Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products
Guide

Multimeters With Wireless Measurement Workflows: Five Picks Compared

A wireless multimeter is not simply a meter with an app. The radio link changes where the reading lives, who can see it, and whether the measurement survives the day. The five listings here take four different routes to that idea, and two of them are not wireless at all.

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

For a workflow that genuinely moves readings off the instrument, P1 is the pick that the listing describes in most detail: Fluke states ShareLive video calls and TrendCapture graphical logging, with the caveat that the ir3000 FC wireless connector is sold separately. P2 is the pick where the wireless part is a current clamp rather than the meter itself, which suits PV string work where you want the amp reading taken at the module. P5 is the pick for bench work that ends at a computer rather than a phone, because the listing states internal storage for up to 1,000 points and export to a PC. P3 and P4 are included because they appear under this topic, but neither listing describes a wireless workflow, and the page says so rather than pretending otherwise.

What the word wireless is doing on each of these five listings

Wireless measurement is a chain, not a feature. A reading has to be taken, held, moved across a radio link, and then shown somewhere other than the meter screen. Every link in that chain can be missing. On this page, two listings describe the full chain, one describes radio at the clamp rather than the meter, and two describe no chain at all.

P1 is the clearest example of the full chain. The listing states that results can be shared with your team using ShareLive video call, and that this requires the ir3000 FC wireless connector, which is sold separately, plus the no-cost Fluke Connect mobile app. Read that carefully: the meter logs on its own, but the radio link needs a part that is not in the box. The same listing states TrendCapture graphically displays a logged session, with zoom up to 14 times. So the local workflow is complete without the connector; the remote workflow is not.

P2 does something different. The wireless device is the a283 FC current clamp, and the listing says current measurements up to 60 A AC/DC are possible when using it. In PV string work, that matters because you are often standing at a combiner or a roof array where clamping a string conductor is easier than breaking the circuit for a series reading. The meter carries the safety rating, CAT III 1500 V and CAT IV 1000 V, and ships with Staubli MC4 leads and TL175-HV leads. The wireless clamp is the part that keeps your hands away from the live string while the number appears elsewhere.

P5 is not wireless in the radio sense, and the listing does not claim it is. It records manually or automatically into internal storage, up to 1,000 points, and the data can be exported to a computer, with chart mode for trend analysis and SCPI support. For a bench or repair bench, a cable to a PC is a workflow. It is worth saying plainly: if your team needs to see a reading while you are on a ladder, P5 is the wrong tool. If your work ends at a desk, the cable is not a limitation.

P3 and P4 are on this page because they were supplied under this topic, not because their listings describe wireless measurement. P3 states smart auto mode, non-contact voltage detection, CAT II 600 V and a 4000 count display. P4 states a 20 A, 60 V photovoltaic tester reading Pmax, open-circuit voltage and short-circuit current on an LCD. Neither listing mentions an app, a radio link or data export. They are useful comparisons for what a non-wireless meter does well, and the method note records that they were kept only for that reason.

How logged data actually gets out of the instrument

The three logging routes on this page are not interchangeable, and the difference shows up the moment you try to hand a record to somebody else. The table below uses only what the listings state.

Pick Wireless or data route stated Required accessory stated Storage or log limit stated
P1 ShareLive video call via Fluke Connect app; TrendCapture logged session display ir3000 FC wireless connector, sold separately, plus no-cost app Not stated in the listing bullets
P2 Wireless current clamp, a283 FC, for current up to 60 A AC/DC a283 FC wireless current clamp, included in the kit as listed Not stated in the listing bullets
P3 None stated None stated Not stated in the listing bullets
P4 None stated None stated Not stated in the listing bullets
P5 Export to computer; SCPI support; chart mode trend analysis Computer connection, cable not specified in the listing Up to 1,000 recorded points in internal storage

The practical question is what happens when the person who took the reading walks away. With P1, the listing’s ShareLive function is a live call, which means the sharing is real-time and the record is the logged session you captured. With P5, the record is a file you move at the end of the session, and the 1,000 point ceiling is a real ceiling: a fast-changing signal recorded at a short interval will fill it sooner than a slow one.

P2’s wireless clamp changes the measurement position rather than the record. The listing does not state a logging capacity or an export path for the kit, so treat the wireless part as a safer way to take an amp reading, not as a data management system. That is a meaningful distinction when a procedure requires a retained record, not just a number seen once.

The Five Listings, and What Each One Actually Sends

Fluke 289 True-RMS Stand Alone Logging Multimeter

The listing describes logged sessions displayed as TrendCapture graphs with zoom up to 14 times, and sharing through ShareLive video call using the Fluke Connect app. It also states that the ir3000 FC wireless connector is sold separately, so the wireless function is not in the box.

