As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

AstroAI · AstroAI Inrush Digital Clamp Meter Multimeter 1000A TRMS 6000 Counts, Amp Voltage Tester with VFD, LOZ Mode; Measures AC/DC Current Voltage Temperature Resistance Capacitance Frequency Continuity NCV
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
The AstroAI clamp meter is a broad-range instrument: 1000 A AC/DC current, 1000 V DC and 750 V AC voltage, plus resistance, capacitance, frequency, duty cycle, diode, continuity and temperature. Its inrush mode captures a starting surge over about 100 ms, which is the feature most people come for. The listing then states plainly that inrush cannot test DC current and is available only in AC current. That single sentence decides the purchase. If you diagnose starting problems on AC motors and compressors, the meter fits. If your starting problems are on DC motors, or on the DC side of a variable frequency drive, the inrush function does not apply and you are buying range you cannot use for that job.
The inrush caveat that decides the purchase
Inrush current is the short surge a motor or compressor draws in the instant it starts. It can run several times the running current. A meter with an inrush mode holds a fast capture window and reports the peak, so you can compare the surge against what the motor should draw and see whether the problem sits in the motor or in the starting circuit. The AstroAI listing gives that window as about 100 ms.
The same listing then adds a note: the inrush function cannot test DC current and is available only in AC current. That is not a small print detail. It means the meter will not capture the start surge of a DC motor, and it will not capture the DC bus behaviour on the input side of a drive. If the machine you are chasing starts on direct current, this is the wrong instrument for that specific measurement, however good the rest of the specification looks.
For AC work the function is exactly what the label says. Air-conditioning compressors, fans, pumps and other single-phase or three-phase AC motors are the intended targets. If that is your work, the 100 ms capture is the reason to choose this meter over a clamp that only reads steady-state current. If it is not, read the rest of this review as a guide to a general-purpose clamp meter rather than an inrush tool.
What the 1000 A range and TRMS claim mean in practice
The title claims 1000 A AC/DC and true RMS. The bullets repeat the 1000 A figure for both AC and DC current and give 1000 V DC and 750 V AC for voltage. A 1000 A clamp is a large-jaw instrument aimed at service entrance and distribution work, not at small appliance leads. The jaw has to open around the conductor, and the range has to be wide enough that a high fault current does not pin the display.
True RMS matters on any supply that is not a clean sine wave. Motors on variable frequency drives, dimmed lighting circuits and electronic loads distort the waveform, and an averaging meter will under-read or over-read the current. The listing also states a VFD mode, which is the manufacturer’s answer to the noisy waveforms drives produce. Whether that mode is a filter or a dedicated measurement path is not stated in the listing bullets; the bullet only claims highly accurate current and voltage measurements on VFDs. Treat the claim as stated and confirm the behaviour against your own drive if the reading is critical.
For a wider treatment of matching a clamp to drive work, see clamp meters for VFD measurements. For the general selection logic, how to choose a clamp meter covers jaw size, range and category rating.
LoZ mode and the ghost voltage problem
A digital voltmeter has a high input impedance, which makes it sensitive. That sensitivity is useful for electronics and a nuisance for electricians, because a long run of disconnected cable can pick up enough capacitive coupling to show a voltage that cannot deliver any current. This is ghost voltage, and it makes a dead circuit look live.
The LoZ function loads the circuit with a low impedance. A real supply holds its voltage under that load; a ghost voltage collapses. The listing describes LoZ as a way to eliminate ghost voltages and interference when testing for the presence or absence of live power. That is the correct use: proving dead before you touch a conductor. It is a diagnostic aid, not a substitute for a proper two-pole voltage tester or for lockout procedure. The listing does not publish the LoZ input impedance, so the loading effect cannot be quantified from the supplied data.
The same principle explains why ghost voltage appears at all. Why ghost voltage appears on a multimeter goes further into the mechanism.
