As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

KPS · KPS DMM4500PV True RMS Solar Multimeter, 2000V DC, Bluetooth
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
The KPS DMM4500PV is worth considering if you work on high-voltage photovoltaic arrays where the open-circuit voltage of a string can exceed the 1000V DC ceiling of a standard multimeter. The listing states a DC range to 2000V and an AC range to 1500V, True RMS measurement, Bluetooth logging through the KPS Link app, and CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V safety ratings. It is a general-purpose electrical multimeter with solar-oriented range and features, not a dedicated PV analyser: the listing does not publish irradiance, I-V curve, insulation resistance or earth continuity functions. If your work is confined to 12V, 24V or 48V battery systems, a cheaper CAT III meter will do the same job, and the extra voltage range buys you nothing.
The 2000V DC range is the specification that decides the job
Most handheld multimeters stop at 1000V DC. That ceiling is fine for a single panel and for many residential strings, but it is not fine for everything. A photovoltaic string is a series circuit: the open-circuit voltage is the sum of the panel voltages, and it rises as the modules get colder. On a large commercial or utility array, a string can sit above 1000V DC on a cold morning even when the nominal system voltage is lower. A meter rated to 1000V DC is then outside its stated range, and the reading is no longer something you should trust or rely on for safety.
The KPS DMM4500PV listing states DC voltage measurement to 2000V and AC voltage to 1500V. That is the one figure that separates it from an ordinary electrician’s meter. If every circuit you touch stays comfortably below 1000V DC, the 2000V range is headroom you are paying for and will never use. If you commission or maintain arrays where string open-circuit voltage can approach or pass 1000V, the range is the reason to shortlist this instrument at all.
The listing does not publish a DC accuracy figure, a resolution figure, or a maximum voltage-to-earth specification beyond the CAT ratings. Those are the numbers a commissioning engineer would want before relying on the meter for acceptance records, and they are not stated in the listing bullets. Ask the manufacturer for the full datasheet before you use it for anything contractual.
True RMS, LoZ and HFR: what the measurement modes actually do
True RMS means the meter calculates the heating-equivalent value of a waveform rather than assuming it is a pure sine wave. On a solar site the AC side is usually a grid-tied inverter output, which can be distorted by non-linear loads. A averaging meter can read low on such waveforms; a True RMS meter is the correct choice when the shape is not clean. The listing states True RMS and lists resistance, capacitance, frequency, temperature, continuity and diode functions alongside it. For a solar multimeter, capacitance matters because it lets you check the DC-link capacitors in an inverter without a second instrument, and temperature matters because module temperature affects the voltage you are trying to interpret.
Low Impedance (LoZ) mode places a load across the test points. It is used to bleed off ghost voltages, the capacitively coupled voltages that appear on disconnected conductors and make a dead circuit look live. On a solar array, LoZ is useful when you need to confirm a string is genuinely isolated rather than floating at an induced potential. High Frequency Rejection (HFR) is a filtering mode intended to steady the reading when high-frequency noise, typically from an inverter or a variable-speed drive, is present on the circuit. The listing states both features but does not publish the input impedance in LoZ mode or the rejection characteristics of HFR, so treat the descriptions as feature names rather than measured performance.
Non-contact voltage detection is also listed. It is a proximity indicator for finding live conductors, not a measurement, and it should never be used as the sole proof that a circuit is dead. The listing does not state the detection threshold or the distance at which it responds.
Bluetooth logging and the KPS Link app: useful, but check the details
The listing states that the meter connects wirelessly to the KPS Link app for real-time monitoring, measurement storage and simplified reporting. For field work this is the feature that separates a long commissioning day from a short one: you can leave the meter connected to a string and watch the voltage stabilise, or log a temperature-compensated reading while you are at the other end of the array. Stored readings can be turned into a report rather than copied by hand into a notebook.
The listing does not publish the Bluetooth version, the wireless range, the number of stored readings, the app’s platform support, or whether logging continues when the phone is out of range. Those are the details that decide whether the feature is genuinely useful on a large site or only at arm’s length. Before buying for the logging, confirm the app is available on your phone platform and that the meter buffers readings on board. If the app only displays live values, the Bluetooth is a convenience, not a data logger. For work where logging is the main requirement, a dedicated Bluetooth temperature data logger may suit better, because it is built around unattended recording.
CAT IV 600V and CAT III 1000V: what the safety rating covers
The listing states CAT IV 600V and CAT III 1000V. The CAT number describes where in the installation the meter is rated to be used, and the voltage is the maximum working voltage for that location. CAT III covers distribution-level circuits, including the DC side of a PV installation and the wiring inside a building. CAT IV covers the origin of the installation, the service entrance and the point where the supply meets the property. A meter with both ratings is rated for measurement closer to the supply than a CAT III-only meter, which is why the dual rating appears on professional instruments.
