGView
FLIR ONE for Android80 x 60240 x 180 (Vivid IR)Yes, MSXNot statedNot statedAndroid USB-C; power not statedView
Thermal Master P1 (X3 listing)160 x 120320 x 240 (X3)No0.04 C (40 mK)25 HzAndroid, iOS, Windows USB-C; 0.32 W, 5 to 8 hoursView
TOPDON TC001 Max256 x 192512 x 384 (TISR)Yes, dual lens40 mK or lower25 HzAndroid, iPhone, Windows; USB-C and Lightning adapters; no batteryView
Thermal Master P4256 x 192512 x 384Yes, fusion and IR EraserUnder 35 mK25 HzAndroid, Windows; phone power, up to 5 hoursView
TOPDON TC002C Duo256 x 192512 x 384 (TISR)No40 mK25 HzAny USB-C: iOS, Android, Windows; not Mac or Android 16 at listingView
TOPDON TC001256 x 192512 x 384 (TISR)Fusion with the phone cameraNot statedNot statedAndroid, OTG; 0.35 W, 4 to 7 hours; not iPhone 15View
TOPDON TS001256 x 192None quotedDual-light modeNot stated25 HzAndroid, Windows; 0.35 W, 4 to 7 hours; 9 mm focus lensView

All values come from the manufacturers' Amazon listings at the time of research. Upscaled figures are software output and are not comparable with native counts. Not stated means the listing gives no value. Platform exclusions were current at the time of the listing and should be rechecked before buying.

How to Choose an Android Thermal Camera

Four points decide it:

OTG and TISR Support

TOPDON states the phone must support OTG and that not every Android phone runs the TISR upscale. Check the phone model on the manufacturer site before ordering.

Native Detector Class

256 x 192 (TOPDON, P4), 160 x 120 (P1) or 80 x 60 (FLIR ONE for Android). The 512 x 384, 320 x 240 and 240 x 180 figures are software.

Second Lens or Not

A visible camera with fusion or MSX makes the image readable. The TC001 Plus, TC001 Max, P4 and FLIR ONE have one; the P1 and TC002C Duo do not.

Draw on the Phone

Thermal Master states 0.32 W for 5 to 8 hours and TOPDON 0.35 W for 4 to 7 hours on the TC001 and TS001. FLIR states no figure.

Frequently Asked Questions

View All FAQs→
Why does the TOPDON listing warn that not all Android phones support TISR?

TISR is the super-resolution processing that turns the 256 x 192 detector output into a 512 x 384 image, and it runs on the phone rather than in the module. TOPDON states that some Android phones cannot run it, so those phones show the native image only. The thermal data is the same either way; only the smoothing differs.

What is OTG and why does an Android thermal module need it?

OTG (USB On-The-Go) is the Android feature that lets the phone act as a USB host and power an accessory through its port. TOPDON states OTG support as a requirement for the TC001 Plus and TC001. Most current Android phones have it; some budget models and some tablets do not, and a module plugged into one of those simply does not start.

Can I use an Android thermal module on a Windows laptop?

Several listings state Windows support: the TC001 Plus with TCView, the TC002C Duo, the TC001 Max, the Thermal Master P1 and P4 and the TS001. That turns a laptop into a bench thermal station for electronics or a fixed monitoring view. Mac is excluded on the TC002C Duo and RISION listings.

What is the TOPDON TS001 for, with its 9 mm lens?

Distance. TOPDON describes it as a thermal monocular with a 9 mm adjustable-focus lens covering 0.1 m to 500 m, human detection at up to 200 yards and a detection mode with target assistance and a compass. It is built for hunting, wildlife and outdoor spotting rather than for scanning a wall at arm's length, although it still records images and generates reports.

Reviews

TOPDON TC001 Plus Thermal Camera for Android

TOPDON TC001 Plus Thermal Camera for Android Best Overall

The TC001 Plus is the Android module to buy if the images are going to be used for anything beyond curiosity. TOPDON states a 256 x 192 native detector, 49,152 pixels, the largest class in this table, and a second visible-light lens with image fusion that gives the thermal picture an outline of edges, which is the TOPDON answer to MSX.

The measurement side is unusually complete for a phone module: point, line and surface measurement with up to nine areas at once, continuous readings drawn as a waveform graph, ten palettes, annotation and report upload to a server, and TCView on Windows for further analysis. The stated range is -4 to 1022 F with accuracy within 3.6 F or 2 percent, and the module weighs 1 oz, draws power from the phone and ships with an extended cable and an EVA bag.

