As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

HiLeDiQJ · Digital Multimeter with Premium Probes, Measures AC/DC Voltage, Current, Resistance, Diode, Triode, Suitable for Household use, and Industrial use - Red
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
The HiLeDiQJ is a straightforward manual range digital multimeter for checking outlets, batteries, continuity and simple automotive circuits. Its listing states 600V AC/DC, 10A DC current and 2M Ohms resistance, plus diode and triode testing, with ceramic fuse overload protection. It is the only product in this review, so there is no ranking to make. Buy it if those ceilings match your work and you accept that accuracy, resolution, input impedance and safety category are not published. Do not buy it if you need a certified CAT III or CAT IV meter for panel or service entrance work, because the listing gives no safety rating.
How a Digital Multimeter Turns a Voltage Into a Number
Inside any digital multimeter is a dual slope analog to digital converter. The meter charges an integrator with the unknown input voltage for a fixed time, then discharges it with a known reference voltage and counts how long that takes. The ratio of the two times gives the reading. This is why a multimeter is stable and slow rather than fast: it averages over a measurement window, which rejects mains hum and noise. The display then shows the result in digits.
The HiLeDiQJ listing does not describe its converter, its counts or its update rate. What it does state is the top of each range: 600V AC/DC, 10A DC current and 2M Ohms resistance. Those ceilings tell you the input divider and shunt values were chosen for household and light industrial work, not for high energy distribution. The 2M Ohm top range is enough to check insulation resistance roughly on a dead circuit, but it is not an insulation tester and should not be used as one.
For voltage, the meter presents a high input impedance across the probes. The listing does not publish that impedance, which matters because a low impedance meter can load a sensitive circuit and read low. For current, the meter routes the circuit through an internal shunt and measures the voltage across it. The 10A DC ceiling means the shunt and fuse are sized for that current. AC current is not mentioned in the bullets, so treat AC current measurement as unpublished.
The Ceramic Fuse Is the Part That Keeps the Meter Alive
The listing states built in explosion proof ceramic fuse tubes and overload protection. A ceramic body fuse is filled with sand or quartz. When the element vaporises under a high fault current, the filler quenches the arc and contains the pressure. A glass fuse can shatter or let the arc continue. That is why ceramic fuses appear in meters that might be connected across a live supply by mistake.
This matters because the most common way to destroy a multimeter is to leave the probes in the current jacks and then measure a voltage. The fuse should open before the shunt or the circuit board is damaged. The listing does not say how many fuses, what current rating they carry, or whether they are user replaceable. You should check that before buying, because a meter with a soldered fuse is a disposable meter.
Overload protection is not the same as a safety rating. The listing publishes no CAT rating, no IEC 61010 category and no voltage class. That absence is the single most important limitation on this product. For socket outlets and battery circuits it is fine. For three phase panels, service entrances or any point where high fault current is available, an unrated meter is the wrong tool regardless of its 600V range.
What 600V, 10A and 2M Ohms Cover in Household and Automotive Work
In a house, the highest voltage you normally meet is 240V single phase. The 600V ceiling covers that with margin. The 10A DC range covers automotive parasitic drain checks and small DC loads, but not starter current. The 2M Ohm resistance range covers continuity, coil resistance, sensor resistance and basic component checks. Diode test lets you check a silicon junction forward and reverse. Triode test, which the listing also states, is a transistor gain check, useful in learning electronics and repair.
The listing names automotive circuits, electronics, science projects, learning electronics and appliance repair as applications. Those are consistent with the published ranges. What the listing does not publish is accuracy, resolution, counts, auto ranging, a backlight, a hold function, a continuity beeper threshold, or the probe specification beyond the word premium. A buyer who needs to know whether the meter reads 0.1V or 0.01V cannot tell from this listing.
For a homeowner checking outlets, extension leads and batteries, those gaps rarely matter. For a technician recording readings against a tolerance, they do. If you need published accuracy, the guide to choosing a digital multimeter explains what to look for. If your work is industrial, the industrial maintenance multimeter comparison covers meters that publish their safety category.
The Shell, the Probes and the Parts the Listing Skips
The listing describes an industrial plastic shell that protects against drop damage and electric shock. Plastic is an insulator, so the shell is part of the isolation between you and the circuit. The listing does not state the shell thickness, the ingress protection rating or the drop height it survives. Treat those as unpublished.
Premium probes is the only probe description given. Probe quality affects safety more than meter quality in many cases. The finger guards, the insulation rating and the tip length decide whether your hand stays behind the barrier. The listing does not publish a probe voltage rating or a category. If you replace the probes, replace them with ones that carry a published rating at least equal to the highest voltage you intend to measure.
The listing also does not state the display type, the battery type, whether the meter has a stand, a case or a holster, or what is in the box. Those are ordinary things a buyer wants to know and the listing is silent on all of them. Where a listing is this quiet, buy from a seller with a returns route.
Where This Meter Stops Being the Right Answer
This meter stops being right when the measurement itself is dangerous or when the reading must be traceable. Three cases stand out.
- Panel and service entrance work. Without a published CAT rating, the meter should not be connected to feeders or busbars where high fault current is available.
- Precision work. With no published accuracy or resolution, you cannot state a tolerance for the reading. A meter that reads 12.1V when the true value is 12.04V is fine for a battery check and wrong for a calibration record.
- Specialist measurements. The listing does not publish AC current, capacitance, frequency, temperature or insulation testing. If you need those, this is not the instrument. For solar DC work, the 1500V DC multimeter comparison covers meters rated above this one.
For the work the listing does name, household circuits, automotive low voltage, electronics learning and appliance repair, the published ranges are adequate. The honest summary is that this is a general purpose meter with a stated ceiling and an unpublished floor. Buy it for what the bullets say, not for what they leave out.
The HiLeDiQJ in One Paragraph
The HiLeDiQJ digital multimeter is a general purpose meter with three published ceilings, 600V AC/DC, 10A DC and 2M Ohms, plus diode and triode testing and ceramic fuse protection. It suits household checks, low voltage automotive work and electronics learning. It does not suit high energy panel work, because no safety category is published, and it does not suit precision work, because accuracy and resolution are not published. If those limits match your task, the listed functions are enough. If they do not, look at a meter that publishes its category and accuracy.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the HiLeDiQJ measure AC current?
The listing states 10A DC current and 600V AC/DC voltage. It does not mention AC current. Treat AC current measurement as not published, and do not assume the DC current range covers AC.
Is this meter safe for household socket testing?
The 600V AC/DC range covers household voltages, and the listing describes ceramic fuse overload protection and an insulating plastic shell. The listing does not publish a CAT safety rating, so it should not be used on service equipment or three phase distribution. For socket outlets and appliance leads, the published range is adequate.
What accuracy does the meter have?
The listing does not publish accuracy, resolution or count. That means you cannot state a tolerance for a reading. For checking presence of voltage or approximate values it is fine. For records that need a stated tolerance, choose a meter whose listing publishes accuracy.
Are the fuses replaceable?
The listing states built in explosion proof ceramic fuse tubes but does not say how many, their current rating, or whether the user can replace them. Ask the seller before buying, because a meter with a sealed fuse cannot be restored after a misconnection.
Can it test diodes and transistors?
Yes. The listing states diode and triode testing alongside voltage, current and resistance. Triode test is a transistor check, useful in learning electronics and repair. The listing does not publish the test voltage or current used.
What is not in the box?
The listing does not describe the box contents beyond premium probes. Battery type, case, stand and manual are not stated. Confirm the contents with the seller if any of those matter to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.