View on Amazon

Fluke 283FC/PV Kit with 60A Wireless Current Clamp

The wireless element here is the a283 FC clamp, which the listing says handles current measurements up to 60 A AC/DC while you troubleshoot individual PV strings. The meter itself is a CAT III 1500 V / CAT IV 1000 V true-RMS unit supplied with MC4 and TL175-HV leads.

View on Amazon

TESMEN TM-510 Smart Digital Multimeter

The listing describes smart auto mode, non-contact voltage detection, a 4000 count display and CAT II 600 V rating. It does not describe any wireless link, app or data export, so it belongs on this page only as the non-wireless end of the comparison.

View on Amazon

VEYFIY Portable Solar Panel Tester

The listing describes a photovoltaic tester rated to 20 A and 60 V that reads Pmax, open-circuit voltage and short-circuit current on an LCD. No wireless function, app or data transfer is stated.

View on Amazon

Labloot LB1041 Bench Digital Multimeter

The listing states manual and auto record into internal storage for up to 1,000 points, chart mode trend analysis, SCPI support and export to a computer. The data workflow is wired, not radio, but it is a real logging workflow.

View on Amazon

The accessory trap: what is in the box and what is not

Wireless multimeter listings fail buyers in a predictable way. The radio is described in the headline, and the part that provides the radio is described in a parenthesis. P1 is the clearest case on this page: ShareLive requires the ir3000 FC wireless connector, which the listing explicitly says is sold separately. Buy the meter expecting a phone link and you will find the logging works and the sharing does not.

P2 is the opposite arrangement. The kit listing states that it includes the multimeter, the wireless current clamp and test leads, with Staubli MC4 leads and TL175-HV leads named. The safety rating belongs to the meter and the leads: CAT III 1500 V and CAT IV 1000 V. That matters for PV work because the measurement category describes the transient environment the instrument is built to survive, not the steady voltage you expect to see. A 1500 V DC array is not a 1500 V category claim by itself; the category and the working voltage are separate statements, and the listing gives both.

P5’s accessory is a computer and whatever cable the bench already has. The listing states export to a computer and SCPI support but does not name a cable or interface in the bullets, so check that before you plan the workflow. P3 and P4 need no accessories for what they do, because what they do is display a reading locally.

One more trap is not about radio at all. The P1 listing states a low pass filter for voltage and frequency measurements on adjustable speed motor drives, and a LoZ voltage function for eliminating ghost voltages. Those are measurement functions, not wireless functions, and they are the reason somebody doing drive work might choose P1 over a cheaper meter with an app. If your interest in this page is the drive work, the VFD troubleshooting meters comparison covers that ground directly.

Where a wireless workflow stops being the right answer

Wireless adds a battery, a pairing step and a failure mode. It earns its place when the reading has to travel: to a second person, to a record, or to a position you cannot safely occupy. It does not earn its place when the meter is on a bench in front of you, or when the job is one quick continuity check.

P5 is the honest example. Its listing describes a 3.5 inch 480×320 TFT screen, 55,000 counts, DC voltage accuracy up to 0.05 percent, true RMS AC voltage and current, and a replaceable fuse with a spare supplied. That is a bench instrument, and its data route is a cable. If you want a bench meter, the wireless question is irrelevant. The dual display multimeters comparison is a better starting point for that kind of work.

P3 and P4 show the other end. P3 is a CAT II 600 V smart meter with non-contact voltage detection, data hold, auto shutdown, backlight and flashlight. P4 is a 20 A, 60 V PV tester reading Pmax, open-circuit voltage and short-circuit current. Both are local-reading tools. Neither listing claims wireless, and neither should be bought expecting it.

There is also a safety boundary that no wireless feature moves. A meter is not an alarm and not a lockout. P2’s visual and audio polarity indicators help prevent accidental module wiring issues, and that is a useful check during installation, but it does not replace a commissioning procedure. P1’s LoZ function tells you whether a ghost voltage is present; it does not make a circuit dead. If the job is proving absence of voltage before touching conductors, the instrument class that does that is covered under electrical testers, and a general multimeter is not a substitute.

Maintenance and the habits that keep a wireless meter trustworthy

Radio links fail quietly. A paired meter that stops sending usually has a flat battery in the connector, not a broken meter. P1’s wireless path depends on a separate ir3000 FC connector, which means a separate battery and a separate thing to check before you blame the meter. Keep the connector with the meter, not in a different case, or the workflow dies on the day you need it.