Two listing caveats matter: the phone must support OTG, and not all Android phones support the TISR upscale. Neither NETD nor refresh rate is stated, and it is Android and Windows only. Our TOPDON TC001 Plus review goes deeper.

Strengths

  • 256 x 192 native, stated separately from the upscale
  • Visible camera and fusion
  • Nine measurement areas, waveform graphs, report upload
  • Windows software for analysis

Limitations

  • NETD and refresh rate not stated
  • TISR depends on phone support
  • Android and Windows only
View on Amazon
FLIR ONE for Android (USB-C)

FLIR ONE for Android (USB-C) Best FLIR for Android

The FLIR ONE for Android is on this page because it is the only way to get the FLIR ONE app on an Android phone, and that app is the reason to want it: FLIR states step-by-step inspection guides for typical faults such as air leaks and moisture buildup, plus MSX merging of thermal and visible images in real time. For a homeowner who needs to be told where to point the camera and what the pattern means, that guidance has real value.

The listing states USB-C compatibility with Android devices including Samsung Galaxy and Google Pixel, accuracy of plus or minus 3 C or 5 percent within the given ambient and scene range, and a 1.5 m drop rating.

The detector is the smallest in this guide: 80 x 60 native, upscaled to 240 x 180 by Vivid IR. That is a quarter of the 160 x 120 in the FLIR ONE Pro for iOS and a tenth of the 256 x 192 TOPDON class. NETD, refresh rate and battery figures are not stated.

Strengths

  • FLIR ONE app with guided inspections on Android
  • MSX overlay
  • Stated accuracy with its conditions
  • 1.5 m drop rating

Limitations

  • 80 x 60 native is the smallest detector here
  • NETD and refresh rate not stated
  • Upscaled 240 x 180 is easy to mistake for a detector count
View on Amazon
Thermal Master P1 Thermal Camera for USB-C

Thermal Master P1 Thermal Camera for USB-C Best Value

The P1 is the value pick for an Android user who wants stated performance figures rather than a brand name. Thermal Master lists 25 Hz refresh, a sensitivity of 0.04 C, which is 40 mK, a range of -4 to 1112 F with plus or minus 3.6 F accuracy, 15x digital zoom, high and low temperature alarms, an isotherm mode and adjustable emissivity, ambient temperature and distance settings. The FLIR ONE for Android states none of those figures.

It is also the lightest module here at 0.62 oz, draws a stated 0.32 W for 5 to 8 hours of continuous use, and works on USB-C Android, iOS and Windows devices, so it moves between an Android phone and a USB-C iPhone in the same household. A zipper case and a 50 cm extension cable are included.

Read the resolution carefully: the listing title says 320 x 240, but the text describes X3 technology upgrading a 160 x 120 detector to that figure, so the native count is 19,200, the same as the FLIR ONE Pro and below the TOPDON 256 x 192 modules. There is no visible camera.

Strengths

  • 25 Hz, 40 mK, range and accuracy all stated
  • Works on Android, USB-C iPhone and Windows
  • 0.62 oz with a stated 5 to 8 hour draw
  • Isotherm, alarms and adjustable emissivity in the app

Limitations

  • 160 x 120 native; 320 x 240 is X3 upscaling
  • No visible camera or fusion
  • Field of view not stated on this listing
View on Amazon

Buying Guide

Short answer: the TOPDON TC001 Plus is the Android thermal camera to buy for real diagnostics, with a 256 x 192 native detector, a visible camera with fusion and nine measurement areas; the FLIR ONE for Android is the pick for a homeowner who wants MSX and the guided inspections of the FLIR ONE app, on an 80 x 60 detector that the listing upscales to 240 x 180; and the Thermal Master P1 is the value pick that states 25 Hz, 40 mK and a 5 to 8 hour draw at 0.62 oz, on a 160 x 120 detector sold under a 320 x 240 X3 headline.

The Android USB-C field

Android was the first home of the plug-in thermal module because the platform allowed USB accessories early, and most of the current modules are Android-first or Android-only. The listings are specific about it: the TOPDON TC001 Plus, TC001 and TS001 and the Thermal Master P4 state Android and Windows and exclude iOS, with the TC001 adding that it is not compatible with iPhone 15. The TC002C Duo, TC001 Max and Thermal Master P1 are USB-C modules that state Android alongside iOS and Windows. The FLIR ONE for Android is USB-C Android only. Two requirements come up repeatedly in the TOPDON text: the phone must support OTG, and the TISR upscale runs only on phones that can process it. Neither is exotic on a current Android phone, but both are worth checking on the manufacturer compatibility list before buying, and the smartphone thermal camera guide covers how.

