As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

ETCR · ETCR ETCR8430 3-Phase Power Recorder USB Power Quality Analyzer | 6-Channel Voltage & Current Data Logger, 0.01V-600V, 1mA-400A
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
The ETCR8430 is a three-phase recorder that logs voltage, current, frequency, active power, apparent power and power factor, with a stated current range of 1 mA to 400 A and up to 48 hours of battery operation. It is the only recorder among the products on this page, so it is the natural starting point for anyone who needs time-series data rather than a spot reading. The catch is that the listing does not publish accuracy figures, safety category ratings, channel count, clamp jaw size or recording resolution, and those omissions matter more than the headline ranges. Buy it only if you can obtain those details from the manufacturer before ordering.
The ranges are published; the accuracy behind them is not
The listing gives voltage from 0.01 V to 600 V, current from 1 mA to 400 A, active and apparent power up to 240 kW, power factor from -1.000 to 1.000 and frequency from 45 Hz to 65 Hz. Those are wide, usable ranges for three-phase distribution work. What the listing does not publish is any accuracy specification. It says “high measurement accuracy” for frequency and nothing numeric for voltage, current or power.
Accuracy is the number that decides whether a recorder can be used for a power quality complaint. A voltage reading that is 1 percent low on a 230 V supply is about 2.3 V, which is enough to change a conclusion about whether equipment is seeing acceptable voltage. Without a published accuracy figure, you cannot tell whether the ETCR8430 is a survey instrument or a reference instrument. The listing does not publish resolution either, so the 0.01 V and 1 mA lower limits may describe display resolution rather than measurement capability. Treat those small numbers as the smallest value the display can show, not as proof the instrument can measure at that level.
The frequency range of 45 Hz to 65 Hz covers nominal 50 Hz and 60 Hz systems with a margin for generator and inverter variation. That is a sensible window for building and industrial supply work. It is not a wideband analyser, and the listing makes no claim about harmonics, so do not assume the recorder will show you waveform distortion.
Current to 400 A, but the listing does not say how the current gets in
The current range of 1 mA to 400 A is broad. The listing does not publish the clamp jaw size, the number of current channels, or whether current is sensed with a built-in clamp, an external flexible coil, or a set of current transformers. That silence changes the buying decision. A 400 A range is only useful if the jaw opens wide enough for the conductors on the job, and a three-phase recorder is only useful if it has three current channels plus a neutral if you need one.
The listing also does not publish the safety category rating. For a recorder that will be connected to live three-phase distribution boards, the CAT rating and the maximum working voltage are the first things a competent person checks. The 600 V range suggests the instrument is intended for low-voltage systems, but the listing does not state a CAT III or CAT IV rating, so it does not establish that the recorder is suitable for connection at the origin of an installation. That is not a small omission. It is the difference between a tool for final circuits and a tool for the main switchboard.
If you need a spot check rather than a recording, a clamp meter does the same job with less setup. The electrical testers covered here include instruments for that kind of quick measurement. The ETCR8430 earns its place only when you need a record over time.
Recording capacity, battery life and the interval that is left open
The listing states a built-in rechargeable battery with up to 48 hours of continuous operation and memory for up to 200,000 groups of recorded data, with intervals adjustable from 1 second to 99 minutes. Those figures are useful but they do not combine into a stated recording duration. The listing does not publish how many channels are recorded per group, so the memory figure cannot be converted into a number of days at a given interval without knowing whether each group holds one channel or all of them.
The practical consequence is that you should treat the 48 hour battery figure and the 200,000 group figure as separate claims. If you record at one second intervals, the memory fills quickly; if you record at long intervals, the battery becomes the limit. The listing does not publish a low-battery behaviour, so it is not clear whether a recording stops cleanly or is lost when the battery runs down. For overnight or weekend surveys, that is a question worth asking before you rely on the recorder.
The USB interface and PC software are stated, but the listing does not publish the file format, the operating system the software runs on, or whether the software exports to a spreadsheet. If your analysis happens in a spreadsheet or a reporting package, confirm the export path. The listing also does not publish a real-time clock specification or whether recordings are time-stamped, which matters when you need to line up a voltage dip with a building management system event.
Where the ETCR8430 fits against meters and analysers
The ETCR8430 sits between a handheld meter and a full power quality analyser. It records the steady-state quantities the listing names: voltage, current, frequency, active power, apparent power and power factor. It does not claim to capture transients, harmonics or waveform snapshots, and the listing does not publish a sampling rate. If your question is “what was the power factor over the shift?” or “how did the current load vary overnight?”, the recorder is aimed at you. If your question is “what caused this breaker to trip?”, you need a different instrument.
The three-phase power analysers compared here are the category to look at if you need harmonic analysis or transient capture. The power quality loggers on this page cover the wider logging category, including instruments that publish more of the detail this listing leaves out. The ETCR8430 is a reasonable candidate when its published ranges match the job and you can obtain the missing safety and accuracy data. It is not a substitute for a full analyser, and the listing does not present it as one.
What the silence means for a buyer about to order
The listing is written for a buyer who already knows the product family. It leads with capability and capacity, and it leaves the qualifying numbers to the manual. That is common in this market, but it puts the burden on you. Before ordering, ask for the accuracy specification for voltage, current and power, the safety category rating and maximum working voltage, the number of current channels and the clamp jaw opening, the recording resolution and the file format. If any of those cannot be supplied, the recorder is not ready for a job where the result has to stand up.
The listing also does not publish a calibration interval or a warranty term. For an instrument used in commercial record-keeping, the calibration path matters as much as the measurement range. The absence of those details is not evidence that the product is poor; it is evidence that the listing is incomplete. The correct response is to ask, not to assume.
One further caution: the listing describes the product as a power quality analyzer in its title but publishes no power quality parameters beyond frequency and power factor. The phrase is doing marketing work here. Judge the instrument on the quantities it actually lists.
The ETCR8430 in one paragraph
The ETCR8430 is a three-phase recorder with a useful published measurement envelope: 0.01 V to 600 V, 1 mA to 400 A, 240 kW, power factor to +/-1.000, 45 Hz to 65 Hz, 48 hours of battery and 200,000 data groups. It is the only recorder in this group, so it is the default choice for time-series logging. The listing, however, does not publish accuracy, safety category, channel count, jaw size, recording resolution or software export format. Those are the numbers that decide whether it can be used on a live distribution board and whether its data can be defended. Buy it only after the manufacturer supplies them; if they cannot, choose an instrument whose listing does.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the ETCR8430 measure harmonics or transients?
The listing does not publish any harmonic or transient measurement. It names voltage, current, frequency, active power, apparent power and power factor. Treat it as a steady-state recorder, not a waveform analyser.
What safety category is it rated for?
Not stated in the listing bullets. The 600 V range is published, but no CAT rating or maximum working voltage for live distribution boards is given. Confirm this before connecting it to a main switchboard.
How many current channels does it have?
The listing does not publish a channel count or a clamp jaw size. It states a current range of 1 mA to 400 A but not how many conductors can be connected at once.
How long can it record at one second intervals?
The listing gives 48 hours of battery operation and 200,000 data groups, but it does not state how many channels are stored per group, so the recording duration at a given interval cannot be calculated from the published figures.
Can I export the data to a spreadsheet?
The listing states USB communication and PC software but does not publish the file format or export options. Ask the manufacturer before relying on it for reporting.
Is it a substitute for a full power quality analyser?
No. The listing publishes no harmonic, transient or waveform capture capability. For fault diagnosis of that kind, look at a dedicated analyser.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





