Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products
Review

Fluke ST120+ GFCI Socket Tester Review: One Tool, One Job

The ST120+ is a receptacle tester, not a meter. It tells you whether an outlet is wired correctly and whether its GFCI trips, and it beeps so you can hear which breaker feeds it. That is the whole of it. The question is whether that is the job you actually have.

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Fluke ST120+ GFCI Socket Tester Review: One Tool, One Job

Fluke · Fluke ST120+ GFCI Socket Tester with Audible Beeper

View on Amazon

Price and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.

Buy the ST120+ if your work is simple: you need to know whether a 120 V receptacle is wired correctly and whether its GFCI protection actually trips, and you want an audible signal to identify the right breaker. Do not buy it expecting voltage readings, current measurement, resistance, or a record of anything. The listing publishes no voltage range, no accuracy figure, and no wiring-fault code table, so anyone who needs numbers rather than pass or fail should look at a multimeter or a clamp meter instead. The single strongest reason this device earns a place in a bag is the beeper: it converts a two-person breaker hunt into a one-person job.

What a socket tester actually proves, and what it cannot

A socket tester is a small array of indicator lamps wired across the live, neutral and ground pins of a plug. Each lamp lights when the voltage across its pair of pins is present. By comparing which lamps glow, the device reports a miswired outlet: reversed hot and neutral, an open ground, an open neutral, an open hot. It is a go or no-go instrument, not a measuring instrument. It does not tell you how many volts are present, only that enough are present to strike a lamp.

The ST120+ follows that model. The listing states bright LEDs for fast identification of miswired outlets. It does not publish the fault code table, the lamp thresholds, or the voltage range over which the lamps behave correctly. That is worth knowing before you buy, because it means you cannot quote a minimum voltage from this page. The manufacturer’s own documentation is where those details live.

The GFCI button is the second function and arguably the more valuable one. Pressing it places a calibrated resistance between hot and neutral, drawing a small current that should exceed the trip threshold of a working ground fault circuit interrupter. If the GFCI is healthy, it opens the circuit. If it does not open, the device has just told you something serious. What it does not tell you is how long the trip took, at what leakage current it tripped, or whether the trip was within the time limits a standards test would require. A pass here means the device trips, not that it meets a specification.

Neither function replaces a multimeter. If you need to read voltage, check continuity, or measure resistance, this is the wrong tool and the listing makes no claim otherwise. The Fluke 117 review covers the instrument that does that work.

The beeper is the reason to pick this version

The plain ST120 and the ST120+ differ in one respect that matters in the field: the plus model has an audible beeper. The listing frames its purpose directly, to help identify whether a breaker is switched on or off, eliminating multiple trips back and forth.

Think about the actual workflow. You are at a receptacle with the tester plugged in. The panel is down a flight of stairs or across a building. Without a beeper you plug in, walk to the panel, flip a breaker, walk back, look at the lamps, walk to the panel again. With a beeper you plug in, walk to the panel once, and listen while you work through the breakers. The tone stops or starts when you hit the right one. On a large panel, or in a building where the receptacle is not visible from the panel, that is the difference between a five-minute job and a twenty-minute one.

The listing does not state the beeper’s volume, its tone, or whether it can be switched off. If you work in occupied buildings, an unswitchable audible indicator is a consideration, and the listing does not resolve it. Check the manufacturer’s documentation if that matters to you.

Build, size and the absence of published numbers

The listing describes the unit as compact and rugged, intended for use at every job. It gives no dimensions, no weight, no ingress protection rating, and no drop specification. Rugged is a marketing word until a number backs it up, and here there is no number. Treat the claim as an indication of intent rather than a guarantee.

What the listing also does not publish: the operating voltage range, the current drawn by the GFCI test, the trip threshold it presents, the lamp colour code, the presence or absence of a case, and whether the plug pins are replaceable. Every one of those is a question a buyer might reasonably ask, and none of them can be answered from the supplied bullets. This page will not guess at them.

That silence is not unusual for a device of this class. A socket tester is a cheap, sealed, moulded article. Manufacturers publish few numbers because there are few numbers that change a purchase decision. But it does mean you should not treat this review as a specification sheet. It is not one, and the listing does not provide the material for one.

Where the ST120+ stops being the right answer

This tool is wrong for anyone who needs to record a measurement. If your task is to document voltage at a panel, log current on a feeder, or trend power quality over a shift, the ST120+ contributes nothing. Those jobs need a recorder or an analyser, and the site’s electrical tester comparison sets out the wider field.

