Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products
Review

Klein Tools CL910 Clamp Meter Review: What the Listing Does Not Say

The CL910 is advertised for power distribution, solar and wind work, with a 2000A clamp and a CAT III 2000V rating. The listing is loud about the headline numbers and quiet about the details that decide whether the meter suits your work. This review reads the silence.

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Klein Tools CL910 Clamp Meter Review: What the Listing Does Not Say

KLEIN TOOLS · Klein Tools CL910 Digital Clamp Meter, 2000A AC/DC Auto Ranging & Worklight | with TRMS, AC/DC Volt, Current, LoZ, Resistance, Continuity, Frequency, Duty-Cycle, Capacitance, More

View on Amazon

Price and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.

The CL910 is the only clamp meter in this comparison, and the listing positions it for high-current industrial and renewable energy work: a 2000A AC/DC clamp, DC voltage to 2000V, true RMS, and CAT III 2000V / CAT IV 600V safety ratings. What the listing does not publish is just as important. It gives no accuracy figures, no jaw opening, no resolution, no resistance or continuity ranges, no capacitance or frequency functions, and no battery type. If you need a documented accuracy class or a full multimeter function set, this page cannot confirm it. If you need a high-current clamp with a high-voltage safety rating and can accept that the fine print is missing, the CL910 is the one to examine.

The headline numbers are the easy part

The listing leads with three figures: 2000A AC/DC current, DC voltage to 2000V, and a CAT III 2000V / CAT IV 600V safety rating. Those are the numbers a buyer scans first, and they are the numbers that place the CL910 in industrial and renewable energy work rather than domestic electrical testing.

A 2000A clamp range matters because current measurement with a clamp is indirect. The jaw senses the magnetic field around a conductor, and the meter converts that field to a current reading. A clamp rated to 2000A can surround the large conductors found in distribution equipment and inverter outputs without saturating. The listing states the range but does not state the jaw opening, so you cannot tell from the page whether the jaw will close around a particular busbar or cable bundle. That is a measurement you have to make physically before purchase.

The CAT III 2000V and CAT IV 600V ratings describe where the meter is designed to be used. CAT III covers distribution-level circuits and CAT IV covers the origin of the installation. The voltage number attached to each category is the working voltage the meter is rated for in that location. The listing publishes both, which is more than many clamp meter listings do. What it does not publish is the impulse withstand or the exact standard behind the rating. If your site procedures require a documented category certificate, ask for it.

Accuracy is claimed as a technology, not a number

The listing says the CL910 uses auto-ranging true root mean squared technology and that this delivers accurate measurements on complex waveforms and non-linear loads. That is a description of the method, not a statement of accuracy. True RMS matters when the waveform is distorted, because an averaging meter will under-read a non-sinusoidal current. Inverter outputs, variable speed drives and electronic loads all produce the kind of waveform where true RMS is the correct method. The listing is right to highlight it.

But a buyer comparing instruments needs the accuracy specification: a percentage of reading plus a count of digits, usually given per range and per function. The listing does not publish any accuracy figure. It does not publish a resolution figure either, so you cannot tell how many digits the display shows or what the smallest current step is on the 2000A range. It also does not publish a crest factor limit, which is the ratio of peak to RMS that the meter can handle before the true RMS reading becomes unreliable. For work on drives and inverters, crest factor is a specification that decides whether the reading can be trusted. The silence here is the most significant gap on the page.

This is not a reason to reject the meter. It is a reason to obtain the manual before you buy, and to check that the accuracy on the ranges you actually use meets your tolerance. The general principle is explained in what resolution means in a digital meter, and the same logic applies to accuracy figures.

The function list stops where the listing stops

The title and bullets mention AC/DC current, inrush current, DC voltage and true RMS. They do not mention AC voltage, resistance, continuity, diode test, capacitance, frequency or temperature. Some of these may be present on the meter. The listing does not say so, and this review will not fill the gap from what similar meters usually include.

Inrush current is worth a note because it is named explicitly. Inrush is the short burst of current when a motor or transformer energises, and a clamp meter that captures it needs a defined capture window and a threshold. The listing states the function exists and gives the 2000A range. It does not state the capture time or the trigger level. If inrush measurement is central to your work, those are the figures to request.

The practical consequence is that the CL910 should be treated as a current and DC voltage clamp until the manual proves otherwise. If you need a general purpose multimeter for resistance, continuity and diode checks as well, this listing does not establish that the CL910 covers them. A dedicated multimeter may still be needed alongside it. The choice between the two instrument types is set out in how to choose a clamp meter.

Visibility, housing and the drop rating

The listing is more complete on physical description than on electrical specification. It states a backlit dial, a backlit reverse-contrast LCD and an integrated work light. Reverse-contrast means light characters on a dark background, which reduces glare in low light. The work light illuminates the panel or conductor you are clamping, which matters in distribution cabinets where the meter body shadows the target. These are practical details, and the listing states them plainly.

