As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.
For most industrial maintenance work, P1 is the pick. It carries a CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V safety rating, an IP67 enclosure, a stated 4 metre drop tolerance and up to 800 hours of battery, which is the combination that survives a plant floor. P2 is the better choice when the job is diagnosis rather than presence testing: it adds standalone logging with TrendCapture, a low pass filter for adjustable speed drives, and a LoZ function for ghost voltage. P3, P4 and P5 are air quality monitors, not multimeters, and are excluded from the comparison.
Why only two of the five listings are multimeters
The supplied set contains five products. Two are handheld multimeters. Three are indoor air quality monitors that measure particles, CO2, formaldehyde and volatile organic compounds. They have no test leads, no voltage input jacks and no safety category rating. They cannot measure voltage, current or resistance, so they cannot be used for industrial maintenance electrical work at all.
P3 is a particle counter. P4 is an eight-in-one air quality monitor. P5 is a TVOC, formaldehyde and particulate monitor. All three are legitimate instruments for a different job, and you can read about that class on our office air quality monitor comparison. They are excluded here because including them would pad the list with products that cannot do the task.
That leaves a genuine two-way choice, and it is a choice most industrial electricians eventually face: the meter you grab for everything, versus the meter you bring when the fault is intermittent or the drive is noisy.
What the safety category actually buys you in a plant
The CAT rating is not a marketing number. It describes the transient energy the meter can survive when it is connected to a circuit at a given point in the distribution system. CAT III covers distribution-level circuits: panel feeders, busbars, fixed wiring, motor branch circuits. CAT IV covers the origin of the installation, including the service entrance and the meter base, where the available fault energy is highest.
P1 is stated as CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V. That means it can be used at the service entrance up to 600 V, and on distribution circuits up to 1000 V. For most industrial maintenance, the panel work happens at CAT III, and the 1000 V figure covers the common 480 V and 600 V systems with margin.
P2’s listing does not publish a CAT rating. That is a real gap. It does not mean the meter is unsafe; it means the listing does not give you the figure you would normally use to justify using it on a live panel. If you need to document your test equipment for a safety programme, that absence matters. Ask the manufacturer for the rating before you put it across a live bus.
The second safety point is the one people forget. A meter is not an alarm and it is not a lockout device. It tells you what is present when you probe it. It does not tell you a circuit is dead; only a verified absence of voltage with a known-good meter does that, and even then the procedure around it is what keeps you alive.
Logging, filtering and the drive problem
Industrial maintenance is full of signals that a basic meter cannot show you properly. Motor drives are the classic case. The output of an adjustable speed drive is a pulse-width modulated waveform, not a clean sine wave. A true-RMS meter will try to read it and can give you a number that is technically true-RMS but practically meaningless, because the meter is averaging a switching waveform.
P2 addresses this directly. The listing states a low pass filter for accurate voltage and frequency measurements on adjustable speed motor drives. The filter removes the high-frequency switching content so the meter reads the fundamental. That is the difference between a number you can act on and a number that sends you chasing a fault that is not there. P2 also states a selectable AC filter, described as a smoothing mode, for a steadier reading when the input signal is changing rapidly or noisy.
P2’s other diagnostic feature is standalone logging. The listing states TrendCapture graphically displays a logged data session so you can see whether an anomaly occurred, with zoom up to 14 times. This is the feature that catches intermittent faults. You clamp the meter on a circuit, leave it, and come back to a graph rather than a single frozen reading. For a fault that only appears when a compressor kicks in, that is the whole game.
P1’s listing does not describe logging or drive filters. It is the meter you carry for presence testing, voltage checks, continuity, resistance, temperature via the built-in thermometer, and current with a clamp accessory. It is not the meter you leave on a circuit overnight.
The two multimeters that belong on this page
Fluke 87V MAX true-RMS multimeter
The ruggedised member of the 87 family. IP67, stated 4 metre drop tolerance, CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V, built-in thermometer, up to 800 hours battery, TL175 leads included.
Fluke 289 true-RMS logging multimeter
The diagnostic member of the family. Standalone logging with TrendCapture and zoom, selectable AC smoothing filter, low pass filter for drive measurements, and LoZ for ghost voltage.
Ruggedness, battery and the maintenance nobody mentions
P1’s listing is unusually specific about physical survival: IP67 rated for water and dust, and a stated 4 metre drop tolerance. IP67 means dust cannot enter and the enclosure survives temporary immersion. In a plant, that is the difference between a meter that keeps working after a washdown or a rain shower and one that does not.
