As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Protimeter · Protimeter SurveyMaster Dual-Function Moisture Meter - BLD5375
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
The SurveyMaster BLD5375 is a dual-function moisture meter: pin mode drives a small current between two electrodes to read electrical resistance, while non-invasive mode uses a capacitive field to sense moisture below the surface without making holes. The listing documents the mode switch, a larger display, roughly triple the battery life of earlier models, Bluetooth logging through the Protimeter Connect app, configurable auto shut-off, backlight and buzzer, and automatic calibration checks every 50 power cycles, plus field calibration for the non-invasive mode and over-the-air firmware updates. It does not publish measurement range, accuracy figures, or a pin electrode type, so treat those as unknowns. If you need a fast area scan before spot-checking, pair it with a thermal imager rather than expecting the meter to find hidden moisture on its own.
Resistance pins and a capacitive field: the two sensing mechanisms in one housing
The pin side of the SurveyMaster is the older and simpler mechanism. Two electrodes are pushed into the material, a small voltage is applied across them, and the meter measures how much current flows. Dry wood, drywall and concrete are poor conductors; water is a much better one. As moisture content rises, resistance between the pins falls, and the meter converts that resistance into a moisture reading. The depth of the reading is therefore set by how far the pins go in, not by any setting on the screen.
The non-invasive side works on a different principle. A pad on the back of the instrument emits a low-power capacitive field and measures how the field is disturbed by the material underneath. Water has a much higher dielectric constant than dry building material, so a wet patch changes the field more than a dry one. Nothing penetrates the surface, which is why this mode is used on finished drywall, tile or a boat hull where pin holes would be unacceptable.
The two modes are not interchangeable. Pin mode reads at the pin tips and gives a resistance-based value that can be compared with published moisture-content tables for a specific material. Non-invasive mode reads a volume of material under the pad, and the listing does not publish a depth of field or a material calibration table. The listing does say the non-invasive mode has a field calibration, which is the manufacturer’s acknowledgement that this sensor can drift and needs a reference point.
What the listing publishes about the measurement itself, and what it does not
The listing is explicit about features and silent about the numbers a surveyor would normally want first. It names wood, drywall, concrete and fiberglass boat hulls as target materials. It states a larger display than previous models, a battery life three times longer than previous models, Bluetooth to the Protimeter Connect app with time and date stamps on saved readings, adjustable auto shut-off from 0 to 10 minutes, backlight, buzzer and moisture indicators, automatic calibration checks every 50 power cycles, field calibration for the non-invasive mode, and over-the-air firmware upgrades.
It does not publish a measurement range in percent moisture content, an accuracy figure, a resolution, a pin electrode type or length, a non-invasive depth, or a battery chemistry and count. Those are the figures that decide whether the meter suits a given material and a given standard. The absence is not unusual for a listing of this kind, but it means the buyer cannot compare the BLD5375 with a competitor on measurement performance from the page alone.
| Published item | Detail in the listing |
|---|---|
| Modes | Pin and non-invasive, switchable |
| Named materials | Wood, drywall, concrete, fiberglass boat hulls |
| Display | Larger than previous models |
| Battery life | Three times longer than previous models |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth to Protimeter Connect app, time and date stamps |
| Auto shut-off | Adjustable, 0 to 10 minutes |
| Calibration | Automatic check every 50 power cycles; field calibration for non-invasive mode |
| Firmware | Over-the-air updates |
| Measurement range | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Accuracy | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Pin type and length | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Non-invasive depth | Not stated in the listing bullets |
Why the 50-cycle calibration check matters more than the display size
Every resistance meter drifts. The pins corrode, the internal reference ages, and the contact resistance at the pin tip changes with how hard the user pushes. A calibration check every 50 power cycles is a scheduled self-test: the instrument compares its internal reference against a known standard and flags a problem before the readings quietly go wrong. For a surveyor who turns the meter on and off several times a day, 50 cycles arrives within a couple of weeks of regular use, so the check is frequent enough to catch a failing pin before a report is signed.
The field calibration for the non-invasive mode is a different thing. Capacitive sensors are sensitive to the surface they are pressed against, to the user’s hand position, and to the material behind the surface. A field calibration lets the user set a reference on a known-dry area of the same material, so that subsequent readings are relative to that baseline. That is how the mode is meant to be used: not as an absolute moisture-content reading, but as a comparative scan. The listing does not publish a calibration standard or a tolerance, so the user cannot know from the page how close to correct the reference is.