The housing is rated IP40, which is protection against solid objects above 1mm and no water protection. That is a low ingress rating for a meter described as industrial grade. It means the CL910 is not sealed against rain, hose water or heavy dust. The listing also states a 2 metre drop rating. Both figures are published, and both should be read literally: IP40 is not a washdown rating, and a drop rating is not a guarantee against damage.

What the listing does not publish is the operating temperature range, the storage temperature range, the weight, the dimensions, or the battery type and life. For a meter intended for solar farms and wind turbine systems, the operating temperature range is a specification that decides whether the instrument can be left in a vehicle or used in direct sun. The listing is silent on it.

Where the CL910 stops being the right instrument

A clamp meter measures current by surrounding a conductor. It cannot measure current in a cable where the live and neutral conductors are bundled together, because the fields cancel. It cannot replace a test lamp or a voltage detector for proving dead. It cannot perform an insulation resistance test, a earth loop impedance test or a RCD trip test. The CL910 listing does not claim any of these functions, and none should be assumed.

The CL910 is also not a power quality analyser. It can show current and voltage, but the listing does not state that it calculates power, power factor, harmonics or energy. If your work requires recording and analysing power quality over time, a dedicated analyser is the correct instrument. The distinction between a clamp meter and a power recorder is the difference between a spot reading and a record.

For solar work specifically, the clamp is useful for string current and inverter output current, but the safety rating and the DC voltage range are what allow it to be connected in those locations. The rest of a solar testing kit, including insulation testing and irradiance measurement, is covered in how to build a basic solar testing toolkit. The CL910 is one part of that kit, not the whole of it.

The verdict on a listing that tells half the story

The Klein Tools CL910 is presented for high-current, high-voltage work, and the published figures support that positioning: 2000A AC/DC, DC voltage to 2000V, true RMS, CAT III 2000V and CAT IV 600V, IP40 and a 2 metre drop rating. Those are not domestic specifications.

The problem is the missing half. No accuracy figures, no resolution, no jaw opening, no resistance or continuity functions stated, no battery type, no operating temperature range. Each of those gaps is a question you would ask before spending money on an industrial instrument. The listing does not answer them, and this review will not invent answers.

Buy the CL910 if the published safety and current ratings match your work and you are willing to obtain the manual to confirm the rest. Do not buy it on the strength of the listing alone if accuracy on non-linear loads is the deciding factor, because the listing gives you a method, not a number.

Klein Tools CL910 Digital Clamp Meter, 2000A AC/DC Auto Ranging & Worklight | with TRMS, AC/DC Volt, Current, LoZ, Resistance, Continuity, Frequency, Duty-Cycle, Capacitance, More

Klein Tools CL910 Digital Clamp Meter, 2000A AC/DC Auto Ranging

View on Amazon
ETCR ETCR8430 3-Phase Power Recorder USB Power Quality Analyzer | 6-Channel Voltage & Current Data Logger, 0.01V-600V, 1mA-400A

ETCR ETCR8430 3-Phase Power Recorder USB Power Quality Analyzer |

View on Amazon
2026 Upgraded FS899L Digital Multimeter & 20 pcs Silicone Test Leads Kit, USB-C Rechargeable Color Screen, Auto 6000 Counts True RMS AC/DC Voltage Tester, NCV, CAT.III 1000V

2026 Upgraded FS899L Digital Multimeter & 20 pcs Silicone Test

View on Amazon
Digital Multimeter with Premium Probes, Measures AC/DC Voltage, Current, Resistance, Diode, Triode, Suitable for Household use, and Industrial use - Red

Digital Multimeter with Premium Probes, Measures AC/DC Voltage, Current, Resistance,

View on Amazon

Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the CL910 measure AC voltage as well as DC voltage?

The listing states DC voltage up to 2000V. It does not state an AC voltage range. AC voltage may be present on the meter, but the listing does not publish it, so this review cannot confirm it.

What is the accuracy of the CL910?

The listing does not publish an accuracy figure. It describes true RMS technology and auto-ranging, but gives no percentage of reading or digit count. Request the manual from the manufacturer before relying on the meter for tolerance-critical work.

Can the CL910 measure resistance and continuity?

The listing does not state resistance or continuity functions. It names AC/DC current, inrush current and DC voltage. Treat those as the confirmed functions until the manual shows otherwise.

Is IP40 enough for outdoor solar work?

IP40 protects against solid objects above 1mm and gives no water protection. It is not a rain or washdown rating. For outdoor work, the meter should be sheltered, and the listing does not publish an operating temperature range to guide use in extreme heat or cold.

What size conductor will the jaw accept?

The listing does not publish the jaw opening. The 2000A range tells you the current capacity, not the physical size of the jaw. Check the jaw dimensions in the manual against the conductors you need to clamp.

Does the CL910 replace a multimeter?

The listing does not establish a full multimeter function set. It confirms current and DC voltage. If you need resistance, continuity, diode test or capacitance, the listing does not show those functions, so a separate multimeter may still be required.

Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.