As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.
Short answer: take the TOPDON TC001 Max for more captured pixels, published sensitivity and support for both USB-C and Lightning. Take the FLIR ONE Pro if you are new to thermal imaging and want an app that tells you what you are looking at.
What Each Listing States
| Item | FLIR ONE Pro | TOPDON TC001 Max |
|---|---|---|
| Native thermal | 160 x 120 | 256 x 192 |
| Presented image | 480 x 360 via Vivid IR | 512 x 384 via TISR |
| Sensitivity | Not stated | 40 mK or better |
| Refresh rate | Not stated | 25 Hz |
| Visible camera | Yes, drives MSX | Yes, dual lens |
| Connectors | USB-C, iPhone 15 and newer | USB-C and Lightning adapters |
| Case friendly | Not stated | Works without removing most phone cases |
| App extras | Step by step inspection guides | Not stated in the bullets |
The Small Details That Decide Daily Use
One line in the TOPDON listing is worth more than it looks: the camera works without removing most phone cases. Anyone who has owned a plug-in accessory knows why. A camera that demands the case comes off gets used half as often, because taking a case off on a ladder or in a crawlspace is not something you do casually. Likewise, both cameras draw power from the phone rather than carrying their own battery, which means there is nothing to charge and nothing to be flat, at the cost of some phone battery per session.
What the Guided Workflow Is Worth
The FLIR app states inspection guides that walk through common faults. If you have never interpreted a thermal image, this is the single most valuable feature on either product, because the hard part is not taking the picture. Reflections read as hot spots on shiny metal. Emissivity differences make a painted surface and a bare one look like a temperature difference when they are not. Studs behind drywall look like cold bands that alarm people who have not seen them before. Structured guidance shortens all of that.
If you already know those traps, the guidance is dead weight and the hardware specification is the whole argument, which puts the TOPDON ahead.
Both Headline Numbers Are Processed
The FLIR states 480 by 360 from a 160 by 120 capture; the TOPDON states 512 by 384 from a 256 by 192 capture. The presented figures are close and the captured figures are not, which is exactly why you compare the native number. At 256 by 192 the TOPDON resolves genuinely smaller targets at a given distance. Whether you need that depends on the work, as thermal camera resolution explained sets out.
Who Buys Which
- Homeowner buying a first thermal camera: FLIR ONE Pro.
- Trade user, mixed phones in the crew: TC001 Max, for both connectors.
- Anyone chasing small targets: TC001 Max, for the native 256 by 192.
- Anyone who wants the camera away from the phone: FLIR ONE Pro versus Edge Pro.
How We Research
All figures come from the manufacturer listings. We did not run laboratory tests and publish no measurements of our own. Our ranking is in the thermal imaging camera roundup.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which connects to more devices?
The TC001 Max, whose listing states USB-C and Lightning adapters and names Android, iPhone and Windows. The FLIR ONE Pro version quoted here plugs into USB-C iPhones, iPhone 15 and newer.
Which has the better detector?
On stated figures the TOPDON: 256 by 192 native against 160 by 120. The TOPDON also publishes 25 Hz and 40 mK, which the FLIR bullets do not.
Does either need a battery?
Neither. Both take power from the device. The TC001 Max listing states no batteries, charging or wireless pairing are required, and notes it works without removing most phone cases.
Which is easier for a beginner?
The FLIR, because its app states step by step inspection guides for common faults. Reading a thermal image is a learned skill and that guidance shortens the learning curve.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.