The rating is a safety envelope, not a measurement range. The 2000V DC range and the CAT III 1000V rating are different numbers answering different questions: the range says what the meter can display, the CAT rating says what transient environment it is designed to survive. The listing does not publish the transient test voltage behind the CAT ratings, so the ratings should be read as stated categories rather than as a measured surge performance.
The listing also does not state the meter’s IP rating, its drop rating, or its warranty. Those are the durability figures a site electrician would normally check, and they are absent from the bullets. The listing describes a rugged ergonomic design but publishes no test standard behind that description.
Where this meter stops: the PV tests it does not perform
The DMM4500PV is a multimeter. It measures voltage, current, resistance, capacitance, frequency, continuity, diode and temperature, and the listing states a current range to 10A AC/DC. It does not, according to the listing, measure insulation resistance, earth continuity at the currents used for PV array testing, irradiance, or I-V curves. Those are the tests that decide whether an array is performing to its expected yield, and they need separate instruments. A 10A current range is also far below string current on a large array; for current work, a clamp meter is the correct tool, and a guide to clamp meters for DC current checks explains why.
This matters because a buyer can easily assume a meter marketed for solar covers solar testing. It covers the voltage and continuity side well, and the 2000V range is genuinely useful. It does not replace a dedicated PV commissioning tester, which is built around the insulation and continuity tests that commissioning requires. If your work is fault-finding and voltage verification, the DMM4500PV is a sensible choice. If your work is acceptance testing and performance verification, it is one instrument in a kit, not the kit.
For readers comparing the wider field, the site’s guide to solar multimeters sets out the range and safety questions across the category, and the 2000V question is the first one to answer before anything else.
Who the KPS DMM4500PV is for
The KPS DMM4500PV earns its place on one specification: a stated 2000V DC range combined with CAT IV 600V and CAT III 1000V ratings. If you work on arrays where string open-circuit voltage can exceed the 1000V DC ceiling of an ordinary multimeter, that combination is the reason to choose it, and the True RMS measurement, LoZ, HFR and Bluetooth logging are useful additions for fault-finding and recording. If your work stays below 1000V DC, or if you need insulation resistance, irradiance or I-V curve testing, this is not the instrument that answers your question, and a cheaper meter plus a dedicated PV tester is the better split. The listing does not publish accuracy figures, IP rating, logging capacity or app platform support; confirm those with the manufacturer before relying on the meter for records or for site durability.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the 2000V DC range mean I can safely measure a 2000V array?
The listing states a DC voltage measurement range to 2000V, but the safety ratings are CAT IV 600V and CAT III 1000V. The range tells you what the meter can display; the CAT rating tells you the transient environment it is rated for. Read the two together and do not treat the range as a safety limit. The listing does not publish the transient test voltage behind the CAT ratings.
Is this meter suitable for commissioning a utility-scale PV array?
It covers voltage, continuity, capacitance, frequency, temperature and diode testing to the stated ranges, which is useful for fault-finding and verification. The listing does not state insulation resistance, earth continuity at PV test currents, irradiance or I-V curve functions, so it cannot perform the full commissioning test set on its own. It is one instrument in a commissioning kit, not a replacement for a dedicated PV tester.
What does the Bluetooth logging actually record?
The listing states real-time monitoring, measurement storage and simplified reporting through the KPS Link app. It does not publish the Bluetooth version, the wireless range, the number of stored readings, or whether the meter buffers readings when the phone is out of range. Confirm those details with the manufacturer before buying for logging.
Is the 10A current range enough for solar string testing?
The listing states AC/DC current to 10A. That is a multimeter current range, and string currents on larger arrays can exceed it. For current measurement on PV strings, a clamp meter is the appropriate instrument because it measures without breaking the circuit and without a low current ceiling. The listing does not state a higher current range.
What accuracy does the meter publish?
The listing does not publish accuracy figures for any function. It states ranges and functions but not tolerances. If you need the meter for acceptance records or contractual measurements, request the full datasheet from the manufacturer before relying on it.
Do I need this if I only work on 12V and 48V battery systems?
No. The 2000V DC range is the main reason to choose this meter, and on 12V or 48V systems it is headroom you will never use. A standard CAT III multimeter with a 1000V DC range covers that work. The Bluetooth logging may still be useful, but it does not justify the high-voltage specification on its own.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.