Leads and fuses are the other recurring cost. P5’s listing states a replaceable line fuse in a plastic fuse box below the power line input on the rear panel, with a spare fuse supplied. That is a maintenance item you can plan for. P2’s leads are safety-rated parts, and the listing names them, so replacements should match the stated CAT III 1500 V and CAT IV 1000 V ratings rather than whatever is on the shelf.

Calibration is the habit nobody enjoys. None of these listings states a calibration interval, so the interval comes from your procedure or your quality system, not from the product page. What the listings do give you is the accuracy claim you are calibrating against: P5 states DC voltage accuracy up to 0.05 percent, and the others do not state an accuracy figure in the bullets. If a tolerance decision depends on that number, you need the full manual, not the listing.

Finally, treat any consumer-grade accuracy claim with suspicion. P3’s listing describes a 4000 count display and a CAT II 600 V rating, which is consistent with a general-purpose meter for household and automotive checks. If a listing in this class ever claims a very fine accuracy figure, check whether it is quoting display resolution rather than measurement accuracy; a 4000 count display resolves to about one part in 4000, and that is a resolution statement, not an accuracy statement. The same caution applies to P4’s solar readings: the listing states the ranges and the parameters, not a measurement uncertainty, so compare panels against each other rather than treating the absolute number as a reference.

Fluke 289 True-RMS Stand Alone Logging Multimeter

Fluke 289 True-RMS Stand Alone Logging Multimeter

View on Amazon
Fluke 283FC/PV Kit - CAT III 1500V True-RMS Digital Multimeter with 60A Wireless AC/DC Current Clamp and MC4 Connectors (Pack of 1)

Fluke 283FC/PV Kit - CAT III 1500V True-RMS Digital Multimeter

View on Amazon
TM-510 Digital Multimeter, 4000 Counts, Smart Measurement, Auto-Ranging Voltmeter; Voltage Tester with Non-Contact Voltage Function, Measures AC/DC Voltage, Resistance, Continuity – Green

TM-510 Digital Multimeter, 4000 Counts, Smart Measurement, Auto-Ranging Voltmeter; Voltage

View on Amazon
VEYFIY Portable Solar Panel Tester with Photovoltaic Multimeter and Watt Meter, 20A 60V ABS Housing for Field Efficiency Measurement(200W)

VEYFIY Portable Solar Panel Tester with Photovoltaic Multimeter and Watt

View on Amazon
Labloot LB1041 Bench Digital Multimeter 55000 Counts DC/AC Voltmeter Ammeter HZ Temp Diode Continuity Tester Desktop Multimeters

Labloot LB1041 Bench Digital Multimeter 55000 Counts DC/AC Voltmeter Ammeter

View on Amazon

Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which of these meters can send a reading to a phone without buying anything extra?

On the stated listings, none of them is fully self-contained for phone sharing. P1 states ShareLive requires the ir3000 FC wireless connector, sold separately, plus the no-cost Fluke Connect app. P2 includes a wireless current clamp in the kit as listed, but the listing describes the clamp as the wireless element, not the meter. P3 and P4 state no wireless function at all.

Do I need the wireless feature to log data?

No. P1 states TrendCapture displays a logged session on the meter itself, so the logging and the graph do not depend on the radio link. P5 states manual and auto record into internal storage up to 1,000 points, with export to a computer. Wireless changes where the data goes, not whether it can be captured.

Is the P2 kit a wireless multimeter or a multimeter plus a wireless clamp?

The listing describes a CAT III 1500 V / CAT IV 1000 V true-RMS multimeter, a wireless current clamp and test leads as the kit contents. The wireless part is the a283 FC clamp, which the listing says enables current measurements up to 60 A AC/DC. The meter's own wireless behaviour is not described in the bullets.

Can I use P2 on a 1500 V PV array?

The listing states CAT III 1500 V and CAT IV 1000 V safety ratings and includes MC4 test leads rated CAT III 1500 V. That is the safety category claim as stated. It does not tell you the maximum working voltage of your specific array, and it does not replace your site procedure. Match the category and the working voltage to the system you are testing.

What does P5 not do that the wireless meters do?

The listing describes export to a computer and SCPI support, not a radio link. If somebody needs to watch the reading while you are at the panel, or you need to share a live view, P5 does not provide that. It provides a stored record of up to 1,000 points that you move afterwards.

Why are P3 and P4 on a page about wireless measurement?

They were supplied under this topic, but their listings do not describe a wireless workflow, an app or a data export. They are included as the local-reading end of the comparison, and the method note records that they were kept only on that basis. Do not buy either one expecting wireless data.

Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.