Three detector classes

The modules in the table fall into three native classes, and the class matters far more than the headline figure. The 256 x 192 class, 49,152 pixels, is the TOPDON TC001 Plus, TC001 Max, TC001, TC002C Duo and TS001 and the Thermal Master P4; the TOPDON listings describe 512 x 384 as TISR output and the P4 listing describes it as super resolution. The 160 x 120 class, 19,200 pixels, is the Thermal Master P1, whose listing title says 320 x 240 but whose text describes X3 technology upgrading a 160 x 120 detector; the RISION Magic in our smartphone guide is the same class. The 80 x 60 class is the FLIR ONE for Android, upscaled to 240 x 180 by Vivid IR. From a few feet away all three classes show a warm breaker or a cold draft; from across a room, only the 256 x 192 class resolves a stud bay or a duct run with a defined edge.

Sensitivity, refresh and the figures TOPDON does not always state

NETD in millikelvin, lower being better, and refresh rate in Hz are the two figures that describe how a module behaves in use rather than on paper, and they are stated unevenly. The Thermal Master P4 states under 35 mK, the P1 states 0.04 C, which is 40 mK, and the TC001 Max and TC002C Duo state 40 mK; all of those state 25 Hz, as does the TS001. The TC001 Plus and TC001 listings state neither, despite sharing the 256 x 192 detector class with the modules that do, and the FLIR ONE for Android states neither. That leaves a buyer comparing the TC001 Plus, which states the most measurement features, against the TC001 Max, which states NETD, refresh and Lightning support, and the P4, which states the lowest NETD of the group and an IR Eraser swipe view that reveals the visible image under the thermal one. Our TOPDON TC001 Plus review and TS001 review go through the individual modules.

The second lens

A thermal image on its own is a field of color with no edges, and on a phone screen that is hard to interpret. The modules that add a visible camera fix that: the TC001 Plus and TC001 Max carry a second lens and fuse the two images, the P4 does the same and adds IR Eraser and 15x digital zoom, and the FLIR ONE for Android uses MSX, which embosses visible edges onto the thermal picture. The TC001 achieves fusion with the phone camera instead of a built-in lens, which works but depends on the phone camera being aligned with the module. The P1 and TC002C Duo have no visible camera at all, which keeps them light and simple; the P1 is 0.62 oz and the TC002C Duo 1.1 oz. For a technician documenting a finding, the second lens is worth having. For a homeowner hunting a draft, it is optional.

Power, cables and cases

Every plug-in module here runs on phone power, and the listings that state a draw are consistent: Thermal Master states 0.32 W for 5 to 8 hours on the P1, TOPDON states 0.35 W for 4 to 7 hours on a 3000 to 5000 mAh phone for the TC001 and TS001, and the P4 states up to 5 hours. Cables matter because a module on the end of a 19.7-inch cable, which the TC001, TC001 Plus and TS001 include, can be pushed behind a water heater or above a ceiling tile while the phone stays in hand, and a 50 cm cable ships with the P1. TOPDON states the TC001 Max works without removing most phone cases. Accuracy figures come with conditions: TOPDON states within 3.6 F or 2 percent, Thermal Master plus or minus 3.6 F, and FLIR plus or minus 3 C or 5 percent only within a stated ambient and scene range.

Emissivity and what an Android module cannot see

A phone module reads surface temperature and nothing behind it. Shiny metal reads low because its emissivity is low and it reflects the room, so a bare copper line, an aluminum window frame or a stainless panel shows cold and may carry a warm reflection of the person holding the phone. The P1, P4 and RISION apps state adjustable emissivity; set it for the surface, or read a strip of tape on the metal instead. Step sideways to tell a reflection from a defect.

Related guides

The full cross-platform table, including the wireless FLIR Edge Pro and the Seek modules, is in the smartphone thermal camera guide; iPhone owners should read the iPhone thermal camera guide, which handles the Lightning and USB-C split.

How We Research

Android modules were compared on manufacturer listing statements: supported platforms, OTG and TISR notes, native detector resolution, upscaled output where quoted, visible camera and fusion, stated NETD and refresh rate, temperature range and accuracy, phone power draw or runtime, app measurement features and PC software. Owner feedback was reviewed for recurring comments on phone compatibility and app stability. We did not run laboratory tests or side-by-side imaging and publish no measurements. Amazon data supplies images, availability and links only.

Read our full review methodology→