Skip to content
AkerminMeasure. Monitor. Improve. Compare Products
Review

Triplett ET102 Outlet Tester Review: One Tool, Five Faults, No Guessing

The ET102 is the simplest kind of electrical instrument: plug it in, read the lights, act. This review explains what those lights mean, what the listing does and does not publish, and where a basic receptacle tester sits against the clamp meters and multimeters already covered on the site.

As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Triplett ET102 Outlet Tester Review: One Tool, Five Faults, No Guessing

Triplett · Triplett ET102 Standard Outlet/Receptacle Tester

View on Amazon

Price and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.

The Triplett ET102 is a single-purpose tool: it detects faulty wiring in 3-wire receptacles and displays five specific wiring faults on labelled lights. It is the right first instrument for anybody checking outlets in a home or on a job, and it is the cheapest kind of answer to the question ‘is this receptacle wired correctly?’. It is not a multimeter and not a clamp meter. If you need voltage readings, current, or power quality, the site’s electrical testers and outlet testers pages cover that wider field.

What the ET102 actually checks, and what the lights mean

The listing describes a tester that detects faulty wiring in 3-wire receptacles and displays five wiring faults: Open Ground, Open Neutral, Hot/Ground Reverse, Open Hot, and Hot/Neutral Reverse. That is the whole measurement job. The device does not publish a voltage range, a current rating, a resistance range, or an accuracy figure. It is a go/no-go indicator, not a measuring instrument.

The mechanism is simple. Three lamps sit across the three pins of the plug. A correct receptacle lights the expected combination. Each fault condition changes which lamps can find a return path, so the pattern shifts. The face carries a fault label on each side, which the listing says is designed for receptacles installed ground up or ground down. That matters more than it sounds: in the field you are often looking at the tester upside down, and a label printed only for one orientation makes you translate in your head while standing on a ladder.

The five faults are the common wiring errors in branch circuits. Open Ground means the grounding conductor is not connected back to the panel. Open Neutral means the neutral is broken. Hot/Ground Reverse and Hot/Neutral Reverse mean two conductors are swapped. Open Hot means the hot conductor is not live. None of these are subtle faults, and none require a numeric reading to identify. That is why a lamp tester is enough for this job.

The finger loop, the cULus mark, and the two-sided label

Three details in the listing separate the ET102 from a generic plug-in tester. The first is the finger loop, which the listing says eases removal from receptacles, especially those with high retention force. New receptacles can grip a plug firmly, and pulling a small tester out by the body is awkward; a loop gives you something to hook a finger through. It is a small thing that you notice every time you use the tool.

The second is the cULus mark. That is a safety certification, not a performance claim. It tells you the device has been evaluated to the relevant standard for this class of product. It does not tell you the tester is accurate, because the listing publishes no accuracy figure. It does tell you the housing and internal clearances have been reviewed, which is worth something when the device is plugged into a live circuit.

The third is the two-sided fault label. Because the label is printed on both faces, the tester reads correctly whether the receptacle’s ground pin is up or down. In older installations the orientation varies from room to room, and a tester that only reads one way invites misreading. The listing does not publish the label’s font size or the lamp colours, so if legibility in dim light matters to you, that is a question the listing does not answer.

Where the ET102 sits against the clamp meters and multimeters on this site

The site already covers instruments that do much more. The Klein ET190 review and the Klein ET450 review deal with instruments that read voltage, continuity and more. The ET102 does none of that. It cannot tell you the line voltage, the voltage drop under load, or the current drawn by an appliance. It cannot check a GFCI’s trip time, and the listing does not claim it can.

That is not a criticism. It is a division of labour. A clamp meter or a multimeter is the right tool when you need a number. The ET102 is the right tool when you need a yes or no, quickly, at every outlet in a house. Most electrical fault-finding starts with exactly that question: is this receptacle wired correctly at all? If the answer is no, you reach for a meter to investigate. If the answer is yes, you move on.

The comparison that matters for a buyer is not ET102 versus a full multimeter. It is ET102 versus no tester at all. A plug-in tester is the lowest-effort way to catch a reversed hot and neutral or a missing ground before it becomes a shock hazard or a failed inspection. The receptacle testers page covers the wider field if you want to compare models.

What the listing does not publish, and why it matters before you buy

The listing is short, and several things a buyer might want are simply not stated. There is no voltage range, no frequency specification, no operating temperature, no dimensions, no weight, and no battery information. It is not clear from the listing whether the tester is powered by the circuit under test or by an internal battery; the lamp mechanism suggests circuit-powered, but the listing does not say so. If you need any of those figures, the listing does not publish them, and you should not assume them from other products in the same class.

