As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Vanlison · Non-Contact 3 Phase Rotation Meter | Motor Rotation Tester for AC 70V-600V | Phase Sequence, Live Wire & Circuit Break Detector | Auto Power-Off, 20" Clamps | Professional Electrician Tool Kit
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
The Vanlison 70V-600V is a clamp-style phase rotation meter for checking three-phase motor direction and open phases without exposing live conductors. It suits maintenance electricians who need a quick rotation check on energized equipment up to 600V. It is not a power quality analyzer, not a VFD output checker, and not a substitute for a full three-phase analyzer such as the three-phase power analyzers on this site when you need voltage, current, or harmonic data.
How inductive clamps read rotation without touching copper
The Vanlison is built around two high-permeability alloy clamps. The listing calls them ultra-sensitive magnetic alloy sensors and states they are designed for weak-field detection. In use you clamp each probe around one insulated conductor of a three-phase circuit. The clamp does not make electrical contact with the copper. It senses the changing magnetic field that surrounds any conductor carrying alternating current.
Phase rotation is not measured from a single wire. The instrument compares the signal it picks up from one phase against the signal from another and derives the order in which the phases peak. That order is what the LED display reports: green R for clockwise rotation, red L for counterclockwise. The listing states the voltage window is AC 70V to 600V, so below 70V the field may be too weak for the clamps to resolve a reliable sequence.
The same sensing principle supports open-phase identification. If one conductor is dead, the clamp around it sees no alternating field while the other two do. The listing says darkened LEDs immediately identify open-phase lines. That is a field-presence check, not a voltage measurement. The instrument tells you a phase is missing; it does not tell you the voltage present on the others.
Because the clamps work on the field around an insulated cable, you do not strip wires or open the circuit to take a reading. That is the safety argument in the listing, and it is a real one for energized systems. It also means the reading depends on the clamp being fully closed around the right conductor and parallel to the drive shaft for motor rotation checks, as the listing instructs.
The LED codes, and what they leave out
The display is a set of LEDs, not a numeric screen. The listing describes A/B/C phase status plus R/L rotation direction. Green R means clockwise rotation; red L means counterclockwise. A darkened LED on a phase indicates an open line. That is the full extent of the published display behaviour.
What the listing does not publish is a numeric phase angle, a voltage reading, a current reading, or a frequency readout. If your work needs the actual phase-to-phase voltage or the current on each leg, this instrument will not give it. That is not a fault in the design; it is a different class of tool. A phase sequence tester that shows only order is the right comparison point, not a full analyzer.
The listing also states that VFD motors are excluded. The phrase used is no frequency converter compatibility. That matters because the output of a variable frequency drive is not a clean three-phase sine wave. The clamp sensors are tuned to resolve the field from a conventional supply. On a drive output the field is pulsed and the frequency varies, and the listing does not claim the instrument will report a valid sequence there. Treat the VFD exclusion as absolute unless the manufacturer publishes otherwise.
Auto power-off is listed as a battery-saving feature. The listing says batteries and case and manual are included, but it does not state the battery type or the number of cells. If you need to know what to stock for field work, that detail is not in the published bullets.
What the 70V to 600V window means in practice
The published operating range is AC 70V to 600V. That covers common industrial three-phase supplies, including 400V and 480V systems. The lower bound of 70V is the figure that decides whether the tool suits a given job. On control circuits, low-voltage lighting, or the secondary of a small transformer below 70V, the listing gives no assurance that the clamps will pick up a field strong enough to resolve rotation.
The upper bound of 600V is a working limit stated by the manufacturer. It is not a safety category rating. The listing does not publish a CAT rating, an IP rating, a pollution degree, or a transient withstand figure. Those are the numbers an electrician normally checks before working on distribution equipment. Their absence is a real gap in the published data, and it should shape how you use the instrument: as a diagnostic aid on circuits you have already confirmed are within the stated voltage window, not as a primary safety device.
Also missing from the listing is any statement of measurement accuracy for the rotation indication. There is no plus or minus figure for phase order, and no minimum current threshold for the clamps. The listing claims faster signal pickup versus standard testers and reliable readings on low-current circuits, but it does not quantify either claim. Treat those as marketing statements rather than specifications.