NCV, backlight and the functions you will actually use
Non-contact voltage detection lets the meter find live conductors without touching them. The listing presents it as a safety and convenience feature. It is a proximity indicator, not a measurement, and it does not replace direct contact testing when you need a number. Use it to sweep a panel or a cable run before you put a hand near it.
The rest of the function list is broad: capacitance, frequency, duty cycle, resistance, diode, continuity and temperature. Temperature is worth noting because it turns the clamp into a usable HVAC diagnostic tool as well as an electrical one. The listing does not publish the temperature range or the thermocouple type, so check those against your work if temperature is the reason you are buying.
The physical design points are a backlight, a flashlight for low light, larger display text, data hold, max/min, auto and manual ranging, and relative or zero. Max/min is the useful one for intermittent faults: leave the meter capturing while you wiggle a connection, then read the extremes. Relative zero lets you null out lead resistance before a low-ohm continuity check.
What the listing does not publish, and why it matters
Several figures a buyer would want are absent. The listing gives no CAT safety rating, no jaw opening size, no accuracy specification, no resolution and no count beyond the 6000 in the title. It also does not state the LoZ impedance, the temperature range, the thermocouple type or the battery type.
The CAT rating is the most serious omission. It tells you the transient energy the meter is built to survive, and it is the difference between a meter suitable for distribution panels and one suitable only for low-energy circuits. Without a published rating, do not assume the 1000 A range implies a high category. The 6000 count figure in the title sets display resolution, not accuracy; what resolution means in a digital meter explains the distinction. The absence of an accuracy figure means you cannot judge the meter against a calibration requirement from the listing alone.
None of this makes the meter a bad buy. It means the published data supports a general-purpose role, and the unpublished data should be obtained from the manufacturer or the manual before the meter is used for safety-critical work.
Where this clamp meter stops being the right answer
The AC-only inrush limit is the first boundary. The second is the category rating gap: without a published CAT rating, this is not the meter to reach for on high-energy distribution work until the rating is confirmed. The third is DC motor starting diagnosis, which the inrush function cannot serve at all.
If you need to log power quality over time, a clamp meter is the wrong class of instrument; a three-phase power recorder is the tool for that job. If you need to measure very small leakage currents, a general clamp meter’s range and resolution are not aimed at that. And if your work is confined to low-voltage electronics, a handheld multimeter is a better fit than a large-jaw clamp.
Within its stated scope, the AstroAI is a wide-function instrument at a budget position. The decision is not whether it is good; it is whether the AC-only inrush function and the unpublished safety rating match the work in front of you.
Should you buy the AstroAI 1000A clamp meter?
Buy it if your starting-current work is on AC motors and compressors, you want VFD and LoZ modes in the same instrument, and you accept that the listing does not publish a CAT rating or an accuracy figure. Do not buy it for DC motor inrush diagnosis, because the listing states the inrush function is AC only, and do not treat the 1000 A range as evidence of a high safety category until the rating is confirmed. For AC service work it is a broad, practical clamp. For DC starting faults it is the wrong tool, and no amount of extra function range changes that.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can the AstroAI clamp meter measure inrush current on a DC motor?
No. The listing states that the inrush function cannot test DC current and is only available in AC current. It will read steady DC current, but it will not capture the starting surge.
What is the inrush capture time?
The listing gives about 100 ms. That is the window over which the meter holds the starting surge for display.
Does it have a CAT safety rating?
The listing does not publish one. Without a stated CAT rating, do not assume the 1000 A range implies suitability for high-energy distribution work. Confirm the rating before use on such circuits.
What accuracy does the meter have?
The listing does not publish an accuracy specification. The 6000 count figure in the title refers to display resolution, not accuracy.
What does the LoZ mode do?
It presents a low impedance to the circuit so that ghost voltages, which are capacitively coupled and cannot deliver current, collapse under load. The listing presents it as a way to confirm the presence or absence of live power.
Is the temperature function usable for HVAC work?
The listing states temperature measurement is included but does not publish the range or the thermocouple type. Check those figures against your work before relying on it.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





