As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

TENMARS · Solar Power Meter, Handheld Solar Irradiance Meter with 2000 W/m², 634 BTU/(ft²·h) Range, MAX/MIN/Data Hold, Digital Sun Meter and Solar Radiation Meter for Solar Panels and Outdoor Testing
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
The TENMARS meter is a plain handheld irradiance sensor with a 0 to 1999 W/m2 range, a manual 199.9 or 1999 scale choice, and a stated accuracy of plus or minus 10 W/m2 or plus or minus 5 percent. It does not measure panel voltage, current or power, so it sits below the Fabater FT 2000W tester in what it can prove about a panel and beside the AquaHorti AH-SOL as a second irradiance option. Buy it if you need a sun reading to normalise another measurement; do not buy it expecting a fault finder.
What the listing says this meter measures, and what it does not
The title and bullets describe a solar irradiance meter. That phrase is doing real work. The instrument reports how much solar energy lands on a surface per unit area, in watts per square metre, or in BTU per square foot per hour on the second scale. It does not report panel output, open circuit voltage, short circuit current or maximum power point.
That distinction matters because the site already carries products that do the other job. The Fabater FT 2000W tester is listed as a PV module tester for Voc and Isc, and the BOCEUC MC4 test lead is an accessory for taking a multimeter into a PV circuit. If your question is “is this panel producing what it should”, an irradiance meter alone cannot answer it. If your question is “how much sun is there right now”, this meter is aimed squarely at that.
The listing publishes the following figures: a range of 0 to 1999 W/m2, a range of 0 to 634 BTU/(ft2 h), a manual choice between a 199.9 and a 1999 scale, accuracy of plus or minus 10 W/m2 or plus or minus 5 percent, a 2.5 second refresh rate, a 9V battery life of 100 hours, and dimensions of 140 x 65 x 37.5 mm. A carrying case is included. Nothing else is stated.
The two-scale design and why the resolution choice is manual
A wide range and a fine resolution pull against each other on a fixed-resolution display. The TENMARS listing resolves this the way most handheld meters do: it gives you a 199.9 scale and a 1999 scale and asks you to pick. On the 199.9 scale the last digit represents a tenth of a watt per square metre; on the 1999 scale it represents a whole watt. The listing does not publish the display digit count, so the exact step size is not stated in the listing bullets.
In practice you select the lower scale when the sun is weak, for example under overcast or indoors near a window, and the higher scale in direct sun where a 199.9 reading would simply over-range. The listing presents this as a way to get clear readings in both full sun and low indoor light, and that is a fair description of what a manual range switch does.
One consequence is worth flagging. A manual range means a manual mistake is possible: taking a reading on the wrong scale and not noticing the decimal point. Get into the habit of reading the scale indicator as well as the number.
The accuracy claim, read carefully
The listing states accuracy as plus or minus 10 W/m2 or plus or minus 5 percent. This is a dual specification, and the usual reading of that form is whichever figure is larger applies. At low irradiance the fixed 10 W/m2 dominates; at high irradiance the 5 percent dominates. The listing does not state which, so treat the exact crossover as unpublished.
What the listing also does not publish is the calibration reference, the spectral response, the temperature coefficient or the calibration interval. Those are the figures that would let a technician judge whether the meter is suitable for contractual performance testing. For routine field work, a stated accuracy band and a 2.5 second refresh are enough to tell you whether conditions are stable while you take another measurement. For anything that will be signed off, the missing calibration detail is the thing to ask the supplier about before purchase.
The 2.5 second refresh rate is slower than a bench instrument but fine for sun readings, which do not change meaningfully in a second unless cloud is moving fast. If you are watching broken cloud, expect the displayed number to lag the sky.
Zeroing indoors, and what the 0 Adj button is actually for
The listing instructs you to use the 0 Adj button indoors to zero the display before heading outside. That is an offset adjustment, and it is a normal feature on this class of instrument. Its purpose is to remove any small residual reading so that the numbers you record outside start from a clean baseline.
It is not a recalibration. Zeroing the display against a dark sensor does not verify that the sensor responds correctly across its range, and it will not correct a sensor that has drifted. The listing makes no claim beyond the zeroing procedure, and the calibration interval is not stated in the listing bullets.