There is also no stated indication of what the tester does when the receptacle is correctly wired. The five faults are listed, but the listing does not describe the ‘correct’ light pattern. In practice a lamp tester shows a specific combination for a healthy outlet, but since the listing does not publish that pattern, this review will not invent it. Read the label on the device when it arrives.

The bigger gap is GFCI testing. Many plug-in testers include a GFCI trip button, but this listing does not mention one. If your work requires verifying GFCI protection, do not assume the ET102 does it. The listing describes a five-fault wiring tester, and that is the scope you should buy it for.

Where the ET102 stops being the right instrument

The ET102 stops being useful the moment you need a measurement rather than a fault code. It will not tell you whether a circuit is overloaded, whether a voltage drop is excessive, or whether an appliance is drawing more current than its rating. For those questions you need a clamp meter or a multimeter, and the site’s multimeter guide is the place to start.

It also stops being sufficient for safety verification in a commercial or industrial setting, where documented test results and calibrated instruments are often required. A lamp tester gives an indication, not a record. If you need to prove a receptacle is correct to somebody else, you need an instrument that produces a number and a certificate, not a light pattern.

Finally, it is not a substitute for a non-contact voltage tester when you are working in a box with multiple circuits. The ET102 tells you about the receptacle it is plugged into; it does not warn you about a live conductor elsewhere in the enclosure. Treat it as one instrument in a small kit, not as the whole kit.

The verdict: a five-fault tester that does one job plainly

The Triplett ET102 is a narrow tool, and it is honest about that. It detects five wiring faults in 3-wire receptacles, labels them on both faces for either installation orientation, and adds a finger loop that makes removal easier. It is cULus listed. The listing publishes no voltage range, no accuracy, no GFCI function, and no battery information, so buy it for the fault indications it does state and not for anything else. If you need numbers, the site’s clamp meters and multimeters are the next step. If you need a quick yes or no at every outlet, the ET102 is the simplest instrument for the job.

Triplett ET102 Standard Outlet/Receptacle Tester

Triplett ET102 Standard Outlet/Receptacle Tester

View on Amazon
ETCR ETCR8430 3-Phase Power Recorder USB Power Quality Analyzer | 6-Channel Voltage & Current Data Logger, 0.01V-600V, 1mA-400A

ETCR ETCR8430 3-Phase Power Recorder USB Power Quality Analyzer |

View on Amazon
Klein Tools CL910 Digital Clamp Meter, 2000A AC/DC Auto Ranging & Worklight | with TRMS, AC/DC Volt, Current, LoZ, Resistance, Continuity, Frequency, Duty-Cycle, Capacitance, More

Klein Tools CL910 Digital Clamp Meter, 2000A AC/DC Auto Ranging

View on Amazon
2026 Upgraded FS899L Digital Multimeter & 20 pcs Silicone Test Leads Kit, USB-C Rechargeable Color Screen, Auto 6000 Counts True RMS AC/DC Voltage Tester, NCV, CAT.III 1000V

2026 Upgraded FS899L Digital Multimeter & 20 pcs Silicone Test

View on Amazon

Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the ET102 test GFCI receptacles?

The listing does not mention a GFCI test function. It describes five wiring faults only: Open Ground, Open Neutral, Hot/Ground Reverse, Open Hot, and Hot/Neutral Reverse. Do not assume it can trip or time a GFCI.

What voltage does the ET102 work on?

The listing does not publish a voltage range. It is described as a tester for 3-wire receptacles, but the specific voltage and frequency are not stated. If you need that figure, the listing does not provide it.

Can the ET102 tell me if the wiring is correct, not just faulty?

The listing lists five fault conditions but does not describe the light pattern for a correct receptacle. In use, a lamp tester shows a specific combination when the wiring is correct, but since the listing does not publish that pattern, check the label on the device.

Does it need a battery?

The listing does not state whether the ET102 is battery powered or powered by the circuit under test. The lamp mechanism suggests circuit power, but that is not confirmed in the listing.

Is the ET102 a substitute for a multimeter?

No. It gives fault indications, not measurements. It cannot tell you voltage, current, resistance, or power quality. For those you need a multimeter or clamp meter, which the site covers separately.

What does cULus listed mean on this tester?

It means the device has been evaluated to the relevant safety standard by a recognised certification body. It is a safety mark, not an accuracy or performance rating. The listing publishes no accuracy figure.

Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.