Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products
Review

Klein Tools RT250 GFCI Outlet Tester: One Review

The RT250 is a 120V receptacle tester that adds a numeric trip-time display to the usual three-light fault check. The listing makes several specific claims and leaves several gaps, and both matter if you are buying it to diagnose nuisance GFCI trips rather than just confirm a socket is live.

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Klein Tools RT250 GFCI Outlet Tester: One Review

KLEIN TOOLS · Klein Tools RT250 GFCI Outlet Tester with LCD Display, Electric Voltage Tester for Standard 3-Wire 120V Electrical Receptacles

View on Amazon

Price and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.

The RT250 is the right instrument if you need a numeric trip time from a GFCI receptacle and a quick wiring-fault readout in one handheld unit. Its stated advantages are the backlit LCD that shows voltage and trip time, and the patent-pending open neutral and open ground detection. It is not a substitute for a multimeter when you need to measure current, resistance or DC, and the listing does not publish an accuracy figure or a trip-time range, so treat the number as a comparative troubleshooting aid rather than a calibrated measurement. If you only need a pass or fail light, a simpler tester does the same job.

What the RT250 is plugged into, and what the display adds

The RT250 is a hand-held tester for standard three-wire 120V receptacles. You plug it into the outlet, and it reads the wiring condition. The listing states a large backlit LCD, a voltage reading, and a trip-time display that shows how long a GFCI device took to trip. That last function is the reason to choose this unit over a three-light tester: a lamp tells you the GFCI tripped, while a displayed time tells you whether it tripped slowly enough to suggest a failing device.

The listing also states detection of common wiring faults and a patent-pending open neutral and open ground detection system. An open neutral is the fault that makes a receptacle look dead on a simple tester while the hot terminal is still live, so a tester that names it is doing useful work. The auto-hold feature holds the reading for outlets that are hard to reach, which matters when the display faces away from you under a bench or behind equipment.

What the listing does not publish is just as important. There is no stated trip-time range, no stated voltage accuracy, no stated resolution and no stated current draw. The title says 120V, and that is the only electrical figure given. For a device whose selling point is a number on a screen, the absence of a published accuracy figure is the first thing a careful buyer should notice.

The trip-time number: what it can and cannot tell you

A GFCI works by comparing current leaving on the hot conductor with current returning on the neutral. When the difference exceeds a threshold, a sensing coil opens the contacts. The time between the fault and the opening is the trip time. The RT250’s LCD reports that interval. The listing presents this as a troubleshooting aid, and that is the honest use: compare a suspect receptacle against a known-good one on the same circuit, or watch a number drift over repeated tests.

It is not a calibrated trip-time instrument in the sense a standards lab would use. The listing publishes no accuracy, no repeatability and no test current, and a plug-in tester cannot control the fault current the way a dedicated GFCI test instrument does. So the number is useful for comparison and for spotting a device that is clearly slow, not for signing off an installation against a trip-time limit. If you need that, you need a listed GFCI circuit analyzer, which is a different product class and is not covered here.

One practical consequence: the reading is only as good as the outlet’s wiring. An open ground or open neutral can change what the tester sees. The listing states that the unit detects those faults, so read the fault indication before you trust the trip time.

Open neutral and open ground: the claim worth reading twice

The listing calls the open neutral and open ground detection patent-pending. That phrasing is the manufacturer’s, and it tells you the method is proprietary rather than a standard three-lamp combination. It does not tell you how the unit distinguishes an open neutral from an open ground, and the listing does not publish that. What it does say is that the unit identifies both faults, which is more than a basic three-light tester can do reliably.

Why this matters in the field: an open neutral at a receptacle can leave the hot slot live while the tester’s lamps show a pattern that looks like a dead circuit. A technician who reads only lamps can misdiagnose and start opening the panel. A tester that names the fault shortens that path. The same applies to an open ground, which is common in older branch circuits and which can make a GFCI test behave unexpectedly. The RT250’s stated detection is a diagnostic convenience, but it is not a substitute for tracing the circuit with a multimeter when the fault is upstream of the receptacle.

The listing does not state how the unit reports these faults, whether by a code on the LCD, a lamp pattern, or both. That is a real gap for a buyer who wants to know what they will actually see on screen.

The maintenance and consumable question the listing only hints at

Every plug-in tester has a wear item: the prongs and the internal contacts that mate with the receptacle. The listing does not mention prong material, replaceability, or a calibration interval. It also does not state whether the unit is serviceable or sealed. For a tool that lives in a pouch and is plugged into hundreds of outlets, that silence is the practical cost the listing leaves out.