The practical routine is simple: zero indoors, take the meter outside, let it settle to ambient, then read. Do not zero in the sun and do not zero with the sensor covered by anything that transmits light.
Hold, MAX/MIN and the field routine they support
Data hold freezes the displayed value so you can write it down without the number changing while your hand moves. MAX/MIN tracking records the highest and lowest values seen since you started, which is the useful function when you are sweeping a roof for the best spot rather than standing still.
For panel placement work, the MAX/MIN pair tells you the spread across a survey: how much the reading varied as you walked the array. A narrow spread suggests uniform shading; a wide spread points to an obstruction or a change in tilt. The listing presents MAX/MIN as a way to pinpoint peak sun exposure for panel placement, which is a reasonable description of that use.
The meter does not log. There is no memory, no timestamp and no export in the listing. If you need a record over time rather than a spot reading, an environmental data logger for building monitoring is the correct class of instrument, and this meter is not a substitute.
Where this meter sits against the other solar tools on the site
Three comparisons are worth making. Against the Fabater FT 2000W, the choice is not close: the Fabater measures the electrical side of a panel, the TENMARS measures the sun arriving at it. They are complementary, and a technician diagnosing an underperforming array often wants both. Against the BOCEUC MC4 lead, there is no overlap at all; that is a test lead, not an instrument.
Against the AquaHorti AH-SOL, the two are the same class of product. Both are handheld irradiance meters. The listings differ in what they publish, and a buyer should compare the stated accuracy, range and included accessories between the two rather than assume one is better. The TENMARS listing is specific about its accuracy band, its scale choice, its refresh rate and its battery life; check the AquaHorti listing for the same figures.
If you are assembling a kit rather than buying one instrument, the guide to building a basic solar testing toolkit sets out the roles each tool plays, and the comparison of solar irradiance meters puts this meter alongside its direct competitors.
The buyer this meter suits, and the one it does not
Buy the TENMARS meter if you need a sun reading to sit beside an electrical measurement: irradiance now, so that a current or power figure taken at the same moment means something. The published range, the manual scale choice and the stated accuracy band are adequate for site surveys, placement checks and routine field work, and the 100 hour battery life on a 9V cell means it will not strand you mid-survey.
Do not buy it if you need to test a panel. It cannot measure voltage, current or power, and no amount of irradiance data substitutes for that. Look at the Fabater FT 2000W for the electrical side, and consider both if you are diagnosing performance. Do not buy it either if you need a time-stamped record; it holds and tracks but it does not log.
The honest caveat is calibration. The listing publishes an accuracy band but not a calibration reference or interval, so if your work requires traceable measurements, ask the supplier before you buy. For everything short of that, this is a straightforward instrument that does one job and states its limits.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does this meter tell me whether my solar panel is working correctly?
No. It measures irradiance, the sun arriving at the sensor. It does not measure panel voltage, current or power, so it cannot tell you whether a panel is producing what it should. You need an electrical tester for that, and the two readings are usually taken together.
What does the plus or minus 10 W/m2 or plus or minus 5 percent accuracy figure mean?
It is a dual specification. The listing does not state which figure applies at which level, but the usual reading is that whichever is larger applies at the reading in question. The fixed 10 W/m2 matters at low light; the 5 percent matters in strong sun.
Is the 0 Adj button a calibration?
No. It zeroes the display, removing a small residual offset so your outdoor readings start clean. It does not verify the sensor across its range and does not correct drift. The listing does not publish a calibration interval.
Can I use it indoors under artificial light?
The listing describes the 199.9 scale as useful for low indoor light, so the meter will read artificial sources. Whether those readings are meaningful depends on the spectrum of the source, which the listing does not address. Treat indoor readings as relative, not absolute.
Does it store readings?
It holds the current reading and tracks maximum and minimum since you started, but the listing describes no memory, no timestamp and no export. If you need a record over time, use a data logger instead.
How does it compare with the AquaHorti AH-SOL?
They are the same class of instrument, a handheld irradiance meter. The TENMARS listing publishes its accuracy band, scale choice, refresh rate and battery life. Compare those same figures on the AquaHorti listing before deciding; neither is inherently the better buy.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.


