As an Amazon Associate, Akermin earns from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links.

Hioki · Hioki PD3129 Phase and Rotation Meter
View on AmazonPrice and availability are shown on Amazon and can change at any time.
The Hioki PD3129 is a non-contact phase rotation meter. The listing states that it detects phase sequence without direct metallic contact with conductors, uses non-metallic contact points, carries a CAT III 600V rating with a CE Mark, and confirms detection with both illuminated arrow indicators and an audible beep. For a technician who works on live three-phase distribution boards, that combination is the reason to choose it over a contact-type tester. The catch is that the listing publishes no information on battery type, battery life, or replacement parts, so the ownership cost beyond the purchase is not stated. Buy it for the non-contact method and the published safety class; do not buy it expecting the listing to tell you what it costs to keep running.
What the non-contact method changes about the job
Phase rotation matters when the order of phases determines whether a motor turns the way the machine was built to turn. A contact-type rotation meter asks you to clip or probe three live conductors in sequence. The PD3129 asks you to bring its non-metallic contact points near the conductors instead. The listing calls this “non contact phase rotation” and separately states “non-metallic contact points”, which is the detail that matters: the parts you hold against the insulation are not metal, so there is no conductive path from the conductor to your hand through the tool.
That does not make the meter a substitute for isolating the board. It means the act of taking the reading does not require you to open a metallic path to a live terminal. The listing states a CAT III 600V rating and a CE Mark, and describes this as the highest primary supply level safety class rating specifically for phase detectors. Read the explanation of CAT ratings before you assume CAT III 600V covers every board you own; the category and voltage describe the circuit environment the meter is rated for, not a guarantee against every fault.
The dual detection system is the other half of the method. The listing states illuminated arrow indicators and an audible beep. Arrows tell you the sequence; the beep confirms detection when the arrows are hard to see, which happens in a dark ceiling void or at an angle. Neither is a measurement of voltage or current. The meter tells you order, not magnitude.
The CAT III 600V claim and what it does not cover
The listing is specific: CAT III 600V, CE Mark, and a top safety class rating for phase detectors. CAT III describes distribution-level circuits, including three-phase distribution boards and fixed wiring. 600V is the working voltage ceiling the rating covers. If your work is on the supply side of a large installation, or on a circuit whose transient environment is CAT IV, this rating is not the one you need. The listing does not claim CAT IV, so do not read CAT IV into it.
What the rating does not tell you is the condition of the meter after it has been dropped, stored in a hot van, or left with a low battery. The listing publishes no drop rating, no ingress protection rating, and no operating temperature range. Those are the figures a buyer would normally use to judge how the tool survives site life, and the listing does not publish them. Treat the CAT III 600V rating as the safety claim it is, not as a durability claim it is not.
The meter is also not an alarm and not a lockout device. It confirms rotation when you use it. It does not warn you that a board is live before you approach, and it does not replace proving dead before work. The wider comparison of phase rotation meters is the place to check how contact and non-contact designs differ on that point.
Ownership cost: the part the listing mentions only in passing
Non-contact phase detectors are not consumable-free. The sensing elements sit at the contact points and are the parts most exposed to knocks, dirt, and the abrasion of being pushed against insulation all day. The listing does not publish a replacement interval, a part number for the sensing tips, or a statement that they are field-replaceable. That is the first ownership question the listing leaves open.
The second is power. The listing does not state the battery type, the number of cells, the battery life, or whether the meter is rechargeable. For a tool that lives in a bag and is used in short bursts, battery type is a real cost line: a meter that takes a common cell is easier to keep running than one that takes a proprietary pack. The listing is silent, so a buyer cannot compare running cost from the page alone.
The third is calibration. The listing publishes no calibration interval and no statement about whether the meter can be adjusted or only replaced if it drifts. Phase rotation is a go or no-go check rather than a precision measurement, so many owners never calibrate one. But if your quality system requires traceable instruments, the absence of a published calibration path is a gap you need to resolve before purchase, not after.
- Published: CAT III 600V, CE Mark, non-metallic contact points, visual arrows, audible beep.
- Not stated in the listing bullets: battery type, battery life, replacement sensing parts, calibration interval, operating temperature, ingress rating.
None of these gaps is unusual for a phase detector listing. They are still gaps, and the honest position is that the listing does not publish them.
Where the PD3129 stops being the right instrument
A phase rotation meter answers one question: what order are the phases in. It does not record power quality, it does not log, and it does not measure current. If you need a record of what the supply was doing over time, a three-phase power recorder such as the ETCR 3-Phase is the instrument for that job, and the three-phase power analyzer comparison sets out the class. If you need to know the current on each phase, a clamp meter is the tool, and the three-phase clamp meter guide covers that. The PD3129 is not a substitute for either.
It is also not a multimeter and not a fault finder. It will not tell you whether a circuit is dead, whether a breaker is faulty, or whether a motor is drawing more than its nameplate. Buying it as a general electrical tester leads to disappointment, because it does one job and the listing only claims that one job.
The case for the PD3129 is narrow and clear: you check phase sequence regularly, you want to do it without metallic contact, and the published CAT III 600V rating matches your boards. Outside that case, the honest answer is that you need a different instrument, not a more expensive version of this one.
The verdict on the Hioki PD3129
The PD3129 is a focused tool with a clear published safety case. The listing states non-contact phase rotation, non-metallic contact points, CAT III 600V with a CE Mark, and dual visual and audible detection. Those are the facts a buyer can rely on. What the listing does not publish is the ownership detail: battery type, battery life, replacement sensing parts, calibration interval, and environmental ratings. If you need a non-contact rotation check on CAT III 600V distribution circuits, the published specification supports the purchase. If you need a recorder, a clamp meter, or a general tester, this is the wrong instrument and no amount of reading the listing will change that.
Recommended Tools
Products shown because their documented specifications fit this guide. Price and availability are on Amazon and can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the PD3129 measure voltage or current?
No. The listing describes a phase rotation meter with visual arrow indicators and an audible beep. It confirms phase sequence. It does not publish any voltage or current measurement function, so do not use it as a multimeter or clamp meter.
What does CAT III 600V actually mean on this meter?
The listing states the meter is CAT III 600V rated with a CE Mark. CAT III describes distribution-level circuits and 600V is the working voltage ceiling the rating covers. The listing does not claim CAT IV, so do not use it on circuits that require that category.
What kind of battery does it take, and how long does it last?
The listing does not publish the battery type, the number of cells, or the battery life. That information is not stated in the listing bullets. If battery running cost matters to you, ask the supplier before purchase.
Can the sensing points be replaced if they wear out?
The listing does not state whether the non-metallic contact points are field-replaceable, and it publishes no replacement part number or interval. That is a genuine gap in the published information, not something to assume either way.
Is it suitable for proving a circuit dead before work?
No. The listing describes a phase rotation meter that indicates sequence with arrows and a beep. It is not described as a voltage detector or a proving unit. Proving dead is a separate procedure with a separate instrument.
Does the listing give a calibration interval?
It does not. The listing publishes no calibration interval, no adjustment procedure, and no statement about traceability. If your quality system requires a calibration path, confirm it with the supplier before you buy.
Affiliate disclosure: Akermin earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through links on this page. Our editorial picks are based on documented specifications and owner feedback, not commissions.





