As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.
The only listing here that describes true onboard logging is P1, the Fluke 289. Its TrendCapture function records a measurement session inside the meter and lets you zoom into the resulting trend on the instrument itself, up to fourteen times, which is the feature you want when you cannot leave a laptop or phone connected to the circuit while you are away. P3 is the practical alternative if you prefer the record to live on a phone or tablet: the listing states that measurements are displayed on your device, graphed automatically and exportable to Excel or TXT. P5 is a different kind of logging entirely. The word in its title refers to the calibration certificate that accompanies the meter, not to any recording function. If your reason for searching is that you need a meter that remembers what the voltage did overnight, P5 is not that meter, and P2 is not either. P2 and P4 appear here because they are commonly surfaced by the same search terms, and the honest answer is that neither listing describes a logging function at all.
Three different things are called data logging on this page
The word appears in three listings and means something different in each. Getting this straight before you compare anything else will save you from buying the wrong instrument.
- Onboard session logging. The meter stores a series of readings over time and can display the resulting trend on its own screen. P1 is the only listing here that describes this. The listing states that TrendCapture graphically displays a logged data session, and that you can zoom on the trend up to fourteen times to analyse it.
- Remote or app logging. The meter sends readings to a phone or tablet, where the app graphs them and can export them. P3 describes this: measurements are displayed on your phone or tablet, a trend chart is drawn automatically, and the data can be shared out in Excel or TXT format.
- Calibration documentation. A certificate with measurement data proving the instrument met specification on the day it was calibrated. P5 is this. It is valuable, and it is not recording.
P2 and P4 describe neither onboard logging nor app logging in their listings. They are included because a search for logging multimeters will surface them, and because the cheapest way to waste money on this category is to buy a rugged meter assuming that ruggedness implies recording.
What the listings state, side by side
Every cell below comes from the listing text supplied. Where a listing does not publish a figure, the cell says so rather than guessing.
| Feature | P1 Fluke 289 | P3 BTMETER 570T-APP | P5 Fluke 117CAL | P2 Fluke 87V MAX | P4 EX655 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Logging method | Onboard TrendCapture session, zoom to 14x | Phone or tablet app, auto trend chart, Excel and TXT export | Calibration certificate with data, not measurement recording | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| True RMS | Stated in the product title | Not stated in the listing bullets | Stated in the product title | Stated in the listing | Stated in the listing |
| Safety category | Not stated in the listing bullets | CAT IV 600 V, CAT III 1000 V, IEC 61010-1, Class 2 double insulation | Not stated in the listing bullets | CAT III 1000 V, CAT IV 600 V | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Current measurement | Not stated in the listing bullets | AC and DC clamp, 400 A and 1000 A ranges, 100 mA and 1 A resolution | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets | 600 A AC and DC clamp |
| Voltage measurement | Not stated in the listing bullets | AC and DC to 1000 V | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets | 750 VAC |
| Temperature | Not stated in the listing bullets | Thermocouple probe included, minus 4 to 1832 F | Not stated in the listing bullets | Built-in thermometer stated | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Environmental protection | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets | IP67 waterproof and dustproof, 4 m drop proven, withstands drops up to 13 ft | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Battery life | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets | Up to 800 hours stated | Not stated in the listing bullets |
| Frequency range | Not stated in the listing bullets | To 9.999 MHz | Not stated in the listing bullets | Not stated in the listing bullets | 10 Hz to 1 MHz, manual ranging |
Two things stand out. First, P1’s listing is almost entirely about measurement quality and logging behaviour and says very little about the physical envelope, so you cannot judge its ruggedness from the bullets. Second, P3’s listing is unusually complete on ranges and safety rating for its class, but does not state true RMS in the bullets even though the product name includes TRMS.
Why the recording method changes the job you can do
Intermittent faults are the reason most people start looking for a logging meter. A compressor that trips once a week, a circuit that sags when a particular machine starts, a supply that drifts overnight: none of these can be caught by watching a display for five minutes.