For readers comparing this with contact-style rotation testers, the phase rotation meters guide sets out where non-contact sensing helps and where direct contact is still required.
Motor rotation checks: the alignment rule nobody reads
The listing gives one procedural instruction for motor rotation: align the clamps parallel to the drive shaft. That is not a casual note. The clamp senses the field around the conductor, and its orientation relative to the field determines how much signal it picks up. On a motor lead, the field geometry depends on how the cable runs relative to the shaft. Clamping at an angle can give a weak or ambiguous pickup.
The practical routine is to identify the three motor leads, clamp each in turn with the clamp face parallel to the shaft, and read the sequence from the LEDs. The listing states this works for single-phase and three-phase motor direction testing without physical contact. For single-phase motors the rotation check is a different question, and the listing does not explain how the instrument resolves direction on a single-phase winding. That detail is not published.
The VFD exclusion applies most sharply here. Modern motor control centres often feed motors through drives. If the motor is on a drive output, the listing says the instrument is not compatible. You would need to check rotation by another method, or isolate and test on a direct supply if that is safe and permitted on your site.
For a wider view of instruments built for this task, the motor rotation testers for industrial work page covers the alternatives, including contact types.
Where the Vanlison stops being the right instrument
Three jobs fall outside this tool. The first is power quality. The Vanlison reports phase order and open phases; it does not record voltage, current, power factor, harmonics, or events over time. If a motor is tripping and you need to know why, a recorder such as the ETCR unit covered in the three-phase power analyzer category is the correct class of instrument. The Vanlison will tell you the phases are in order; it will not tell you the supply is clean.
The second is any circuit outside the 70V to 600V AC window, and any motor fed from a variable frequency drive. The listing is explicit on VFD exclusion and silent on DC and on low-voltage AC below 70V. Do not assume the clamps will work there.
The third is safety verification. This is a diagnostic tool, not a proving unit and not a voltage detector in the sense of a non-contact voltage tester used to confirm a circuit is dead. The listing includes live wire verification as a function, but it publishes no CAT rating and no accuracy figure for that function. For proving dead, use a dedicated voltage tester with a published safety rating, as discussed in the non-contact voltage testers guide. The Vanlison is for confirming rotation on equipment you already know is energized and within its stated window.
Maintenance is simple in principle: keep the clamp faces clean and fully closing, and replace batteries when the auto power-off behaviour suggests they are low. The listing does not publish a calibration interval or a field-check procedure, so those details are not available from the manufacturer data supplied here.
The verdict on the Vanlison 70V-600V
The Vanlison is a focused diagnostic tool: it answers one question, which order are the phases, and answers it without opening the circuit. For maintenance electricians checking motor direction on conventional three-phase supplies within 70V to 600V AC, that is a useful and safe capability. It is not a power quality analyzer, it is not rated for VFD outputs, and the listing publishes no CAT rating, no accuracy figure, and no battery type. Buy it for the rotation check, and keep a proper analyzer and a rated voltage tester for the jobs it does not cover.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the Vanlison work on variable frequency drive outputs?
No. The listing states no frequency converter compatibility and excludes VFD motors. The clamp sensors are designed for conventional three-phase supplies, and the manufacturer does not claim a valid rotation reading on drive output.
What voltage range does it cover?
The published range is AC 70V to 600V. Below 70V the listing gives no assurance of reliable pickup, and the instrument is not intended for DC circuits.
Is it a power quality analyzer?
No. It reports phase sequence, open phases, live wire presence, and circuit break location through LEDs. It does not record voltage, current, harmonics, or power factor. For those measurements you need a three-phase power analyzer.
What safety rating does it have?
Not stated in the listing bullets. The listing gives a working voltage limit of 600V but does not publish a CAT rating, IP rating, or transient withstand figure. Treat it as a diagnostic aid, not a primary safety device.
How accurate is the phase rotation indication?
The listing does not publish an accuracy figure for rotation or for the live wire function. The LED display gives order and open-phase status, but no quantified tolerance is stated.
What batteries does it use, and are they included?
The listing states batteries, case, and manual are included, but it does not state the battery type or number of cells. That detail is not published in the supplied bullets.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