The battery figure is also stated: up to 800 hours. That is not a battery chemistry claim, it is an operating time claim, and it depends on function and backlight use. Treat it as the manufacturer’s figure for the way they tested it. What matters practically is that a meter with a long stated runtime is less likely to die mid-shift, which is when people start borrowing cells from other instruments and creating a calibration problem.
P2’s listing does not publish a battery life figure, an IP rating or a drop rating. The listing does state that ShareLive video calling requires the ir3000 FC wireless connector, sold separately, and the Fluke Connect mobile app. That is an accessory you must buy to use the feature. If remote sharing is the reason you are considering P2, budget for the connector.
The maintenance nobody mentions is the leads. P1 includes TL175 test leads. Leads take the abuse that the meter avoids: they get yanked, coiled around the meter, pinched in panel doors, and left in the sun. A CAT-rated meter with damaged leads is not a CAT-rated meter. Check the lead insulation and the probe tips, and replace them rather than taping them up.
The stated specifications side by side
| Specification | P1 | P2 |
|---|---|---|
| True-RMS | Stated | Stated |
| Safety category | CAT III 1000 V, CAT IV 600 V | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| IP rating | IP67 | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Drop tolerance | Stated 4 metres | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Battery life | Up to 800 hours stated | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Built-in thermometer | Stated | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Standalone logging | Not stated in the listing bullets | TrendCapture with zoom up to 14 times |
| Drive filter | Not stated in the listing bullets | Low pass filter stated |
| Noise smoothing | Not stated in the listing bullets | Selectable AC filter stated |
| Ghost voltage function | Not stated in the listing bullets | LoZ stated |
| Remote sharing | Not stated in the listing bullets | ShareLive, requires ir3000 FC connector sold separately |
| Supplied leads | TL175 included | Not stated in the listing bullets |
The table is deliberately lopsided. P1’s listing is written around survival and safety; P2’s is written around diagnosis. Neither listing publishes the other’s headline figures, and you should not assume the missing entries are absent from the instrument. They are absent from the listing.
Where a multimeter stops being the right instrument
A multimeter reads a point in time at a point in space. That is its limit. When the fault is thermal, a meter will not show you the hot joint; you need a thermal camera for electrical maintenance. When the fault is a current waveform on a drive, a clamp meter with the right bandwidth may be the better tool, and we cover that in clamp meters for VFD measurements.
There is also a hard boundary on safety. Neither meter on this page is a gas detector, an insulation tester, a phase rotation meter or a ground resistance tester. If your procedure calls for an insulation resistance test at 500 V or 1000 V, a general purpose multimeter does not do it. If it calls for a live-dead-live verification, the meter is one part of that procedure, not the procedure.
The practical rule for industrial maintenance is this: buy the meter that matches the worst environment you actually work in, not the worst environment you can imagine. If you work on live panels and drop things, P1’s stated IP67 and 4 metre drop tolerance are worth more than any feature. If you chase intermittent faults and drive problems, P2’s logging and filters are worth more. Most maintenance teams end up with both, and that is not an accident.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use either of these on a live 480 V panel?
P1 is stated as CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V, which covers 480 V distribution work. P2's listing does not publish a CAT rating, so you cannot confirm its suitability for live panel work from the listing alone. Ask the manufacturer for the rating before you use it there.
Which one measures motor drive output properly?
P2. The listing states a low pass filter for accurate voltage and frequency measurements on adjustable speed motor drives. P1's listing does not describe a drive filter, so a drive output reading from P1 may include switching content you did not intend to measure.
Do I need the wireless connector for P2?
Only for the ShareLive video call feature. The listing states that feature requires the ir3000 FC wireless connector, sold separately, plus the Fluke Connect mobile app. Logging and TrendCapture work without it.
Is 800 hours of battery realistic?
It is the manufacturer's stated figure, not an independent measurement. Real runtime depends on which functions you use, backlight use and temperature. Treat it as a relative indicator that this meter is designed for long shifts.
Why are the air quality monitors on this page at all?
They were supplied with the topic but they are not multimeters. They have no test leads, no voltage inputs and no safety category rating, so they cannot perform industrial electrical maintenance measurements. They are excluded from the picks and listed here only so you know they were considered and set aside.
Does a multimeter replace a non-contact voltage tester or a lockout procedure?
No. A multimeter reads what is present at the probe tip. It is not an alarm, it is not a lockout device, and it does not by itself prove a circuit is de-energised. It is one instrument inside a procedure.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.