What the listing does say is that the unit has an auto-hold feature and a backlit LCD. Backlights draw current, and the listing does not publish a battery type or a battery life figure. A buyer should assume the display is the part that will send them back for a battery, and should check the unit’s battery compartment before relying on it for a day of work. The listing does not state whether the unit has an auto-power-off, which is the feature that usually decides whether a backlit tester survives a month in a tool bag.

The honest summary: the RT250 has no stated consumables beyond what powers the display, and no stated calibration schedule. If you need a tester with a published service life or a field-replaceable lead set, this listing does not give you that information. For a related look at how test leads and probes wear, the site’s guide to choosing a multimeter for home electrical work covers the accessory side in more depth.

Where the RT250 stops being the right instrument

The RT250 is a 120V receptacle tester. It is not a multimeter, not a clamp meter and not a power quality analyzer. It does not measure current, resistance, capacitance or DC voltage, and the listing does not claim it does. If your job is to check a panel, trace a circuit or measure a load, you need a different tool. The site’s review of the Klein ET190 covers a multimeter in the same family, and the RT390 review covers a related receptacle tester if you want to compare formats.

It is also not a substitute for a dedicated GFCI circuit analyzer when a trip-time result must be defensible. The RT250 gives a comparative number; an analyzer gives a controlled test. And it is not an alarm: it does not monitor an outlet continuously, and it does not warn you before you plug in. It is a diagnostic you apply by hand.

For readers working on the supply side rather than the receptacle side, the site’s guide to 1500V DC multimeters for solar PV is the better starting point. The RT250 belongs in the pouch of someone testing receptacles, not on a PV array.

The RT250 in one paragraph

Buy the RT250 if you want a numeric trip time and named open neutral and open ground detection in a single plug-in tester, and if you accept that the listing publishes no accuracy, no trip-time range and no battery specification. Do not buy it expecting a calibrated GFCI analyzer or a general-purpose meter; it is neither. The display is the reason to choose it, and the missing published figures are the reason to treat its numbers as comparative rather than absolute.

Klein Tools RT250 GFCI Outlet Tester with LCD Display, Electric Voltage Tester for Standard 3-Wire 120V Electrical Receptacles

Klein Tools RT250 GFCI Outlet Tester with LCD Display, Electric

View on Amazon
ETCR ETCR8430 3-Phase Power Recorder USB Power Quality Analyzer | 6-Channel Voltage & Current Data Logger, 0.01V-600V, 1mA-400A

ETCR ETCR8430 3-Phase Power Recorder USB Power Quality Analyzer |

View on Amazon
Klein Tools CL910 Digital Clamp Meter, 2000A AC/DC Auto Ranging & Worklight | with TRMS, AC/DC Volt, Current, LoZ, Resistance, Continuity, Frequency, Duty-Cycle, Capacitance, More

Klein Tools CL910 Digital Clamp Meter, 2000A AC/DC Auto Ranging

View on Amazon
2026 Upgraded FS899L Digital Multimeter & 20 pcs Silicone Test Leads Kit, USB-C Rechargeable Color Screen, Auto 6000 Counts True RMS AC/DC Voltage Tester, NCV, CAT.III 1000V

2026 Upgraded FS899L Digital Multimeter & 20 pcs Silicone Test

View on Amazon

Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the RT250 measure voltage accurately enough to trust?

The listing states a voltage reading on the LCD but does not publish an accuracy figure or a resolution. Treat the voltage as an indicator, not a calibrated measurement, and use a multimeter when the number matters.

What trip-time range does the RT250 display?

The listing does not publish a trip-time range, a resolution or an accuracy for the trip-time display. It states only that the LCD shows the time required to trip a GFCI device.

Does the RT250 detect an open neutral on its own?

The listing states patent-pending open neutral and open ground detection, so yes, the unit is stated to identify those faults. The listing does not state how the fault is reported on the display.

Can the RT250 be used on 240V or on a GFCI breaker?

The title specifies standard three-wire 120V receptacles, and the listing gives no other voltage rating. It is not stated for 240V use. For a GFCI breaker, the test point is the receptacle, and the listing does not describe breaker-level testing.

What battery does the RT250 use, and how long does it last?

The listing does not publish a battery type, a battery life figure or an auto-power-off feature. That is a gap to check before relying on the backlit display for a full day.

Is the RT250 a replacement for a multimeter?

No. It is a 120V receptacle tester with a wiring-fault readout and a trip-time display. It does not state current, resistance or DC measurement, so it complements a multimeter rather than replacing one.

Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.