The over-the-air firmware updates matter for the same reason. A meter that can be updated can have its material curves or its calibration routine revised without leaving the owner’s hands. Whether Protimeter has issued such updates is not something the listing states.
Bluetooth logging and the record-keeping the listing implies
The Bluetooth link to the Protimeter Connect app is the part of the listing that changes how the meter is used in practice. Pin readings taken in a hurry are easy to lose; a reading saved with a time and date stamp in an app becomes part of a record. For a home inspector writing a report, that record is the difference between a claim and evidence. The listing does not say whether the app stores photographs, notes or location data alongside the reading, only that readings are saved and downloaded with time and date stamps.
The app also raises a question the listing does not answer: whether the meter can log readings without a phone present, and how many readings it can hold internally. A surveyor working in a basement with no signal will want to know. The listing is silent on internal memory, on the app’s platform support, and on whether the Bluetooth connection is required for normal pin use. In practice the meter works as a meter without the app; the app adds the record.
For readers comparing this with a thermal imager, the useful division of labour is that an imager finds the area and the meter confirms it. Our guide to using thermal imaging to look for moisture problems sets out that workflow, and the thermal cameras for home inspection page covers the instruments that do the scanning half.
Where the SurveyMaster stops being the right instrument
A moisture meter measures moisture, not mould, not rot and not the cause of the moisture. A dry reading at the pin tips does not prove the wall cavity is dry, because the pins only read where they reach. A wet reading does not tell you whether the source is a leak, condensation or rising damp; that requires a thermal scan and a look at the building. Our page on whether a moisture meter can detect mould explains the limit plainly.
The non-invasive mode is a comparative tool, not an absolute one. It is good for finding the edge of a wet patch and for checking a large area quickly. It is poor for deciding whether a specific timber is above a required moisture threshold, because the listing publishes no material curves for that mode and no depth of field. For that decision, pin mode on the correct material setting is the right tool, and the material setting is the part the user must get right. Our explanation of why moisture meter readings vary by material covers the reason a single number cannot be carried from drywall to oak.
Finally, the BLD5375 is a survey instrument, not an alarm. It does not run continuously, it does not log unattended, and it does not warn anyone. If the job is to watch a building over time, the meter is the wrong shape of device.
The SurveyMaster in one paragraph
The BLD5375 is a sensible choice for an inspector or serious DIY user who wants both a pin reading and a quick non-invasive scan in one housing, and who values the Bluetooth record and the scheduled calibration check. The listing is honest about features and thin on measurement figures, so the buyer should ask the manufacturer for the range, accuracy and pin type before committing to a material-specific job. It is not a substitute for a thermal imager when the task is to find hidden moisture, and it is not an alarm. Buy it as the confirmation tool in a two-instrument workflow, not as the only instrument in the bag.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the non-invasive mode give a percent moisture content reading?
The listing does not say. It describes the mode as a way to assess moisture in materials without pins, and it lists a field calibration for that mode, which suggests comparative use. No percent scale, depth or material curve for the non-invasive mode is published in the listing bullets.
What is the measurement range and accuracy of the pin mode?
Not stated in the listing bullets. The page names the materials the meter is intended for but publishes no range in percent moisture content, no accuracy figure and no resolution. Those figures would need to come from the manufacturer's datasheet.
How long do the batteries last, and what type are they?
The listing states that battery life is three times longer than previous models. It does not publish a run time in hours, a battery chemistry or a battery count. The auto shut-off is adjustable from 0 to 10 minutes, which is the main user control over consumption.
Can I use it on a fiberglass boat hull without damaging the gelcoat?
The listing names fiberglass boat hulls among the materials the meter is intended for, and the non-invasive mode is the one that does not penetrate the surface. The listing does not publish a depth of field for that mode, so how deep the reading goes into the laminate is not stated.
Does the Bluetooth app work without a signal?
The listing does not say. It states that readings are saved and downloaded with time and date stamps through the Protimeter Connect app. Whether the app buffers readings offline, and whether the meter holds readings internally without a phone, is not published.
Is this meter a substitute for a thermal camera when tracing a leak?
No. A thermal imager shows temperature differences across a large area, which is how a wet patch is usually found; the meter confirms moisture at the point where the pins or pad are placed. The two do different jobs, and the listing makes no thermal imaging claim for this product.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