It is also wrong for anyone diagnosing an intermittent fault. A socket tester gives a snapshot. If a receptacle works nine times out of ten and fails on the tenth, a single plug-in proves nothing. Intermittent faults need a meter left connected, or a logger, or a thermal camera looking for a warm termination. The thermal cameras for electrical inspection page covers that second approach.

It is wrong for three-phase work, for DC circuits, for anything above ordinary mains voltage, and for anyone outside the plug format it is built for. The listing gives no indication of which plug standard the device uses, which is a genuine gap. Confirm the pin configuration matches the receptacles you work on before ordering.

And it is wrong as a substitute for a full electrical inspection. A correctly wired, tripping GFCI can still sit on a circuit with a loose neutral, an undersized conductor, or a shared neutral fault. The tester sees the face of the receptacle, not the circuit behind it.

Maintenance and the habit that keeps it honest

There is nothing to calibrate and nothing to adjust. That is precisely the risk. A tester that never drifts on paper is a tester nobody checks, and a failed lamp or a stuck GFCI button will produce a false pass that looks exactly like a true one.

The practical habit is a known-good reference. Once a month, plug the unit into a receptacle you have verified with a meter, and confirm the lamps light in the expected pattern. Then press the GFCI button on a circuit you know trips. If either behaviour changes, the tester is suspect, not the building. The listing does not mention a self-test function, so this manual check is the only assurance available.

Physical care is simple: keep the pins clean, keep the body out of puddles, and do not use it as a lever. The listing makes no ingress or impact claim, so treat it as the moulded plastic article it is.

The verdict on the Fluke ST120+

Buy it if your job is to check receptacles and confirm GFCI trip function, repeatedly, across a building, and you want the breaker hunt to be a one-person task. The beeper is the feature that justifies the plus model over a plain tester, and the GFCI button is the function that earns it a permanent place in a pouch.

Do not buy it if you need numbers. This device reports patterns of light and a tone. It does not report volts, amps, ohms, or time. The listing publishes no voltage range, no accuracy, no trip threshold and no dimensions, and this review will not invent them. If you need measurement rather than verification, a multimeter or a clamp meter is the correct purchase, and the electrical fault finders page covers the wider set of tools for tracing problems.

Fluke ST120+ GFCI Socket Tester with Audible Beeper

Fluke ST120+ GFCI Socket Tester with Audible Beeper

View on Amazon
ETCR ETCR8430 3-Phase Power Recorder USB Power Quality Analyzer | 6-Channel Voltage & Current Data Logger, 0.01V-600V, 1mA-400A

ETCR ETCR8430 3-Phase Power Recorder USB Power Quality Analyzer |

View on Amazon
Klein Tools CL910 Digital Clamp Meter, 2000A AC/DC Auto Ranging & Worklight | with TRMS, AC/DC Volt, Current, LoZ, Resistance, Continuity, Frequency, Duty-Cycle, Capacitance, More

Klein Tools CL910 Digital Clamp Meter, 2000A AC/DC Auto Ranging

View on Amazon
2026 Upgraded FS899L Digital Multimeter & 20 pcs Silicone Test Leads Kit, USB-C Rechargeable Color Screen, Auto 6000 Counts True RMS AC/DC Voltage Tester, NCV, CAT.III 1000V

2026 Upgraded FS899L Digital Multimeter & 20 pcs Silicone Test

View on Amazon

Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the ST120+ measure voltage?

No. The listing describes LEDs that identify miswired outlets and a GFCI test button. It publishes no voltage display and no voltage range. If you need a number, use a multimeter.

What does the beeper actually do?

The listing states it helps identify whether a breaker is switched on or off, eliminating trips back and forth. In practice you plug the tester in, go to the panel once, and listen while you operate breakers.

Does a pass on the GFCI button mean the outlet is safe?

It means the GFCI tripped when the tester presented its test load. The listing does not publish the trip current, the trip time, or any standards limit, so it is not a timed or measured verification. It is a functional check.

Can I use it on three-phase or DC circuits?

No. It is a receptacle tester in a plug format. The listing does not state which plug standard it uses, so confirm the pin configuration matches your receptacles before ordering.

Will it find an intermittent fault?

Not reliably. A socket tester gives a snapshot at the moment you plug it in. Intermittent faults need a meter left connected, a logger, or a thermal camera.

Does it come with a case or replacement pins?

Not stated in the listing bullets. The listing mentions only the GFCI test button, the LEDs, the compact rugged design and the beeper.

Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.