Onboard logging and app logging solve that problem in different ways, and the difference matters in the field. An onboard logger like P1 keeps the record with the instrument. You leave the meter connected, walk away, and read the trend on the meter’s own screen when you return. There is no phone to keep charged, no wireless link to drop, and no question about whether the app was still running. The listing states that TrendCapture shows the logged session graphically and that you can zoom in up to fourteen times, which is the mechanism that lets you find a brief event inside a long record.
App logging like P3’s puts the record on a device you already carry. The listing states that measurements are displayed on your phone or tablet, that a trend chart is drawn automatically, and that the data can be shared out in Excel or TXT. That export path is the real advantage: a CSV of a week of current readings is far easier to hand to a client or drop into a report than a photograph of a screen. The trade is dependency. If the phone sleeps, if the app is closed, if the wireless link is interrupted, the record has a gap, and the listing does not describe any onboard storage that would cover it.
One more distinction worth holding onto: a clamp meter like P3 measures current without breaking the circuit, which is what makes it useful for logging a running load for hours. A conventional multimeter like P1 requires you to interrupt the circuit to insert it in series for current, which is often impractical for a long recording. If your logging job is current, the clamp form factor is doing as much work as the logging feature.
The meters, and what each one actually records
Fluke 289 True-RMS Stand Alone Logging Multimeter
Records a session inside the instrument and graphs it on screen, so the trend exists without a phone, tablet or laptop attached to the circuit.
BTMETER 570T-APP Clamp Multimeter
A clamp meter with app-based logging: readings appear on your phone or tablet, are graphed automatically, and can be exported to Excel or TXT.
Fluke 117CAL with NIST-Traceable Calibration Certificate
The logging in the title is calibration data, not measurement recording. Included here so the distinction is visible rather than assumed.
The safety rating is not a logging feature, and it still matters more
Logging tempts you to leave a meter connected and walk away. That is exactly when you stop being able to react to what the meter is telling you, so the instrument’s own protection becomes the thing standing between you and the circuit.
P3 states CAT IV 600 V and CAT III 1000 V, with IEC 61010-1, Class 2 double insulation. P2 states CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V. These are the two listings here that publish a category rating at all. P1, P5 and P4 do not state one in their bullets. That does not mean they lack protection; it means the listing does not publish it, and you should not assume a figure either way. Fluke’s professional meters are generally rated for this work, but the rule on this page is that a number appears only if the listing states it.
Category ratings describe the transient energy a meter can survive at a given point in an installation. CAT IV covers the origin of the supply, where a fault can deliver a very large impulse; CAT III covers distribution and fixed equipment downstream. The voltage number beside the category is the working voltage, not the transient withstand. A meter marked CAT III 1000 V is telling you it is designed for the transients found at that point in the system at that working voltage. If you are logging at a panel or on a service entrance, that rating is the specification you should check first, ahead of anything about graphs.
P3’s listing also carries a practical warning that is worth repeating because it causes more bad current readings than any other mistake: the clamp must go around one conductor only. Clamp both the hot and the neutral and the magnetic fields cancel, and the meter reads zero. The listing states this explicitly. A zero reading on a clamp meter is more often a clamping error than a dead circuit.
Where a logging multimeter stops being the right instrument
A meter that records is still a meter. It does not alarm, it does not page you, and it does not protect the circuit. If the job requires someone to be told the moment a threshold is crossed, you need a monitoring device with an alarm output, not a multimeter with a memory.
Three situations where this category is the wrong purchase:
- Long-term power quality. A logging multimeter samples a single measurement at intervals. It does not capture harmonics, transients or waveform distortion in the way a power quality analyser does. If you are chasing a drive-related problem, the filters on P1 matter more than its logging: the listing states a selectable AC smoothing filter for noisy or rapidly changing signals, and a low pass filter for accurate voltage and frequency measurement on adjustable speed drives. Those are the features that make a reading trustworthy on a VFD, and no amount of logging compensates for a reading that was never accurate.
- Certified records. If the record has to stand up to an audit or a client’s quality system, the instrument’s own calibration status matters as much as the data. P5’s listing is built around exactly that: a NIST-traceable calibration certificate with data, supplied with the meter, so it is ready to use on day one and meets most quality system standards. That is a documentation purchase as much as a measurement one.
- Ghost voltage and absence-of-power checks. P1’s listing states a LoZ voltage function for eliminating ghost voltages when testing for absence or presence of live power. Ghost voltage is a capacitively coupled reading on a disconnected conductor that a high-impedance meter will happily display. A low-impedance function loads the circuit and makes the phantom reading collapse. If your work involves proving a circuit dead, that function is more important than any logging feature. Our comparison of low impedance multimeters covers that mechanism in detail.
Choosing between the three, and what the other two are doing here
If the record needs to be taken without a phone in the loop, P1 is the only listing that offers it. The trade is that its listing is silent on most physical and range specifications, so you are choosing it for the logging behaviour and the measurement filters, and you will need the manufacturer’s other documentation for everything else.
If the job is current, and you want the data on a device you already carry, P3 is the practical pick. It is a clamp meter first, which makes long current recordings possible without breaking the circuit, and the listing states that the app graphs and exports the data. It also publishes its safety category, which the other logging-capable listing does not. The gap is true RMS: the product name says TRMS but the listing bullets do not state it, so treat that as unconfirmed from the listing alone.
P5 is here as a boundary marker. Its title contains the word data, and that word refers to the calibration certificate, not to measurement logging. If you need a calibrated meter for quality-system work, it is a sensible purchase; if you need a meter that records overnight, it is not the one.
P2 and P4 are surfaced by the same searches and neither listing describes a logging function. P2 is a rugged, IP67-rated meter with a stated battery life of up to 800 hours and a built-in thermometer, and if your priority is surviving a drop onto concrete rather than recording a trend, that is a legitimate choice. P4’s listing is thin: frequency range, manual ranging, true RMS and data hold are stated, and nothing about logging. If you want a broader view of the category without the logging constraint, our general multimeter comparison and the industrial maintenance selection cover meters chosen on other grounds.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the Fluke 117CAL actually log measurements?
No. The word data in its title refers to the NIST-traceable calibration certificate with data that ships with the unit. The listing states that the meter is calibrated before shipment and that the certificate provides assurance the instrument meets manufacturer's specifications. There is no described function for recording a series of readings over time. If you need a recording meter, this is not it.
Can the BTMETER 570T-APP log without a phone connected?
The listing does not describe any onboard storage. It states that measurements are displayed on your phone or tablet, that a trend chart is drawn automatically, and that data can be shared out in Excel or TXT format. Everything described happens on the connected device. If the connection drops, the listing gives no indication that the meter continues recording on its own.
What does TrendCapture actually do on the Fluke 289?
The listing states that it graphically displays a logged data session so you can quickly determine whether anomalies may have occurred, and that you can zoom on the trend up to fourteen times to view and analyse the data. In practice that means the meter stores the session and you read the shape of it on the meter's own display, rather than exporting it to a computer.
Is a clamp meter or a handheld multimeter better for logging current?
A clamp meter, generally, because it measures current without breaking the circuit. To log current with a conventional multimeter you must insert it in series, which means interrupting the conductor and often means the circuit cannot run normally during the recording. P3 is a clamp meter; P1 is a conventional meter. The listing for P3 also warns that you must clamp one conductor only, since clamping both hot and neutral causes the fields to cancel and the reading to fall to zero.
Why do so many of the specification cells say Not stated?
Because the listings do not publish those figures. P1's bullets describe logging behaviour, filters and a LoZ function, but state no voltage range, no current range, no safety category and no battery life. P5's bullets describe the calibration certificate, the display and the form factor, and state no measurement ranges at all. Rather than fill those gaps with numbers from elsewhere, this page reports the listing as it is. Check the manufacturer's full datasheet for anything the listing omits.
Do I need a logging multimeter for intermittent fault finding?
It helps, but only if the fault is electrical and within the meter's measurement capability. An intermittent fault that trips a breaker once a week is a good candidate: leave the meter recording and read the trend afterwards. A fault that involves harmonics, transients or waveform distortion is not, because a logging multimeter samples a single value at intervals and does not capture the waveform. For that class of problem you need a power quality instrument, not a multimeter with memory.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





